Should Principal step down after hiting student ?

Cheekg99

Should Principal step down after hiting student ?  

87 members have voted

1. 1.

• No
    • Yes

The principal of Nan Chiau High has stepped down after admitting to hitting a female student with a soft-cover book.

In a letter to Today (See Page 8), the Ministry of Education (MOE) said Mr Ng Lee Huat had offered to step down as head of the school and that it had accepted his offer, which takes effect today.

This came as the MOE was conducting investigations into a complaint that Mr Ng had hit a Secondary 2 student on April 15.

Today reported last Thursday that a police report had been lodged against the principal by the god-sister of one of five students who had witnessed the incident. All six had been called up by Mr Ng for questioning and a teacher was also present.

The MOE said Mr Ng would be "redeployed to a position where he can continue to contribute to education".

In the meantime, the cluster superintendent will oversee the school's management until a replacement principal is appointed. Said an MOE spokesperson: "Hitting a student, no matter how testing the circumstances of disciplining the student, cannot be condoned. This is an unacceptable action that is outside the guidelines governing corporal punishment in schools."

The five students were suspended for two weeks after the incident, while the girl who was hit was allowed back after an initial suspension. The others have since also gone back to school.

Speaking to Today, the mother of the girl who was hit said: "I was angry when I heard what happened, but I accepted Mr Ng's explanation when I went to his office last Thursday and he apologised.

"He said he did not hit her deliberately and had done it for her own good."

She only found out that Mr Ng was leaving when Today informed her yesterday and said she "didn't expect" it to end this way.

Her daughter

Edited by Cheekg99

Simi lan! Nowadays the education system getting really soft liao!! shakehead.gif Remembered when I was young, kena "char kuey tiao" countless of times! Now principal wacked student has to step down??? jawdrop.gif Seriously, where are all the respect for educators gone to?? They are there to educate and DISCIPLINE kids!! Parents pamper kids too much nowadays!! Cannot advocate this kind of behaviour!! furious.gif

That's the damn problem with the system today. Soon it will culminate to criminals having a field day. In the past, we feared teachers because of the power they wield. We revered them for they were our surrogates.

Now, we know we can get away because the system allows it. Soon there will be kids who know they can kill someone because they cannot be tried as adults. They will get smarter by the day. "Better kill someone before your time is up."

The kids know that they can win these days. They will exploit it to the fullest.

Er..... BTW, why is this here? Should it be moved to Anything Goes subforum. Admin! Oh......Aaaaadmeeeeeeen! [:)]

Edited by Genie47

times hv changed liao lah, brother....

our time is mata wear shorts, ride on "relay" bicycle time liao leh....

now mata used laser guided guns to catch speeding drivers liao..... [laugh]

big big diff mah....

of coz society change... the way kids n parents behave also diff...

helpless lah...... [:/]

Where was the student hit? Was there any injuries? What is the nature of her lying? Why did not the god-sister reported the incident to the parents first?

I am sorry for asking so many questions, I heard this on the radio this morning but did not notice it in the ST. I do not have a copy of the Today paper.

During my time if you kena whack by the principle himself you automatically become a cult hero in the school man. pirate.gif

If like that, then my during sec school days will be full of relief teachers caused we were being whack right, left & center by our form teachers & dicipline masters. Miss those old days.

"Spare the rod , spoilt the child" rule of thumb thumbsup.gif, also very subjective right.

parents nowadays think that the school has the responsibilities of educating and disciplining their kids, afterall, they think that they spend more time in school than at home..when things crew up, they blame the school [shakehead][shakehead]

SAF is different! Some of the F**kers in there are inhumane!!! I am a good example of being abused!! I had two ops on my left knee no thanks to my "Inchek"! rifle.gifrifle.gifrifle.giffurious.giffurious.giffurious.giffurious.gif

i have some students that dare to tell me that they are paying my salary through the school fees ..... what nonsense is that? mad.gifmad.gif By the way, it takes about 5 classes worth of monthly school fees to pay one teacher for each month and each school has about 50-60 teachers.

Which school has 300 classes to feed the salary of the teachers? mad.gifmad.gif

Think the whole damn problem is that parents today are too damn soft...child hurt a bit, like it's the end of the world.....teacher or principal discipline their kids, treat it like some crime...*sigh* [:|][:|]

Not true lehz, if parents are found to discipline children too severely and found out by welfare groups.. They can be brought to court as well! sweatdrop.gif

Parents leaving all responsibility of guiding their children to teachers ...

what to do ?

[bounce1][smash]

sigh.. time has changed, i still think that the old educational system, where the teachers are allowed to cane student, is better with proper control on the caning power [shakehead][shakehead]

Think the whole damn problem is that parents today are too damn soft...child hurt a bit, like it's the end of the world.....teacher or principal discipline their kids, treat it like some crime...*sigh* [:|][:|]

yalor, last time anything happen the child will kena big big first and then explain later, but now, anything happen they'll protect their children whether or not they are right [thumbsdown]

becoz now kids precious mah....

each parent only give birth to one... at most 2...

seldom get 3 kiddos....

so all treat like gold.... 99k [shakehead]