Airflow/skid plate under car???

Super7

Absolutely spot on .... F1 starts next week thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif and I'll be in KL for meetings bigcry.gifbigcry.gifbigcry.gif

KL can oso see F1 what. I think the following there might be bigger than in SG. [;)]

yes, like you have pointed out, for normal showroom cars which we are driving, the plate will never be able to create the negative pressure to keep the cars stick to the ground as in F1 cars, the only advantage is to reduce drags on the under-carriage, which is what i am talking about..... 'no fish, shrimps also can lah'...... thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

But is the improvement worth the weight disadvantage?

And how about the problem of engine overheating due to lack of circulation once you cover up the bottom of the car? You also have a problem when you service your car. If you are thinking of patchwork, the returns will be even less.

Wat channel ar ... TV1 is it ?? Problem is its in the day as Aus is only a couple of hours diff ... might be in a meeting then bigcry.gifbigcry.gifbigcry.gif

Sat and Sun .... no choice , small window of opportunity for initial talks. wink.gif

Sat for Dato , Sun for Tan Sri sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

think the airtrek has an option too.... but more for protection than aerodynamics...

got ah??... go where can see?? thanks smile.gifthumbsup.gif

seen on the roads... keep your eyes opened.... [shocked]

not easy to custom make, if at all.... sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifunsure.gifunsure.gif .... will be ex also bigcry.gifbigcry.gif

in fact... i don't think its dat expensive to custom make leh... [;)]

[idea] how abt using lightweight aluminium??? And... u know below your engine there are several plastic panel guards rite?... maybe we can make them redundant and use their bolt-on points for this new alum shield cum AIR SCOOP??? [thumbsup]

instead of airscoop on the bonnet... this alum shield scoops air from the bottom and cools the engine bay from front bottom to backwards!!! [idea]

eh... lets work on this project leh... ai mai??? [bounce1]

good idea thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif ..... do you have access to ramp or hydraulic jack so that we can have a good look at the bottom of the car?? ........ any lobang for fabricator??? i am getting excited laugh.gifthumbsup.gif

Actually quite keen but cannot get leave. thumbsdown.gif BTW, you have the exact date?

likely 1st or 2nd May..... smile.gif

maybe one day we just go there as walk-in customers on Monday, the track will sure be very empty ........ only 2 of us....thumbsup.gif

i have access to ramp or jack at my mechanics' place... my mech n me very "ar" one... no probs... [nod]

but fabricator no lobang leh... [shakehead]

yes, like you have pointed out, for normal showroom cars which we are driving, the plate will never be able to create the negative pressure to keep the cars stick to the ground as in F1 cars, the only advantage is to reduce drags on the under-carriage, which is what i am talking about..... 'no fish, shrimps also can lah'...... thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

But is the improvement worth the weight disadvantage?

And how about the problem of engine overheating due to lack of circulation once you cover up the bottom of the car? You also have a problem when you service your car. If you are thinking of patchwork, the returns will be even less.

not that heavy rite?....... also, will provide some outlet 'gills' near end of the plate to release heat from the engine bay......

more important consideration: will my car ever reach the kind of speeds which make such aerodynamic gadget effective??....

Edited by Super7

i will be doing servicing next week, let me take a look at the bottom and see whether its easy to mount the plate using existing bolt holes etc.... will get back to you after that... thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

btw, you interested to fix the same to your car??

tho i drive an old car... the darkside is always wif me... so if the project is not gonna cost too much... why not??? [thumbsup]

more important consideration: will my car ever reach the kind of speeds which make such aerodynamic gadget effective??....

That's right. The question is - is it worth all the trouble? [:p]

btw, you interested to fix the same to your car??

Nope. [:p]

BTW, I actually spoke to Gavin about a similar project sometime back. You can get aluminium sheets at Jalan Besar, just next to the Eminent Plaza hawker centre.