Soya Supersonic January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 Toying wif the idea of adding a bonnet scoop (same size and location as the bugeye rex one) to help cool down the engine. However, the location where the scoop will sit is where the turbo pipe and manifold is, near the bulkhead (see pix below). Wondering if that's gonna cause any problems when water gets in thru the scoop and hits the HOT pipes? Expert advice, anyone?? Btw, anyone knows how Evo overcomes the water problem coz the scoop sits on top of the engine itself? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 (edited) I think vents would be more appropriate.. Enhancing your cooling system should be more beneficial than putting scoops or vents actually Edited January 27, 2004 by Magfocus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2004 Author Share January 27, 2004 the scoop is kinda like a vent, i guess. since the car is under warranty for another 2 yrs, not planning to replace any parts as yet. juz that the engine bay is very hot, (still feels hot sometimes even after parked for 3 hrs in the evening) and thot i'd give it some breathing room. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 How about some pipes that channel cool air from the front grill?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2004 Author Share January 27, 2004 thot of that but no space to pipe anything in. somemore the intercooler is located behind the radiator. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 hmm..but adding scoops looks er..beng leh but since its designed as such, it should be alright as it is correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 is dat also coz of cosmetic reason? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2004 Author Share January 27, 2004 dunno if will look beng or not. that's why i'm considering a smaller scoop from the bugeye. anyway, it's juz part of a crazy makeover plan i dreamt of during a boring meeting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 "...dunno if will look beng or not. that's....." Eh pls la....leave it as is..first we have a EVO spoiler on S60...now this.. I tell u, the swedish meatballs will cry liao.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 Yeah, the scoop from my model onwards looks quite excessive must have been one boring meeting.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 "... been one boring meeting.. " Believe me.....ideas come wild....during meetings...but they are totally irrelevant to the meetings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic January 27, 2004 Author Share January 27, 2004 dun give me other crazy ideas ok? to complete the makeover, i may hv to stick on a GT wing too..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 Ask yer EVO friends to show you...but gd idea and while you're at it, add in a huge GT Wing and pre-spoiler before your existing spoiler... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 "...complete the makeover, i may hv to stick on a GT wing too..... " Man...urs will then be the VoEvo...instead ot VoLvo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 Yeah, but to think of a bonnet scoop for a Volvo.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 "..bonnet scoop for a Volvo.. " Must have been a RAD-ical meeting to provoke such RAD-ical changes to his ride... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 Must leave the T4 alone, works best as a "Q' car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator January 27, 2004 Share January 27, 2004 With some ORANGE decals by the side?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...