Repairs for Jammed Brake

Super7

They are SHITs!!!....

My previous ride kena accident, bring to them...done up everything....sprayed..but never apply rubber sealant on joints of welding...den RUSTED...

Anyway..that incident is the catalyst for the luv with my current babe...

For safety, the best option it to replace the the caliper, piston and seals. Since the car is already 30 years old.Your chance of getting new or re-cond repalcements is very slim. The best option is to rebuilt the caliper (need honing and polishing process) and get new piston and seals. Once you have settle this problem, remember to flush your brake system as the possible cause for your brake failure is comtaminated brake fluid with high concentrated % of water.

Happy searching and good luck

Well, check the price first as sometimes, servicing cost as much as changing a new caliper...somemore your car so old liao....

hmmm..... yahor, i will get a quote for it... thanks smile.gif

need to see the damage to the caliper first, sometime just have to replace the rubber sealant (Caliper Piston repair kit), provided they still have for your model sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif I presume for the Celica, right wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

i think whichever workshop i eventually use, i will watch how they do it and see the damage with my own eyes. smile.gifsmile.gif ....... thanks

you might wan to try this , remove the brake pads push the caliper piston out a little by applying (pumping) the brake pedal and observe which side of the piston is jammed or sticky........ than apply some brake fluid over the piston and push it back with a spanner or screw driver do this a few times maybe will help, especially for old car if not try to get hold of set of caliper repair kit and get it service.

thanks for the info, i find it very useful for a novice like me thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif, i am sure some 'lau chiaos' here also feel the same, thanks laugh.giflaugh.gif

For safety, the best option it to replace the the caliper, piston and seals. Since the car is already 30 years old.Your chance of getting new or re-cond repalcements is very slim. The best option is to rebuilt the caliper (need honing and polishing process) and get new piston and seals. Once you have settle this problem, remember to flush your brake system as the possible cause for your brake failure is comtaminated brake fluid with high concentrated % of water.

Happy searching and good luck

yup, agree that for safety i should not be counting every cent, what i need is someone who can do a good job but dun over charge me smile.gifthumbsup.gif

Edited by Super7

i think whichever workshop i eventually use, i will watch how they do it and see the damage with my own eyes. smile.gifsmile.gif ....... thanks

make it a habit to hang around when they are doing the job nod.gifnod.gifnod.gif unless it's normal oil servicing wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif