Seansene 1st Gear February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 (edited) I don't know why, but I feel a strange need to apologise to the many Alfisti in the forum for the following review. Not because I'm going to make literary mincemeat of the car, just that I'm not sure of the hype being lived up to. But let's not jump the gun... This was actually my second time driving a 147. The first was with a 2.0 Selespeed, which a few of you know I didn't get along too well with Anyways, always keep an open mind they say, so it was time for Yttirum and I to see how the manual 1.6 Twin Spark would compare. I won't bore you guys with descriptions of the appearance, the pictures are testament enough to it's looks. What I will have to mention is the fact that this 5 door hatch still gets mistaken for a 3 door, as was seen when a certain someone was seen looking for a way to squeeze between the paper-thin gap between the front seat and b-pillar Something old, something new... The 147's pedals are closely spaced, as they should be on a machine with sporting pretenses. A decent driving position was also easy to find, with adjustability in the wheel and seats. Oh, and enough lower back support for this back-pained ah pek. Didn't fiddle with most of the instrument controls, so no reports on the internal ergonomics. No, let's jump straight to the heart of the matter - the drive. And central to that is the engine. 120 bhp is more than decent for a 1.6l. I know that certain Civics punt out more than that, but the delivery is quite different. Surprisingly, with a torque figure almost identical to a Focus' (146Nm vs 145Nm for the Ford), the Alfa manages to feel every bit of 120 horses. Despite the on-paper specs that suggest a peaky engine, there's plenty of pull right across the power band. In fact, if you've not got your eye on the dial, you'll hit the redline without knowing it, there's absolutely no letup. Comparatively my Focus feels like it's on a heavy dose of sleeping pills - lethargic and slow-witted. I'd somehow expected more of a raspy note from an Alfa, but I suppose the attempt at growling is pleasant enough, and leagues better than the boomy soundtrack on any number of old Jap-mobiles. Out on the highway, 100kmh comes at just over 3,000rpm in 5th gear, which may or may not make long distances an aural chore. I guess a Civic Type R driver certainly won't complain Unfortunately, the rubbery, long throw gearchange fails to impress. It's almost a chore a make snappy shifts, which is something quite out of character with the other input devices in the car. I'm not sure if this is supposed to make the potential customer yearn for the Selespeed more, but there's no denying it's one of the Alfa's weak points. So, away from the straights, we head into a medium speed roundabout, which shows up good body control. There's no initial body roll (which I suspect is a uniquely Focus trait), just flat straightfoward cornering, with a hint over oversteer - nothing hairy, and very controllable. But what's this? Tyres screeching? We defnitely weren't anywhere close to the limits - I was tailing a van, for goodness' sake! Powering out of another corner later, the same sqealing resurfaces. Most odd. Could the tyres be worn? Fuel saver model? A check shows both to be negative - the test car's running on fairly new 195/60/15 Pirelli P6000, hardly a runt of a tyre. Can't put my finger on it, but it definitely dampens a playful mood... I have to say the drive has left me in an awkward position. I still can't find an Alfa engine I can fault, and the littlest one on sale now is no exception. Sweet, powerful, always on call, it's making me look into heart transplants. On the other hand, I can't say I'm terribly excited about much else, and this is the second time I've stepped out of a 147 feeling this way. The handling is without a doubt, up to expectations, and the interior is both well-specced and beautiful. but I just can't help thinking in terms of value, and there's the crunch. In the UK, the 147 is 10% dearer than an equivalent Focus, but over here, it's more like a $25k difference, which works out to be more than 30%. Ok, you get climate control, cruise control and a couple of other things, but ultimately is all that worth twenty-five grand? There are things that can hit you so hard in the chest, cause your eyeballs to pop, your spouse to walk out on you, and make you forget all about small things like value for money, but the Alfa 147 just doesn't do it for me. That yellow piece of sin they call the Lamborghini Gallardo (conveniently sitting in the adjacent showroom) however... Edited February 3, 2004 by Seansene ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 wow, sure sounds like it wasn't as good as expected! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear February 3, 2004 Author Share February 3, 2004 (edited) Well, I did try... Edited February 3, 2004 by Seansene Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 yeah, to each our own! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 (edited) u test drive this car yourself? the price is enough to kill.... Edited February 3, 2004 by King Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear February 3, 2004 Author Share February 3, 2004 Yeah... $105,800 But that's if you want to take the $1 downpayment. Otherwise there's a $6k rebate, which still comes up to a painful $99,800, or $100k Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic February 3, 2004 Share February 3, 2004 know how u feel. tested the 2.0 b4. great looker n all but didn't feel like it had that much go and handling felt no where near my Alfa Sprint of yesteryears. maybe my expectations were too high given all the hype. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Test drove the 147 and 156 but feels that the 156 is superior to the 147. The 156 dun have any of the tyre sqealing antics and the suspension setup on the 156 is more to my likeing. The 147 seems to be skipping from bumps to bumps Maybe too long driving a soft Mondy If i am shopping for a 1.6, i would wait for the new Focus, the 147 is just not worth the money. The 156 however is another matter Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger156 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Yup... 147 has a harder and firmer setup than 156. Driving it on non-racing and bumpy tarmac makes it slightly uncomfortable and sometimes nerve-racking, especially when Alfa did not spend much effort on sound proofing the car. Over time, driving over bad road makes it sound as if you are driving in a tin can. In the 1.6 category, 147 is expensive. However, if you are talking about owning a powerful 1.6, this is by far the best you can get. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 SiR? But then they dun have a new one, how is the new Civic VTI-S? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger156 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Civic VTI-S is 1.7 liter, producing 134hp @ 6300rpm, with 155Nm @ 4800rpm, and priced at S$83k. Good on paper, but do not really have the kind of oommpphh. Design department is let down, with nothing changed over so many years. But, hey, for that amount of money, it's still a very good buy for that sort of power. I like the good old SIR, especially the 3-door, which is chio. However, that's passe...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Author Share February 4, 2004 Mini Cooper S? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger156 Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 Ay bro, supercharged leh.... S$128k man!!! Got that amount of money I would buy (not in order of preference): 1. 156 JTS (if only singapore has) 2. Integra Type R 3. WRX 4. Airtrek Turbo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Author Share February 4, 2004 Yes, but you were talking about 1.6l cars, expensive or not. Because for my money i wouldn't get either the 147 or Mini... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maniax Neutral Newbie February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 I personally have got the exact model you tested, albeit I changed the stock 15inch wheels for 16 inch selespeed rims sold by many 156 owners for $500. The screeching sound is totally gone, and there is definitely much more grip, and ride quality is not really sacrificed either. I have to agree with you on the gearchange, its a pain to shift quickly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Author Share February 4, 2004 Interesting, so in your opinion, the tyres aren't to blame? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 bro, this week which day? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear February 4, 2004 Share February 4, 2004 why pain to shift gear????nvr understand that one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...