Remove resonator

Discoburg

I am driving a Hyundai Accent and i wish to remove the resonator and drive around qithout it.

Will it do any harm to my car besides just sucking in hot air but the ait intake should be greater then before with resonator.

Edited by Discoburg

You only remove the resonator when you have CAI installed. No point removing it when you have the stock setup.

GOT POINT!!! sound damned shiok!! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

If you do w/o resonator plus modified open pod cum CAI. Can be quite noisy unless you like the sound (which some actually do) or can cover it by playing your music real loud. During sudden throttling and release of throttle, it can also sound like a soft blow off valve's PSSSTTT.

You only remove the resonator when you have CAI installed. No point removing it when you have the stock setup.
I do not like the idea of CAI for the water sucking possiblity, i still like the idea of removing the resonator for the airbox to suck in more air.

With or without the resonator, the air going into the airbox is still hot anyway. With the resonator it seems like air have to go through a few channels.

Just my personal opinion thats all. I still drive around with the resonator though.

the possibility of sucking water very low lah...

no harm trying!! [thumbsup][thumbsup] sounds great too!!

generally there are 2, one big one just behind the wheel arch cover and a small one just before into air manifold... need to find something to plunge up the small one.. put K&N drop in filter to see max effect...

have fun! [thumbsup]

the possibility of sucking water very low lah...

no harm trying!! [thumbsup][thumbsup] sounds great too!!

generally there are 2, one big one just behind the wheel arch cover and a small one just before into air manifold... need to find something to plunge up the small one.. put K&N drop in filter to see max effect...

have fun! [thumbsup]

I don't understand what 2 are you talking about? [confused]

Me currently using the K&N drop in filter also. [thumbsup]

Maybe u can pay a visit to Auto Dynamac at 3019A Ubi to get a better picture of the whole idea of CAI that will not suck water from below. [nod]
Thanks for the addy [thumbsup]

Hey guys. I am still contemplating on removing my resonator. What cons are there for this action of mine? Need all your advice.

Thats the only cons??? Will it be considered sucking all the hot air in??? Will it increase FC of the car???

Original designed to suck air from the front, between the bonnet cover and the front grille. Obviously w/o it, it'll suck hot air arround the engine. Hot air means lesser oxygen so more FC I guess so....... [shakehead]

I am driving a Hyundai Accent and i wish to remove the resonator and drive around qithout it.

Will it do any harm to my car besides just sucking in hot air but the ait intake should be greater then before with resonator.

U may be interested in the following link. Technical stuff, I also don't really understand tongue.gif

http://www.mecc.unipd.it/~cos/DINAMOTO/ris...isuonatore.html

Original designed to suck air from the front, between the bonnet cover and the front grille. Obviously w/o it, it'll suck hot air arround the engine. Hot air means lesser oxygen so more FC I guess so....... [shakehead]
For the Hyundai cars the resonator is designed to suck in air from behind the left headlight.

Thats the only cons??? Will it be considered sucking all the hot air in??? Will it increase FC of the car???

You can safely remove your resonator....what it does is just to cut down the noise of the induction. Beside by the time the routed air does into the airfilter box, already become warm air liao.

There is two way of doing the CAI.

1) Maintain your orginial airbox. Remove the resonator will leave a hole at the bottom of the box. You can use a felxi pipe and channel cool air from the bumper. Dun need to be right at the front. You can cut a hole at the bottom of the bumper to channel the cool air into your airfilter box. With the orginal box in place, induction noise will be cut down. Not loud like the 2nd option. Problem is should your ride be lowered and you drive thru flood...chances of the bugger sucking up water is there....but then again....you should not be driving thru flood in the first place.

2) What Auto Dynamac does for most of the client....remove the resonator, box everything. In place uses a SRI (Short Ram Induction) that uses a open pod filter. He will build a heatshield around the filter to create a box like structure. The top is usually left open and when you close the bonnet...the bonnet will act as a cover. Cool air is channel from the bumper via a felxi hose. Good for a couple of horses as air volume is increase. Bad is that induction is quite loud...some like it while some hate it.