F1fan Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 Just had my 10000km wheel rotation and balancing. However, now at 100kmh - 120 kmh, my steering is vibrating. Should I get the shop to redo the normal off wheel balancing or go straight to ask them to do high speed balancing? Anyone here experience the same experience? I.e. after rotation, your balancing is off and you have to do a high speed instead? If like that very jialat, everytime do rotation, have to spend extra money . ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chippz Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 straight high speed balancing.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Author Share May 12, 2004 Why is it that off wheel balancing is not sufficient? Is it because it is less accuarate than high speed on wheel balancing? Or are some cars or setup more sensitive ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiatmobile 1st Gear May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 Yes, you should go back to the workshop to and ask them to do it again. Otherwise, they will charge you again for late report. Better be early then non. Good luck... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 Got the same problem as you. Changed my tyres and rims. The shop do off wheel balancing TWICE for me. Still vibrates at 100-110. Went to stamford to do another off-wheel balancing, same prob I give up liao. Just treat it as a speed limiter High-speed balancing can help meh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 off wheel balancing is never as accurate as peculiar unsprung weights like the nuts, brakes, calipers, etc are not factored in. therefore, on-wheel balancing is more of juz fine tuning. think of it as tailored pants vs one u buy off the rack. and another thing, those stick on weights are not as effective as those clip-on type at the edge of the rim. uglier but works better. oh, and the skill of the tyre guy helps too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 Go where do on-wheel balancing? Any recommendations? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 i've tried a few places incl ST without much success. finally got the problem solved at Khai Wah as they were also ROH's agent. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Author Share May 12, 2004 high speed balancing = on wheel balancing... its for the front only. Can do it at South East Tyre Kaki Bukit or certain Stamford Tyres. For high speed i recommend South East, pretty accurate. Once you do the high speed balacning, your steering wheel should not be vibrating anymore la, unless you have a defective rims. Happened to me once before, a set of poorly or unevenly machined Taiwan rims. Changed to another set of rims without any charge at Stamford Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 high speed balancing = on wheel balancing... its for the front only. Can do it at South East Tyre Kaki Bukit or certain Stamford Tyres. For high speed i recommend South East, pretty accurate. Once you do the high speed balacning, your steering wheel should not be vibrating anymore la, unless you have a defective rims. Happened to me once before, a set of poorly or unevenly machined Taiwan rims. Changed to another set of rims without any charge at Stamford Good rims are important to the car and also the tyres as well. Need not do on wheel balancing if you have these two good items. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 How much does it usually cost to do high speed balancing at South East and RiverView? Where's South East? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Author Share May 12, 2004 How much does it usually cost to do high speed balancing at South East and RiverView? Where's South East? South East Tyre if I am not wrong its 25 bucks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Author Share May 12, 2004 How much does it usually cost to do high speed balancing at South East and RiverView? Where's South East? Next time do one time off wheel can already la, no point wasting money. If cannot, then need to do on wheel liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 I do THREE times off wheel balancing still vibrates leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Levin Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Share May 12, 2004 maybe not becos of rim or wheeels ley? bro bearing, lower arm, drive shaft, uneven brake disc n pads oso can cause tis problems... cheers. mabbi u shld check them out too... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie May 12, 2004 Author Share May 12, 2004 I do THREE times off wheel balancing still vibrates leh Precisely, dont waste time with off wheel balancing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear May 13, 2004 Share May 13, 2004 Not all wheel balancers in the tyre shops are CALIBRATED. Not all off-the-car wheel balancers main spindle and cone adapators are balanced. Not all off-the-car wheel balancer can compute and balance the wheel down to the last 5gm - many just show "0" gm, in fact there is still few gem out of balance. Cars with machperson struts, balancing the wheels on off-car-balancer is more than sufficient. Cars with independent suspensions are more sensitive to minute inbalance and therefore the wheels need to be finish off with on-the-car balancer. If you still experience vibrations at high speed, the chance can be due to a) The wheel may have suffer internal ply separation b) The tyre is not seating properly on the rim. c) Presence of foreign material or liquid inside the tyre d) Loose ball joint or drive shaft e) Not properly pre-loaded or faulty front wheel bearing f) Wheel not properly torque into position g) Lug nut may be of different weight and design Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blaster Neutral Newbie May 16, 2004 Share May 16, 2004 Happened to me also.... since the vibration occurs at high speed....should do a high-speed balancing. Especailly so if u always travel on the FAST lane.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...