Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 good news for you: road tax surcharge for old cars max at 150% of ordinary rd tx.... eg my celica has reached max on the 5th year of 10% surcharge per year... now i am paying 150% of its original rd tax ..... insurance cheap cheap because i can only insure it for 3rd party.... only thing is i really need to drive sensibly and avoid damaging my car.... not cat .... can use non-original parts to some extent because of non-availability of original ones my favourite older (90s) cars are:- supra (last gen), celica (90-92 model), mr2 (mini ferrari), RX7 (current gen), gtr (all generations, thank you), Legacy GTB (previous gen), Maseratis BiTurbo , Subaru SVX coupe, prelude (92- 96 and one gen before that ), interga (all gens except the new one), civic (early mid 90s one), 3 series / M3 (the last squarish one), Volvo 850/v70 R series , Jag XJR V12 supercharge cheers ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 the paintwork is only 2 weeks old the actual colour is kind of red-purple.... slightly different from what we see in the pics.... its my buddy's car and he's a real cool guy... one day you'll meet him my celica is in silver-lilac (at least that's what i selected from the colour mix, but the finished work is abit off ).... the pics are too large now (about 6000kb++), will reduce it before posting watch this space Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rx7_lover Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 same taste basically except some of the cars I never see this side of the world. anyways I also like the silva and some others ^^;; Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rx7_lover Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 maybe. Anyways I didn't know about the road tax rule, cos they said somewhere it increases 10% per annum past 10 so I thought would go up so high lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 (edited) i bet they did think of having it increased yearly at 10% with no cap, so that they could milk more $ from us.... luckily for us they have the good sense not to do it the Silvia (nissan 200SX here or nissan 240SX in north America) in the early 90s still look cool even today cheers Edited September 12, 2002 by Ysfoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rx7_lover Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 agreed. but in US it is detuned and the body is diff from the ones in japan. NSX is nice too but the tail light abit ugly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 yep. but that is why I said sorry first lor. In case I offend him ma. "Wisdom, u've acquire, apprentice young!!" Done well, my son..... respect, learnt you.... This one sure kena suan by Renegade man..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 Very nice paint job! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemason Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 WAHLAU!!!!! YS dude!!! that's the car i've been looking for!!!!! but i cant find it wanted to buy this car, but no one selling that is 1 rad car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemason Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 here's a pic of my previous car. it doesnt have what it takes to look like a celica, but it did just fine for me Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 That's one cool car! And I thought they had all but disappeared from our roads. Thought of getting one some time back but hardly see anyone selling it anymore. My friend will be thrilled to see this! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 thanks for the komplimen, it belongs to my celica kaki, and it's the benchmark look i'm aiming to do with mine which is not exactly the same standard right now... i like the classic curves/bulges giving a hint of mini-muscle car.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 (edited) hey dude.... you've got the nicest flame paint work in town man .... did you custom paint it or stick-on (i doubt so).... which paintshop did it, i wanna to talk to them, please... in fact, my kaki is gonna respray his classic celica (not the one in the pics) soon, he's always keen on flame..... Wow for those who may be looking for a classic celica, i saw one for sale at Katong area (with 5-year renewed COE, good interior and engine, well loved by current owner)... owner is friend of one of the celica kaki i know... all in there are about only 6-7 celicas left in town cheers Edited September 12, 2002 by Ysfoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 Yup it does indeed have the curves of an American muscle car... just a lot smaller.. what's the performance like? Gotta get a ride one day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 (edited) performance is kinda hard to gauge becasue once i sit in it, my whole mindset goes back to the good'Ol 70s' and expectations also shift backward 29 years ... but being a twin-carburator setup with full extractor, she keeps pace with most 1600cc cars quite effortlessly.... planning to do a 0-100 sprint and time it manually.... anyone has the G-tech or something like that to test the 0-100 thing? cheers Edited September 12, 2002 by Ysfoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yttrium Neutral Newbie September 12, 2002 Share September 12, 2002 (edited) Hmm 70s eh.. reminds me of my family's first car from the same era. the corolla... Is this one really a '74? That would make it the same age as me man... Edited September 12, 2002 by Yttrium Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 12, 2002 Author Share September 12, 2002 you young and restless: yes it's same age as you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemason Neutral Newbie September 13, 2002 Share September 13, 2002 thanks, actually its just some stoopid home made paintwork done by me and another 2 of my friends. yes, the flames are sprayed on, while the background of the whole car is painted by using ICI matt paint. i do not know if our local paintshop does flames, but i can help out a lil bit by asking ard sigh, if i havent got myself a car now, i would definitely go for the celica ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...