Guyver 1st Gear May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 When U crank up the volume the rear spkrs crack up? .... try using the HU fade further ti the front. .... edit Oh I see pple already recommend. Yah, mine too.... when i blast the music... the rear speakers... like starting to be crack... i always thought that the bass should be blast fromt he rear.... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 Remember doing the Corolla older model bigger size like muscular shape one. Nick I cammot place but see U sure remember 100% -lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 Bass from the rear? Yeah this is a common misconception further spread by all those 'auto accessory' shops. Bass from rear only comes from the sub in the boot from which should be tuned so the bass feels like it's coming from the front blended W/ rest of music. Using those 6X9's or 6" coax to get the bass from the rear is real messy sound wise. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 (edited) Remember doing the Corolla older model bigger size like muscular shape one. Nick I cammot place but see U sure remember 100% -lah. Hi Geoff. u referring to me issit??? Driving maroon corolla sedan... went to u a couple of times the last time u helped me fix up a Clarion HU... muscular? hehehe, more like FATS hahahah! The nick's Duckstar... rings a bell??? Edited May 6, 2002 by Diesel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 Yes Duckstar I remember. BTW the Corolla I doing last Sat now change old Kicker Amp to Tubedriver Blue and Planet Audio to CDT HD's. Now doing by next Sat will finish in time 4 mag photo shoot. SQ will be heavenly W/ this combo 4 sure. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 (edited) Geoff, talking about SQ. Would like your professional opinion in this setup for the sake of learning: Volvo Premium Sound : http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=295 Will it be very difficult to get the sound stage right? What other things that must be taken into consideration given there are so many speakers, even tweeters on the parcel shelf?? Thanks in advance. Edited May 6, 2002 by Sparetyre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 Yeah, me would like to know how "premium" this system is too! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 6, 2002 Share May 6, 2002 Sheet I spent the better part of an hour typing in, detail the pros and cons of this S60 system. When I try to post I kenah ERROR, when I try to retrieve back to my type written page kenah wipes out. Anyway the gist of it is this system design is a well thought out, purpose built and designed to suit and impress most new Volvo buyers. Very complicated in application but sound theory applied. Won't really be the kinda system to impress those real SQ enthusiasts, End of the day is how much they askin and an audition to cement final opinions. Later I will elaborate, now type until eyelids also heavy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 Sheet I spent the better part of an hour typing in, detail the pros and cons of this S60 system. When I try to post I kenah ERROR, when I try to retrieve back to my type written page kenah wipes out. Anyway the gist of it is this system design is a well thought out, purpose built and designed to suit and impress most new Volvo buyers. Very complicated in application but sound theory applied. Won't really be the kinda system to impress those real SQ enthusiasts, End of the day is how much they askin and an audition to cement final opinions. Later I will elaborate, now type until eyelids also heavy. Heehee.... sorry about this... Really appreciate your effort to educate us about ICE. Dun think many (installers) are willing to share and worst of all, may be not even have the substance to share.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 [angelic] i think we know who we are toking about... Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 [angelic] i think we know who we are toking about... Cheers Hey!!! So you have also make your way here!!!! Welcome to MCF... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
AutoS Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 OK Bro, Here goes - Info I have is on the spkr positioning which is the most crucial aspect of this system. Info I don't have is the quality of the hardware including spkrs, what kinda amp being used, how they crossed the frequencies to each spkr. So I am going to assume that the all of this stuff done right using good and appropriate stuff and focus on what the speaker positioning choices tell me. This system's objective is basically to deliver reasonable listenable sound to all occupants in the car. To this end, it can be seen that some thought has been put into achieving this and quite a complicated but clever speaker set up has been implemented. For a start Volvo themselves have the advantage of designing the OEM cosmetic panels to suit whatever speaker mounting they desire. So fitting the 3 sets of 8" drivers all round, is their answer to getting the fullest possible bass response without having to have sub enclosure in boot or free air mounting on parcel shelf taking all the sub duties and therefore will be heavy 4 back passengers. Instead sub duties have been spread all round so it is more even 4 everyone in the car. By having all the 8" play the mid and sub, instead of just sub, the whole car will get more headroom listening. By having 3-way upfront, front stage will be better and frequency response will be more complete giving a more full and natural sound reproduction by boosting the lo-mids and mid bass, often insufficient in 2-way set ups. The tweets all round the place are 4 the benefit again of the rear passengers. And all in all the front image will be off so they cleverly stuck in a coaxial in the centre of the dash. Yes Siree, interesting indeed. It is a system if mixed and matched properly and X-overed correctly and tuned in (each spkr) could indeed please many ... except real discerning car audio enthusiasts. Why.. cuz while musical balance will be pleasant and dynamics good, separation will likely be lacking. Will not be able to identify individual sounds and instrument positions within sound stage so easily. Especially cuz got so many tweets. The sub response while should be good for 'normal' applications and evenly spread out will likely not really be able to hit hard W/ good tight control since they are not boxed and unlikely to go that deep shiok on those kinda recordings cuz only 8" drivers used. I would like to see exactly where the spkrs are mounted and the angle of the mountings, the quality and matching of the hardware and of course an audition to determine if all that tuning is ideal. Overall it should be better than majority those 'Auto Accessory' type installs most prevalent in Sgp. As I said, whilst it would impress most, don't think this system would entirely satisfy those real car audio enthusiasts. If I had the opportunity to work W/ the interior designers and outfitters of the interior of this Volvo, I reckon I could come up W/ arguably the ultimate car audio which will blow away the most astute car audio enthusiast as well as still provide the rear passengers W/ really pleasant listening. My slaiva glands working over-time just thinking abt it. Big claims rite? Well my next post will be how to set up this Dream system and all the specific reasons behind each step. Maybe got to split to 2 or 3 posts. Will be back after battery re-charged and when got another break. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Iced_soluna Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 Hey!!! So you have also make your way here!!!! Welcome to MCF... how come u join same date as me but u senior member?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 OK Bro,........[long story omitted ] Here goes - Big claims rite? Well my next post will be how to set up this Dream system and all the specific reasons behind each step. Maybe got to split to 2 or 3 posts. Will be back after battery re-charged and when got another break. Thanks for the enlightenment, AutoS style!!!! Really appreciate the in depth analysis of this setup. Come to think about it, Volvo really have no choice but to please every passenger in the car as some Volvo owners may be driven around by their drivers!!!! Imagine that the ICE is setup and tuned for the driver seat. The poor owner will be suffering in the back seat while the driver is enjoying the ICE.... Can't wait to read the Dream System setup..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 Hey!!! So you have also make your way here!!!! Welcome to MCF... how come u join same date as me but u senior member?? Eh CH now ULTRA senior member liao!! Dont play play! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 Hey!!! So you have also make your way here!!!! Welcome to MCF... how come u join same date as me but u senior member?? Bro, because I come to this forum more often. While you go to the ICE forum more often mah..... Hey, are you free tonight? We are meeting up in TurboBrick's place... TC, sing song and do some car mod thingy..... Wanna join us?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sparetyre Neutral Newbie May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 Eh CH now ULTRA senior member liao!! Dont play play! Hey please dun do this hor...... Soluna and me very good friend one ok..... BTW, Soluna this is Mag. Mag, this is Soluna.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear May 7, 2002 Share May 7, 2002 Eh CH now ULTRA senior member liao!! Dont play play! Hey please dun do this hor...... Soluna and me very good friend one ok..... BTW, Soluna this is Mag. Mag, this is Soluna.... Do what?? Do what?? *innocent* [angelic] HALLO SOLUNA!!! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...