Zaxed Neutral Newbie August 31, 2002 Share August 31, 2002 Recently while driving on the road, i saw some cars window put up a black film to block the sunlight. Well, my question is : isit illegal in singapore? And one more thing about the headlight , there's some cars change the bulb to the very bright type ( White ), heard that its illegal in singapore if not original from the car, is that true ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chase Neutral Newbie August 31, 2002 Share August 31, 2002 The answer is "no" to both questions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear August 31, 2002 Share August 31, 2002 not illegal to stick sun shades to block sun light. it is legal to tint the car windows if it pass LTA light transmission requirement total illegal to tint the whole car windows to black illegal to tint the windows should light transmission falls below a limit set by LTA Not sure how? Go Vkool workshop and check it out not illegal to put white bright bulb if they are LTA approved eg Philips Bluevision total illegal to put white bright bulbs if they are not LTA approved. Hope u get a clearer picture. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 Philips Bluevision approved by LTA meh ? I tot only the vision plus was approved by LTA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 yes, bluevision approved by LTA. Visionplus of course approved lah, it's just normal halogen light with 50% more illumination Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 (edited) My main beam and high beam just burnt today, guess the shop who change for me uses those cheapo type of bulb, that is why it get burnt so fast. So which one you recommend best, Philips BlueVision or the Ultra Vision? Which one is more expensive? Should I change the low beam to Philips bulb also? Anyone to advise me? Edited September 1, 2002 by Carlover76 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 if you just want normal lighting, strongly recommend philips vision plus because not only it is 50% more illuminating, it's more reliable than other brands including PIAA! NB: More illumination=/= whiter light however, if you prefer to have white light, then go for bluevision, as the blue tint in it gives less yellowish color output. The illumination is also brighter than other white lights you see in autobacs, but bare in mind that comes with some compromise. White light is essentially the normal yellow halogen illumination filtering the yellow color through the blue tint. The reason why bluevision is approved by LTA is also possibly because it's not a full blue "filter" unlike those white light bulb. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 I heard from Cool and VTIM that the vision plus is the latest model compared to Bluevision, is it right? So what compromise you mean when using the Bluevision since it is being approved by LTA? So which one will be better as I want white light? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 Hi, Do u know where to get the Philips bulbs? Tye Soon? Which one is more ex? Do u know the px? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 For Philips blubs, go for Vision plus for 50% more light output but yellow in color. For whiter color the Blue Vision or Crystal Vision by Philips will emit a bluish white beam though output is slightly lesser than Vision Plus. All philips bulbs can be gotten at Tye Soon @ Waterloo Centre. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 Is it the one beside the Bras Brasah? What time it is open till cos I am going down after work, do they accept VISA? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 1, 2002 Share September 1, 2002 Bro u talk until like I own the shop leh..... They open till 6pm on weekdays and pay by cash. Not sure about nets or visa...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie September 2, 2002 Share September 2, 2002 Friend, how many thousand bulbs that U want to buy and payby Visa! Frankly, their price are quite competitive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 2, 2002 Share September 2, 2002 they do accept visa. oh yes, crystal vision is more white than bluevision, it's the ultimate white in the philips range of product. Although there's no LTA approval letter pinned up for crystal vision, I suspect you have less issue with LTA for CV as compared to other white lights. The fact the light output is much more than your stock is an assuring evidence, compared to some korean/jap white bulb which is dimmer than ur stock Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator September 2, 2002 Share September 2, 2002 Hi guys, is blue version approve by LTA? my last inspection in June got warning from the inspection centre to get it change. They said the TP will fine you if they catch u on the road, not sure it this true but so far never been stop . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie September 2, 2002 Share September 2, 2002 Were U using the Bluevisions during the inspection? I had a friend who had a HID kit installed in his car and failed the headlight part of the inspection, they told him only Philips Blue blubs can be used under LTA approval..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chris_ck Neutral Newbie December 11, 2002 Share December 11, 2002 Quote not illegal to stick sun shades to block sun light.it is legal to tint the car windows if it pass LTA light transmission requirement total illegal to tint the whole car windows to black illegal to tint the windows should light transmission falls below a limit set by LTA Not sure how? Go Vkool workshop and check it out not illegal to put white bright bulb if they are LTA approved eg Philips Bluevision total illegal to put white bright bulbs if they are not LTA approved. Hope u get a clearer picture. But I went for my last inspection and the mechanic never even take out my white light to check whether is it Philips? You mean they can tell just like that? In the end my white light failed... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie December 19, 2002 Share December 19, 2002 BlueVision is definitely LTA approved. If the inspection centre fail you, ask for the LTA inspector to double check or shoot all the way up to the highest authority. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...