Repairs for Jammed Brake

Super7

My passenger's side front brake appears to have jammed ie car pulls to the left on straight road and the rim smells and gets hot.....sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif

the workshop said may need to change caliper!!! ........ you guys think they are trying to rip me off??.... i tot jammed brake only needs re-adjustment nia, where got must change caliper one?? dizzy.gifdizzy.gif

i told them wait for my instruction first before they proceed!!

Many thanks in advance for your advicesmile.gifsmile.gif

they kept saying must change even before they start to look at it.......... so i am holding back and dun even leave the car at their workshop.....

Hi

May just need to have the front brake service.

Clean and replace oil seal for the pump.

Unless the inside of the pump is too rustly, then need to change the caliper.

(Need to open up to know if the caliper is too rust to be use)

There is no adjustment for disk brake as it is self-adjusting .

Hope this link helps to explain

auto.howstuffworks.com/disc-brake.htm

Edited by Starlet

need to see the damage to the caliper first, sometime just have to replace the rubber sealant (Caliper Piston repair kit), provided they still have for your model sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif I presume for the Celica, right wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

Bring to Lai Huat (Meng Kee). They are good with these kind of stuff and won't rip you off on it. They have good workmanship (but priced a bit more than others). But at least the owner there is a good fellow to go to get a good idea of what's wrong with your car without being ripped off.

Just head to Lai Huat (Meng Kee) Motor Pte Ltd Blk 21 Sin Ming Ind Est Sec A #01-58, Tel : 6453 8110

Just tell Jason over there that Colin Teo (the guy with the Silver-turn-Black Vios in his workshop told you to go there)

Well, check the price first as sometimes, servicing cost as much as changing a new caliper...somemore your car so old liao....

was just asking this workshop near my house, but since they are lidat, i will go further to check around....

you might wan to try this , remove the brake pads push the caliper piston out a little by applying (pumping) the brake pedal and observe which side of the piston is jammed or sticky........ than apply some brake fluid over the piston and push it back with a spanner or screw driver do this a few times maybe will help, especially for old car if not try to get hold of set of caliper repair kit and get it service.