Yansen Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 hi, would like to find out if the gearbox fluid affects the ease with which the gears can be changed, ie the smoothness of transition of gears to allow faster gear changes for more fluid motion of the car. for my presea, i find the gear knob abit hard to put into the respective slots. machiam alot of resistance. this is compared to other cars ive driven. so wld like to know if its necessary to change the gearbox fluid. many thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 If you have no history of the last gear box oil change (if it was ever changed at all), changing the oil now may make the gear changes smoother. However, that is if the condition of the gears are not too worn out already. IMO, it's worthwhile changing the oil first. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Author Share January 24, 2004 yeah ure right ive no idea when it was changed b4 as i got the car not too long ago. k thanx i'll be heading 4 the mechanic soon hmm if lets say the gears r too worn out, does it mean a complete gearbox overhaul?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaymz21 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 i've the same problem as u... very difficult to engage 1st gear and reverse gear... and i mean VERY difficult. so i changed my transmission fluid... end result? 1st and 2nd gear now intermittently difficult to engage... sometimes damn easy, others DAMN HARD... worse than b4 i changed the fluid.. although the reverse gear shifting seemed to have improved.. not much grinding sound when i engage reverse now.. very weird problem... somehow, i think $$ gonna again.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 Uhm.........don't think it's that serious. BTW, what's the mileage? Just change the oil and see what happen first lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Author Share January 24, 2004 wah serious ah?? lidat how? to change or not to change? haha my problem is mainly with 2nd gear lah, although sometimes when car moving very slowy n no power already, wanna down from 2nd to 1st is really damn difficult man. so sometimes like stuck momentarily in traffic. haha..reverse gear problem also. sometimes just cant seems to engage it although the reverse lights light up but its actually in neutral. damn sian man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Author Share January 24, 2004 haha i hope not too.. the mileage is 180++ K km, which is not bad for a 12 yr old car.. ok thanx i'l go consult mr mechanic see how Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaymz21 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 i think we r encountering a similar problem... but like wat mike said, change ur transmission fluid first and see... its the cheapest way... if that doesnt work, then start to worry abt ur wallet thickness... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Author Share January 24, 2004 hehe i scared like u, change liao even worse Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaymz21 Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 haha...i think lan lan lar... since urs is an old car, juz change the trans fluid first... be brave! if get worse like mine, then i lend u my shoulder lar... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bcyn Neutral Newbie January 24, 2004 Share January 24, 2004 actually how much is a gear fluid change arh? may i know... thanks a million. maybe u can try adjusting your clutch cable? it might help.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 sounds like your syncro rings are gonez Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 try the mobile gear fluid, its good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 Quote haha i hope not too.. the mileage is 180++ K km, which is not bad for a 12 yr old car.. ok thanx i'l go consult mr mechanic see how 180K..........it has served its master(s) long enough lah. Maybe time for some parts replacement. I always believe that if you treat your car well, it will be reciprocated. Cannot have the mentality of 'if it ain't broken, don't fix'! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaymz21 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 few bux onli...think including labour, under 20. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaymz21 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 and how much would these syncro rings cost me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 IF its really gonez, you need to overhaul the gearbox....probably like 300-400 lor.....i suggest you change fluid first lah. the symtoms of the mesh gonez is you try to down shift, for example 4 to 3 or 3 to 2 and you really have problem engaging, then that is the sign to spend money..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jaymz21 Neutral Newbie January 25, 2004 Share January 25, 2004 (edited) as in the earlier posts abv, i already changed my fluid less than 1K ago. symptoms r still there if not worse.. but overhaul gearbox onli 300-400 nia meh? i tot 1-2K or something man... i have no problems engaging when downshifting.. main problems r 1) when in neutral going to 1st OR 2nd, very difficult. resistance level of stick going into the position damn high. 2) when from 1st go to 2nd, very difficult. resistance as abv. 3) from 2nd go to 1st difficult. 4) sometimes cannot engage reverse, need to release and step clutch again 5) engaging reverse sometimes will yield a grinding sound. abt 3-4 out of 10 tries. that's abt it lor.. from 2nd - 3rd , 3rd to 4th, 4th to 5th all ok.. no problems upshifting and downshifting for those gears. Edited January 25, 2004 by Jaymz21 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...