VTI or TS

Beyond_26

Ok bro n sis,

i've narrowed down my choices to either honda vti or subaru ts. But seems like ts got lesser bhp than vti. But ts is awd n tat's what tempts me. Hope those experts here can give me an advise on all aspects of these 2 rides. It seems hard for me to choose one of them.

Beyond, go test drive the two cars and see which you like. In the ,meantime, we will give you as much info as possible... [nod]

Vti, which model are you talking about? TS, heard its not bad, have test drove one before, dun like the feel, and no torque. Its engine kinda noisy when at high speed too...

think vti is a better choice. the awd on the TS is a gimmick coz u dun need it on a 1.6L car.

From your choice of cars, I presume you will be getting a manual right?

My ride is a Civic VTI 1.5M. When you go for your test drive, drag second gear all the way up to 5000rpm and then when you change into third gear, you will feel a surge. If you continue to step on it (provided there is enough road in front of you) you should be able to hit 100km/h very quickly. Don't try to pick up from third gear, low rpm, this VTI engine is hopeless at low RPM. At least that's the case for my 1.5. 1.6 has higher torque but lower hp. Engine still the same design, so characteristics should be the same.

Don't know anything about TS cos I don't like it so cannot provide anything on that.

Impreza TS

Pros

1. Good stability due to 4WD

2. Build quality solid

3. Low end torque good for SGP traffic condition

Cons

1. FC not impressive due 4WD

2. Low HP (manual still better than auto)

3. Heavy body (poor FC due to low HP and 4WD)

Civic VTi

Pros

1. Better pickup due to lighter body

2. Famous VTEC engine

3. Availability of aftermarket tuning

Cons

1. Build quality typical Japanese car

2. Low end torque not impressive (need high rpm to hit VTEC to feel the power)

3. Handling corner not as stable as 4WD

Go for test drive. Nothing beats personal experience. who knows, u love the car so much that u will buy it even it means u have to sell your dog. [laugh]

We can give u info until dragon and pheonix all come out, still best test , test, test, test it yourself.

Here is my personal experience on a TS:

TS is underpowered compared to a civic. the fact that it is a little heavier.

It torque come at about 3k, quite good , even a 3rd gear give u good pull to 5k.

TS FC is not too bad, I clock avg 12+ with normal driving (btw 3k-5k rpm) and highway most of the time.

the build of the car is quite solid and yeah, road noise, expect road noice.

Overall feel, it is a very smooth running car I find.

If u want the good road holding, change to a better tyre and suspension.

For moderate driving, I guess both civic and ts should give a safe ride, stock.

We all talk about safety, what abs lah, how many air bags lah.. , pretty much standard equipments on both car.

btw, anybody got lobang for advance driving or defensive driving courses? I better brush up my driving skill. [sweatdrop] safety is the responsibility of the driver.

Beyond, go test drive the two cars and see which you like. In the ,meantime, we will give you as much info as possible... [nod]

Vti, which model are you talking about? TS, heard its not bad, have test drove one before, dun like the feel, and no torque. Its engine kinda noisy when at high speed too...

I'm talking abt the ES series. I oso heard TS not bad but low torque and only max 95bhp. Horsepower is the least among toyota n honda

Yes, i will be getting a manual. Can u tell me the difference between the 1.5 n 1.6 series? is it the difference of torque n hp?

Ok bro n sis,

i've narrowed down my choices to either honda vti or subaru ts. But seems like ts got lesser bhp than vti. But ts is awd n tat's what tempts me. Hope those experts here can give me an advise on all aspects of these 2 rides. It seems hard for me to choose one of them.

I think you should not just let raw figures determine your choice in cars. Take a drive in both of them and find out for yourself which one you would like to spend day in day out driving. It will be a shame when you sign the dotted line only to think of 'I should have....' a few months later. [;)]

agree with Mike Chong. One of the things I learnt about car ownership is that u must buy something u like if not drive a few monts, u start to get sick of the car....

Actually i prefer VTI than any other car. I like the shape n design of the car. Only thing is the decrease of power in the newer series, if not i confirm go for it.

No problem, just go for the vtim. it still have more than enough power to eat up all 1.6l car and except for civic using dohc engine :P.

i meant as in stock vs stock ... the current 1.6M vti is actually quick fast.... eh but slightly..slower than some 3doors 1.6l and below car though. for me, i bought a cheap es1. Actually why not just get the es1. Thoguht the manual price now at all time low of 82K. Its actually quite worth it with the moonroof. The roadtax cost only 110 more per year compare to the vti and unless you see a manual sir on the road...else most other stock car less than 1.6 should be easy meat (in a straight line :)...:P

Edited by David325