LoverofCar 6th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 An ex-owner here.....own it for 3 years... Space: Super for a 1.6 car..No car in this class give you more space than matrix. FC: quite a drinker...similar to a 2.0 car Reliability: ownership period never give me a single issue. Spare part: True it stopped production....in fact, during it high time, only a few countries got this model, Malaysia, Singapore and Taiwan.....not even korea sell this model domestically.....spare part is not a problem when the population is still big...Now, you need to try and ask stock list (Song Yi) or Komoco whether they still carry the common part or not... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 worst car ever, bad fc and spare part as well as low quality Maybe u should read these- From India to S.Africa in an off-peak Hyundai Matrix - http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Drivers/St...607-220711.html Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Happily1986 5th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 Why would you sit on top of a picnic basket? You are suppose to sit inside. Why you damn figurative nazi! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WTF 4th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 Matrix so bad? But during that period, Matrix is such a popular car. 2 of my friends and 1 of my colleague bought it when they offer $0 down-payment with 10-year loan. One of them even had cash-back thrown in by the dealer. Prob that's why it's so popular then.... 1 sold it after 1 year, 1 just start of this year and 1 still driving it now. All main complaint is the bad FC......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoodCar 4th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 pump higher tyre pressure lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 Maybe u should read these- From India to S.Africa in an off-peak Hyundai Matrix - http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/Drivers/St...607-220711.html Ya good, lucky they only travelled 48,000 km cos after 60,000 km, my gearbox lagged and won't shift. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sktan10 5th Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 (edited) Ya good, lucky they only travelled 48,000 km cos after 60,000 km, my gearbox lagged and won't shift. This matrix is not new car when they start the trip la!48K is during the trip. We dont know how much mileage he clock in singapore or even malaysia(since he is a malaysian) before the trip.I think easily more than 60K. My friend matrix auto clock almost 100k before he sold.Gearbox no problem leh! First time drive auto car? Edited October 14, 2011 by Sktan10 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roverboy 1st Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 Ya good, lucky they only travelled 48,000 km cos after 60,000 km, my gearbox lagged and won't shift. I drove the matrix 6year before change car,80k mileage gearbox no problem,is a good car, no major problem only wear and tear parts need to replace, FC wise can only travel about 450km then light came out, high seat position, can see far, rear leg space very good, I am 1.84m,lot of compartment to keep your stuffs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelloggs 1st Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 i bough a one year old Matrix in 2005 and drove it for 3 years. When sold, it was 75K mileage. no problems at all. As everyone says, FC is really bad In fact, this Matrix is more reliable than a Merc A170 we had (which we bought it at 2 year old). Door lock problem, steering prob, brakes problem. We sold it just after owning it for 2 years old. thinks koreans cars are more reliable than German cars :P even my 1.5 year old Alfa seems more reliable than a Merc. I drove the matrix 6year before change car,80k mileage gearbox no problem,is a good car, no major problem only wear and tear parts need to replace, FC wise can only travel about 450km then light came out, high seat position, can see far, rear leg space very good, I am 1.84m,lot of compartment to keep your stuffs Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ithunk 1st Gear October 14, 2011 Share October 14, 2011 get renault megane better Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joepcwong Neutral Newbie March 8, 2012 Share March 8, 2012 Hi all I have been driving the Matrix 1.6 auto since Feb 2003. This is the 9th year, and it will be scrapped soon. I will be giving up my car as I don't intend to own a car anymore. Since day one, I have recorded every servicing or modification done to the car. Other then the poor FC, the car is pretty reliable and good to drive, especially for a moderately large person like me who needs more headroom and width. Plenty of legroom, both front and back. Maintenance is the usual wear-and-tear change of parts. It has been through both major and minor accidents, and I still kept the car after repairing it. So far, I have only done about 110,000km. To enhance my driving experience, I installed strut bars to improve the handling, a capsule for some low end torque, Splitfire spark plugs that lasted me for 6 six years before I changed to another similar set that is still going strong (one of the best improvements to the car) that really helps to add some life to the engine, 6-point earthing, a K&N filter and a CAI. No regrets to all these mods and they are still intact in the car. I recently sold away my Momo Millenium steering wheel and revert back to the horrible, skinny original steering wheel (the only let down). The car has some minor glitches at the moment which I did not bother to rectify since it will be scrapped soon. It's simply not worth extending the COE after Feb 2013. It will be sad to see her go. