Dunlop LM702

Leonknapp

Hi Bros,

Tyre change coming up soon and thinking of a comfort based tyre with good grip. seems that the dunlop lm702 has good reviews and is even in a Level A tyre in the torque magzine. But can i have some real life experience on this set of tyres? Im running 205/50r16 so it rules out several other tyres. Any other recommendations?

Cheers!!

hi, sorry i do not have any "live" experience with lm702 but with lm701. it was not good [mad] in wet surface, always wheel spin lots of times on start-stop situation at traffic lights even it is in dry surface. [thumbsdown][thumbsdown][thumbsdown]. And end up with an accident cos my ex-march din stop in time on wet surface, "kiss" the backside of a six-wheeler lorry. The result was my march had converted to a "open-top" four-dr coupe, the car of course had to be scrap cos beyond reapir & I had a scar on the forehead like harry plotter [cool] ... [lipsrsealed] ... [sunny] ...

if you really want lm702

call kim hoe @ 67464445, look for ah seng, he can give you very good price for it.

since you are asking for recommendations, why dun you consider falken st115, kumho 712... but for the price paying for performance tires. I will recommend kumho 712 - value for $$$, please call yap bros @ 96622255 or 68412255.

edmund aka wham... to live another day.... [nod]

Im now using the Pilot Preceda and I dont think I will be satisfied with 712 or ST115. anyway really been monitering my driving habits and looks like I need a tyre with sufficient grip, low noise and long threadlife. Anyway reviews said that the 702 are a major improvement over the 701 so thats why need some verification.

cheers!

i am running 702s.....dry road grip i feel is quite good (drawing from personal experience only)....... if you ask me, it is more that good enuff for normal day-to day driving (even with a bit of gutso)....i believe none of us are silly enuff to try and test the law of physics on public roads......if you are, then you are an accident waiting to happen [smash]

in the wet, i understeered before.....and i wasnt going that fast.....maybe about 55....it was a right turn at a traffic light junction.....maybe it was the road markings that is very slippery when wet. [thumbsdown]

i also find it quite noisy.....i will surely change to a quieter tire next time.

i figured why pay more for something that i will only get to enjoy 2% of my driving time, i rather pay for something that will satisfy the 98% of my driving needs.

i know some of u will say that the 2% of the time could potentially be hazardous.....even if you have excellent tires, zooming around public roads is hazardous - like i said: accident waiting to happen .

think i am getting old [;)] .....so lor saw and responsible [angel]

Great review! but how noisy is it? any comparisons? Im looking for something with better grip than Aspec Db and so would likely be noiser.

Hi, Leonknapp, been running on LM 702s for 31k. tires are superb in the dry and wet but tends to aquaplane slightly above 100kmh. Initial noise levels are ok but they seem to be getting louder now that they are coming towards the limit of their service life (guess that's normal [:/] ).

Good grips on corners with little or no understeer (dry) but have not tried it in the wet...Have had Gr50s before and I dare say LM 702s are just that slightly better in the wet. Good tires for that kinda price. I paid $75 per piece for 195/55/r15s [:)]

is this the direzza? it's loud, i have them, i know!!

no its not the direzza, but i thought they were supposed to be quiet? what size tyres u using?

Hi, Leonknapp, been running on LM 702s for 31k. tires are superb in the dry and wet but tends to aquaplane slightly above 100kmh. Initial noise levels are ok but they seem to be getting louder now that they are coming towards the limit of their service life (guess that's normal unsure.gif ).

Good grips on corners with little or no understeer (dry) but have not tried it in the wet...Have had Gr50s before and I dare say LM 702s are just that slightly better in the wet. Good tires for that kinda price. I paid $75 per piece for 195/55/r15s smile.gif

I noticed in the Torque magazine review that they said that the LM702 was a major improvement over the LM701 in terms of wet grip. heck it was rated even better than the SP9000! dizzy.gif find it amazing that this comfort tyre is rated level A along with others such as the ES100 and St115 where as Ziex512 and Aspec Db is rated level B.

no its not the direzza, but i thought they were supposed to be quiet? what size tyres u using?

i'm using 17", so are all 17" tyres loud?

laugh.gif yes considering the wide contact area with the road and thinner sidewalls 17" tyres tend to be loud.

Great review! but how noisy is it? any comparisons? Im looking for something with better grip than Aspec Db and so would likely be noiser.

my only other experience is P6000.....much better dry grip and quieter.........but more expensive

Dunlop have a higher range which is direza...

LM702,sidewall soft,is a comfort tire.

might as well try GIII [:)]

Hi, Leonknapp, been running on LM 702s for 31k. tires are superb in the dry and wet but tends to aquaplane slightly above 100kmh. Initial noise levels are ok but they seem to be getting louder now that they are coming towards the limit of their service life (guess that's normal [:/] ).

Good grips on corners with little or no understeer (dry) but have not tried it in the wet...Have had Gr50s before and I dare say LM 702s are just that slightly better in the wet. Good tires for that kinda price. I paid $75 per piece for 195/55/r15s [:)]

that a good price [idea]

you buy from where?

i wan to ask about direza

Actually got it from Autosaver at Kaki Bukit...not too sure if they have direzas but you can try...there's a few other tire shops along that same stretch so I'm sure you can get competitive pricing. [:)]

Dunlop have a higher range which is direza...

LM702,sidewall soft,is a comfort tire.

might as well try GIII smile.gif

GIII noisy leh... somemore its a performance tyre, if i was keen in that type of tyre i would rather go for the BFgoodrich G Force sport. super cheap at $110 for 205/50r16

i also use just change the tire i think 5k. the noisy level is low compare to other... grip like the rest say 'understeer' but so far so good a bit better(maybeit is new). but i have a problem and some mech say that the tires is the cause of it.

well the problem is that is My car sway to the left hand side when i go straight. I realign the car and even change my tie rod which are found faulty

tink u mean rotation at 10k, not 100k. would've gone thru 3 sets of tyres by 100k liao.