80 members have voted

1. 1.

• Huper Optik
    • V-Kool
    • Cool n Lite
    • Others

Hi All

Just wanted some indications on which window tinting in SG is the best in terms of looks and heat prevention..Thanks! [thumbsup]

This is subjective. Factors to consider are price [usually most impt factor], colour of the tint, max protection provided from heat/UV/infrared, needing to use 2 pieces of film for certain models of car for the windscreens, needing to cut a hole for the ERP IU, scratch resistant, number of years warranty etc.

Products like V-Kool [metallic oxide based] and Huper Optic [ceramic based] sell themselves as heat reflective films and the other chemical based films as heat absorption films. General warranty varies between products, from 5-7 years.

You will need to cut holes for the ERP unit when using V-Kool or Huper Optik. Also depending on the curvature of the windscreen, some films might need to be attached on in 2 pieces instead of one whole piece.

If your car tends to be in the sun more often or if you drive up NS a lot, then getting a film with max protection would be a good idea. Otherwise, a cheaper film with a lower VLT [Visible light Transmission] level would suffice.

Do note that window films only cuts down the amount of heat/UV/infrared radiation that gets into the car, it doesnt block it out totally. So the car will still be hot if you leave it out in the sun for a long period of time.

For LTA regluations, your front windscreen and 2 front side wondows have to be at least 70% VLT and the rear windscreen and 2 rear side windows have to be at least 50% VLT.

Some contact details of the various types of films and shops are listed in the RESOURCES folder here.

--> http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi...iew&post=178784

Cheers tongue.gif

Edited by Assassin

thanks for the info bro! thumbsup.gif

actually im kinda looking for something dark...not too concern abt the heat thing coz i dun really park outdoors..its more for the looks..nod.gif however..i think being LTA compliant at the same time is preferred...any recommendations?

cheers

Not yet but gonna do it next month.

My sis's A class is using it.

You can call 90623447 look for a Dennis Teo.

Just tell him discoburg introduce you to him.

I DO NOT GET ANY COMMISSION OR ANYTHING OUT OF THIS!

thanks for the info bro! thumbsup.gif

actually im kinda looking for something dark...not too concern abt the heat thing coz i dun really park outdoors..its more for the looks..nod.gif however..i think being LTA compliant at the same time is preferred...any recommendations?

cheers

If its something dark...and cheaper than HO and V-Kool...then you can try Ray Barrier ~S$650, or Nanolux which is cheaper. You can also try other brands like Thermal Guard. nod.gif

Cheers tongue.gif

I'm not sure about those. One concern is if they are scratch resistant ? Coz for some windows that keep winding up and down...sekali kena vertical lines if a small stone gets caught in between the window and the film. sweatdrop.gif

True hor... thanks anyway. Thinkning and getting alot of feedbacks to get the tint done in MY. What do you think? Most of the films there are not so-called legal right?

Unless they [the window film shops in MY] have tint meters also to measure the tint levels of the car...then you can be sure that you're within LTA limits. So there is no guarantee that it'll be legal if done in MY...unless its a reputable brand that you already know the tint levels are the same as those sold here in SG. nod.gif But as far as I know...only a handful of shops here in SG have the tint meters. sweatdrop.gif