Kardachia Neutral Newbie January 10, 2004 Share January 10, 2004 Any guys/gals out there has DIY own window films (NANOLUX or the like). Can share some comments and experiences. Any advise against DIY-ing your own window film are also welcome. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 11, 2004 Share January 11, 2004 better don't DIY Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Waipor Neutral Newbie January 11, 2004 Share January 11, 2004 vtim is right, helped my friend DIY the film before, ended up damn fxxking ugly, the bubbles all over the windows. but if u want to try, here's some tips 1. do it on a hot day, so that after application, and when it cools down a bit, the film will contract and most bubbles will go away 2. when applying on the side windows, start pasting from the bottom and work your way up. also when removing bubbles start from bottom. that way the bubbles will be pushed to top and the air will just go away at the edge 3. for the front and back windshield start from the top then the ugly bubbles will be pushed to the bottom where is less obvious. i may be wrong cos i botched a DIY job so better go pay a little $$$ and make it look good. i believe some one may have cheap lobang to get it done in jb. hope this helps Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie January 11, 2004 Author Share January 11, 2004 thanks waipor and vtim for the advice. On the average, how long does it take to install the film by a local authorised installer, anyone? Do you guys who send your car for the installation stay throughout the job? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 11, 2004 Share January 11, 2004 hi, it takes a couple of hours and if you have the time, you can stay. I am planning to go MY to do it on wednesday. will let you know the results Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie January 11, 2004 Author Share January 11, 2004 thanks S2P2. appreciate it, and hope you get a good deal and a well done job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie January 11, 2004 Share January 11, 2004 just hope no rain lor..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie January 11, 2004 Author Share January 11, 2004 do you have a specific brand in mind? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 12, 2004 Share January 12, 2004 Yup.. stayed throughout the installation. takes about 2~3 hours., Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie January 12, 2004 Author Share January 12, 2004 (edited) I guess by doing that, can ensure that the workshop ppl treat your car 'better' hor. BTW, what brand did u intall, how's it so far? Edited January 12, 2004 by Kardachia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 12, 2004 Share January 12, 2004 Can't remember the brand of the one I use, but another car used Sun-Cool and so far so good. no complaint.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie January 12, 2004 Share January 12, 2004 JB Sun-Cool??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 12, 2004 Share January 12, 2004 There is Sun-cool, Sun Guard.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie January 12, 2004 Author Share January 12, 2004 (edited) Saw on Ray-Barrier web site and classified ad few days ago that if install their film, get free gift of e-cooler. Will installing e-cooler void car warranty? Edited January 12, 2004 by Kardachia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 13, 2004 Share January 13, 2004 Am not sure about that... best to check with your agent. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...