Jcers Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 Hi all, Saw this over at the LTA website that turbocharger can be installed but need to seek for approval. Superchargers or Turbochargers The addition of superchargers or turbochargers to a vehicle may adversely affect the safe operation and its exhaust emission characteristics. Therefore, LTA would require the following to be submitted for evaluation: a) Technical specifications and installation details (including pictures and drawings) of the proposed supercharger or turbocharger. b) Certification from the vehicle manufacturer stating that the supercharger or turbocharger is suitable for the vehicle on a per make and model of the vehicle. c) Evidence or test reports to show that the turbocharger or supercharger when fitted to the vehicle on a per make and model basis complied with prevailing exhaust emission standards. Does it mean that if I can find the correct turbocharger for my make and model and get a good installer to install for me, LTA will approve it ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 not necessarily true. they still have to test the car and crap all paid by you Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 can be done but lots of paperwork and test by LTA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie February 16, 2004 Share February 16, 2004 Might as well just buy a turbo car from the start .... wait this not pass and that cannot , kena go back and change and it all cost money, especially labour .... money flow out like Niagara Falls sia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 grounding and capsule better lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxx Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 Grounding is good for those with ICE. NOt much effect on stock. Capsule enuf.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 Hi Jcers, Welcome to MCF ! Do enjoy your stay here and come along for our weekly meetups. More info in the MEETUPS folder. Also do check out our RESOURCES folder and TIPS & TECHNICAL RESOURCES folder. Even if you get the right turbo + installers, you still have to send the vehicle to LTA for inspection and testing, which they may or may not approve....but you will still have to pay for the fees they charge for the testing and inspection. Case in point some time back is the TTE supercharger for the IS200. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cong Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 morninggggg dude... does the capsule thingie realli works...???? it is like the ecotek or broquet rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 eh, not a 100% increase thats for sure..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 Welcome to MCF What are you driving? Does ur model comes with turbocharger from manufacturer ? Think point B is the toughest here b) Certification from the vehicle manufacturer stating that the supercharger or turbocharger is suitable for the vehicle on a per make and model of the vehicle. The manufacturer/local agent have to do the papers for you and most likely install for u if they are agreeable. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 wah leow early mrng start leow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coyote Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 Me also wondering whether to install capsule.... So many aftermarket gadget but not sure which one to get . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 do a search on this and you can see previous discussion on capsule and E68. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 grounding and capsule better lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 cong ask me mah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 change car and buy a turbo or big NA car and call it a day Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 SQ again Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cong Neutral Newbie February 17, 2004 Share February 17, 2004 I have a fren who installed the broquet on his 320...After a while, he said no effect. Not much fuel-saving either. Heard of the capsule oso, but i was thinking it is another gimmick...R u on capsule? (not that u r on "pills" but the gadget i meant).. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...