Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 5, 2002 Share September 5, 2002 (edited) Hi guys, Went for a test drive of the Honda Stream 1.7L today .... I realised that the engine sound very coarse ! Even with radio switched-on, it is audible ! Asked the sales girl, and she told me VTEC like that one ! How true is it ? Though it is a 2 stage VTEC engine, there's no extra surge of power even I drag to 6000rpm ... and the low end torque (<2000rpm) is quite poor ... Paiseh ... me not familar with Honda engine .. just seeking "enlightenment" :-P BTW, the 1.7L is quite weak compared to the Dion's 1.8T :-P Edited September 5, 2002 by Andrewkb ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Renegade Neutral Newbie September 5, 2002 Share September 5, 2002 Wah....so free, ah ? Got time to test drive Stream...so jealous......anyway, dunno much about Honda engines myself but I don't remember the Civic I tested being anywhere near coarse or noisy. How was the rest of the car (handling, especially) or did the noise cancel everything else out ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 5, 2002 Author Share September 5, 2002 Not really free lah ... was around the area mah ... so went for a quick one :-P (Last nite went after 6pm, keys locked, cannot test drive)... The Civic VTI (CVT) I tested also not that bad ...maybe due to no bonnet insulation ? The low end torque is quite insufficient ... compared to the Dion 1.8T I tested last week ... However, if I keep the rpm above 3000, the engine is quite perky ... Suspension on the softside ... Hmm ... my Sunny VIP feels better to drive than this Stream ! With my friend sitting in the 2nd row, I can see that the leg space is not that much ... In fact ... the car appears bigger in showroom !!! Now seeing this, a bit concern about the usability of Stream ! Any owner would like to add comments ? *** Above comments are based on my personal feel ... diff people will have diff expectation ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear September 5, 2002 Share September 5, 2002 Eh, compare normally-aspirated 1.7 vs 1.8T, of course will lose out lah! Having said that, Honda's low-end is usually quite weak, got to revv like mad to get it going Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie September 5, 2002 Share September 5, 2002 think if you wanted more power, you'd have gone for the 2.0 l Stream. But like Sean said, Honda engines are not really meant for low end torque.. Remember, the 1.7 engine is what powers the VTI-s, but in a body as big as the Stream instead of a Civic. As for size, Stream is not quite a full size MPV - that would be the Oddyssey.. in fact, the platform is supposed to be the same as the Civic, but with a much larger body. won't really expect legroom to be much more than a Civic. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 Wah, Like that not very good leh .... I am considering the Stream due to extended family unit ... but after reading this .... am thinking twice already. Its exactly what Lester told me during the barbecue ... power to weight ratio NOT GOOD .... Now what options do I have - Odyssey ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 Cool is getting his Picnic soon.... perhaps u want to take a ride in it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 I know ... he told me about it at the barbecue. Will wait to see when he gets it and when he's free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 how about the Opel Zafira, is the price similar to that of the Steam? (oppps, sorry, the Stream )..... the Kia Caren will save you some money while giving similar performance as the StRRReam.... , plus more space , the $ saved can for example buy you nice 17-inch rims and the Caren will look stunning with these rims Can also wait for the performance version of the Zafira.... read in today's paper, the new agent's boss Mr Kwee is keen to be adventurous by bring in more interesting models Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 Opel ... not very familiar with that brand except my father use to drive one in the 70s. Overall, not very inclined towards Opel ... (no offence to Opel owners). Looking for something that is more practical for my everyday movement whilst not restricting if the whole family goes out on weekends. Too big is not good for my everyday moves e.g. 2.5 liters so 2.0 liters is ok but the 1.7 with an MPV body sounds bloody good originally. Now I have questions marks ???? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 then you must really consider the Kia Caren, 1800cc.... provided you have nothing against Korean cars which are basically good values... one of our MCF bro drives one, i remember.... the rear end looks abit like the Picnic also..... just my 0.02 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie September 7, 2002 Author Share September 7, 2002 I don't have anything against the Korean cars after sitting in my collegue's new Sonata ! Practical (lots of small little items that are useful) and generally good quality. However, after test driving his car, the 2000cc engine cannot make it lah ... for Sonata ... it feels so sluggish ... consumption at abt 9-10km/L So, one fine day, under persuation of my friend, I go test drive the Hyundai Trajet. The 2.0L was out, so the guy let me try to 2.7L V6 instead .... wow ! Hheheh .. the wow is not SHIOK ! but bo lat ! Even 2.7L V6 engine still not enuff to drag that Trajet monster ! But in terms of practical usage, the Trajet beats Stream hands down ! The front driver console got 1 cigratte lighter and 1 12V outlet. The boot got 2x 12V outlet ... the number of cup holders, and hooks ... simply overwhelming man ! Back to the KIA Carens .. my collegue pursuaded me once .. 1yr old at ~$70K with full accessories (e.g. leather, VCD, etc) ... but the manufacturer's consumption figure is 8km/L !!!! So, realistically, on the road will be 6km/L ?!?! The Stream 1700cc cannot make it, I doubt the Kia 1800cc can make it too .... Can out MCF Kia Caren bro please help clarify some doubts ? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 (edited) 8kml is really bad , unbelievable! my previous 88 1800cc 1st generation Mit Spacewagon did better than that, about 11kml , followed by 94 2000cc 2nd generation Spacewagon at 12kml! actually the Caren's body is not that large, how come the poor consumption? as a comparison, my current Camry (99 model, 2200cc) gives 8-9kml, previous 94 3000cc Pajero achieved about 6-7kml cheers Edited September 7, 2002 by Ysfoo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 7, 2002 Share September 7, 2002 Cosx has a Carens, perhaps he can give more insights. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear September 8, 2002 Share September 8, 2002 Wah, Like that not very good leh .... I am considering the Stream due to extended family unit ... but after reading this .... am thinking twice already. Its exactly what Lester told me during the barbecue ... power to weight ratio NOT GOOD .... Now what options do I have - Odyssey ?? How about trying the V6 Odyssey? Guaranteed power.. Good comfort and handling too ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...