Jiayong 3rd Gear May 2, 2004 Share May 2, 2004 hello guys. Researching on suspension and i just realised i know nothing about them. I have seen some figures like "8kg springs" and stuff like that. Can all the bros and sis help out in explaining all the A's, B's and C's of Springs Coils and suspensions? Thanks thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 2, 2004 Author Share May 2, 2004 Shocks http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...MEBWA%3AIT&rd=1 Springs http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eBayISAP...&category=33582 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2004 Share May 2, 2004 hey jiayong..backside itchy isit..haha actually if ur current springs and shocks is still ok no need change ma...summore urs already comes with the lowered look..already v.chio liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 2, 2004 Author Share May 2, 2004 not backside itchy lah. if it is good i will get first and keep. cos look at the price. so cheap. In Sg i got quoted $2k for a set of Tein Suspensions leh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ic3ncok3 Neutral Newbie May 2, 2004 Share May 2, 2004 full coilovers r a good choice.........tein is a good setup.........which ones r u looking at? type flex? i got quoted the same for it.........anyone out there with a better deal? if not den jus go for a good spring/shock combo..........koni yellows are good.....if u r into hardcore racing, koni reds then. springs u can go for eibach pro-kit or their sportline kit.........then there's also neuspeed springs OR a popular combo would be kgmm wif koni yellows...... my ride is a EK3 running on kgmms and koni yellows, total setup cost $1k. handling is sweet......body roll is very much lessened and car holds well at 180+ also...... hope this helps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie May 2, 2004 Share May 2, 2004 The price are rather cheap for the Koni Reds, preparing for the 22nd?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie May 2, 2004 Share May 2, 2004 haha ... tell you he's real hardcore... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 2, 2004 Author Share May 2, 2004 hi can tell me more? what difference are there between the koni yellows and the koni reds? by the colour...is it really by looking at the colour of the shock? so the link i posted is a koni red shock? how about the sprinngs i posted too? what specs to look out for when looking at a set of springs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear May 3, 2004 Share May 3, 2004 Jiayong, Looking at changing shock? yellow is adjustable hardness,red....no idea. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 3, 2004 Author Share May 3, 2004 so its as easy as just looking at the colour of the shock? adjustable hardness.... the description in the ad mentioned something about adjustable too. Not really looking at changing shock..but rather if the bid price dont go up...then it is rather cheap and parts for my car quite rare mah...so if can grab...grab first lorr....after all..if i want to sell..i also know alot of 86 drivers mah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2004 Share May 3, 2004 Koni Special (Red) is more of OEM replacement shocks and are non-adjustable. Koni Sport (Yellow) are performance shocks and adjustable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 3, 2004 Author Share May 3, 2004 hmmm...can help me take a look at the ebay auction? how come it is stated KOni Special and all 4 are adjustable? im confused... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2004 Share May 3, 2004 dunno leh. maybe typo error or false advertising?? [/size] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 3, 2004 Author Share May 3, 2004 hmm..he did mention that they are TRD shocks. Do u know of any car that comes stock with TRD shocks? oh no..if not adjustable..then i may kanna conned....die... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2004 Share May 3, 2004 not so familiar wif Reds. as for as i know, it's not externally adjustable unlike the Yellow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jiayong 3rd Gear May 3, 2004 Author Share May 3, 2004 externally adjustable do u mean by the top under the bonnet or have to jack up car and go underneath to adjust? oh...we are talking about stiffness here right? not height... my current set..im not sure what are they..rear can be adjusted by jacking up the car and adjust the screw. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ic3ncok3 Neutral Newbie May 3, 2004 Share May 3, 2004 yea, more or less........jus look at colour......reds are mostly non-adjustable, yellows are mostly adjustable. some koni shocks are height adjustable also........only certain cars get the height adjustment option...... goto www.koni.com to find more info......tho i doubt u will be able to find the appropriate shocks for your car on the site now..... springs-wise, look at how much the spring will drop your car, spring rates and how big a hole u want in your pocket........ spring rates - the amount of force required to compress the springs i.e. 100 lb/ft = 100lbs of force to compress the spring 1ft OR kg/mm = u get the idea change from kg/mm to lb/ft: multiply by 56 then there are constant and prgressive spring rates constant = coils are all evenly spaced out, ride is harsher but car is more predictable progressive = coils are closer together at one end, compromise btwn comfort and harshness, teins are progressive...... how hard (i.e. higher spring rates) u want the springs depends on how u want your suspension setup......harder means less comfort........increase rear stiffness = less understeer and blah blah blah......do a search on the net, u'll find info on that stuff.. AND if you r thinking of learning to drift or go to the track, i suggest u change your shocks also and your wheels + tyre setup also.......or else the sound of screeching on the track wont be your tyres, it'll be your car screaming bloody murder, so will your pocket if u can afford it, go for full coilovers.....they give u a larger range of adjustment both springs and shock wise........u can tune your setup to your preference...... otherwise just go for a cheaper shock/spring combo......... hope this helps.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic May 3, 2004 Share May 3, 2004 externally adjustable means u can juz pop upen the bonnet and twist the knob at strut tower to adjust the stiffness (not height). otherwise u gotta remove the entire shock to adjust. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...