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vhtfhwlego Supercharged March 8, 2012 Share March 8, 2012 Sad to see another driver going public especially driving for so long. However with your annual mileage (unless you driving during odd hours/places), public will be a much cheaper alternative. Hope that you can get used to the mad rush during the peak hours. I was in for a rude shock recently after sending my car to the ws for repairs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear March 9, 2012 Share March 9, 2012 Hello MAZ75, I was driving a Nissan Sunny yr 2000 before I switch to Hyundai Matrix 1.6 A more than half a year ago mainly to reduce my monthly instalment payout for the loan. I must say that in terms of space for the family, Nissan is no match for the Matrix given that both are 1.6lit cars and this is my main concern - comfort. Leg space for hind pessenger is big, kids can stand and even sit on the floor at the rear passenger seat. In terms of entry into the vehicle, if you have older folks in the family with painful knees, the higher seat level in the Matrix allow them easier entry. Based on lower monthly payout and better comfort, I went for the matrix. FC is of course higher considering it is 1.3 tons as compared to Sunny of slightly over 1 ton. I accepted this fact before going into Komoco for the test drive. Pick up is also a consideration but not a major one, on the expressway, once pickup andtravelling at 120 km on the expressway is stable I guess due to its weight. Of course there are bigger 7-seater MPVs with more space, but working within your budget is one important point. Also I find the engine quieter on the road except during wet days. The idling engine is also quiet as compared to the Sunny I had. Again - its only 8 months and I cant be sure of what might happen in the future. In terms of servicing, Komoco is on par with Nissan Tan Chong, price and attention wise. No unnecessary rip-offs. I am into my 20000+ km servicing now and they have changed a cracked power steering belt. plus other routine maintenance parts like oil, spark plugs, air filter etc.... Hope that helps. Ya good, lucky they only travelled 48,000 km cos after 60,000 km, my gearbox lagged and won't shift. I thought I update this thread. My first posting in 2004 at 20k km servicing, sold the car at 60k km due to radiator leak, steering issues and gearbox has to change due to serious lagging and jerking. Bought a 2nd hand toyota wish and its now 150,000 km, no issues as matrix and better FC at 11 km/lit and better power. No wonder they phase out matrix....a lesson for me. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic March 9, 2012 Share March 9, 2012 I thought I update this thread. My first posting in 2004 at 20k km servicing, sold the car at 60k km due to radiator leak, steering issues and gearbox has to change due to serious lagging and jerking. Bought a 2nd hand toyota wish and its now 150,000 km, no issues as matrix and better FC at 11 km/lit and better power. No wonder they phase out matrix....a lesson for me. What steering issues you refering to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eng40765 1st Gear March 9, 2012 Share March 9, 2012 What steering issues you refering to? Hi, Some steering coupler has worn out, steering is not accurate and nosiy, has to change the whole coupler plus rod etc Anyway, to me, radiation change and coupler change is small problem but its the mileage - at less than 60k km only!!!!! And gearbox also has to change at 60k km, cannot lah, too much for me. Gearbox! If its suspension or aircon its fine. Just my objective comparison vs the nissan and toyota. I change toyota aircon coil at 130k km, first major change. Nissan sunny never change aircon before. I prefer to sell the matrix at a loss. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deckbuild 6th Gear March 9, 2012 Share March 9, 2012 Hi all I have been driving the Matrix 1.6 auto since Feb 2003. This is the 9th year, and it will be scrapped soon. I will be giving up my car as I don't intend to own a car anymore. Since day one, I have recorded every servicing or modification done to the car. Other then the poor FC, the car is pretty reliable and good to drive, especially for a moderately large person like me who needs more headroom and width. Plenty of legroom, both front and back. Maintenance is the usual wear-and-tear change of parts. It has been through both major and minor accidents, and I still kept the car after repairing it. So far, I have only done about 110,000km. To enhance my driving experience, I installed strut bars to improve the handling, a capsule for some low end torque, Splitfire spark plugs that lasted me for 6 six years before I changed to another similar set that is still going strong (one of the best improvements to the car) that really helps to add some life to the engine, 6-point earthing, a K&N filter and a CAI. No regrets to all these mods and they are still intact in the car. I recently sold away my Momo Millenium steering wheel and revert back to the horrible, skinny original steering wheel (the only let down). The car has some minor glitches at the moment which I did not bother to rectify since it will be scrapped soon. It's simply not worth extending the COE after Feb 2013. It will be sad to see her go. Almost same case here, scraping it next yr, never had problem after 135k km, slight vibration and hard to start when engine is warm, don't intend to repair as well, I guess I will hit 200k km b4 scrap as I'm traveling to malacca every fortnight and running as outdoor sales. Love this car except for boot space and FC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joepcwong Neutral Newbie March 9, 2012 Share March 9, 2012 Sad to see another driver going public especially driving for so long. However with your annual mileage (unless you driving during odd hours/places), public will be a much cheaper alternative. Hope that you can get used to the mad rush during the peak hours. I was in for a rude shock recently after sending my car to the ws for repairs. Yes, the crowd can be quite back during peak hours. Thank God, where I stay, I have a straight bus to work and can always get a seat because it's early in the journey. I try to avoid MRT during peak hours if I can, unless I don't have a choice to where I'm going, usually the further away places if I am not driving. Peak hours are great for buses because they have exclusive bus lanes, and can avoid the car jams that I see every morning from my bus. Changing topic, one of the other best mods that I did (at least for me) is the removal of the heater water hose and replaced by a U-tube. This means my air-con air is only at two settings: cold and colder. It also works wonders for the air con because it gets cold pretty quick, and continues to give out cold air when the car is idling (unlike where the air gets warmer unless you step on the throttle to drive the compressor to work). This mod, believe or not, was done at Komoco because someone from the defunct Club Matrix told me that they can do it without affecting the warranty back then. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...