Correct Rim size

Rock

Hi

Anyone else driving a Honda stream. Think I got the wrong rim size.....mine is

17 x 8J fitted with 214/45/17 tires.....I think its too wide and it contributes to having heavier unsprung weight. Would a 17 x 7J rims size be better?...cause I just realize its quite hard for me to stop the car in emergency situation. I dun want to downgrade to 16"....cause I prefer the on-rails effect when taking corners...any thoughts.?

Upgrading to larger (hence heavier) wheels do affect performance and braking due to the additional rotational mass the engine and brakes have to deal with. If you want big rims and not affect performance by too much, look for light weight rims to compensate else there's no other way out. Sometimes, it may be necessary for suspension mod just so to cope with the bigger wheels as some stock suspension cannot take a +2 upgrade and the ride would be harsher.

215 should be fine. For the additional metal you're carrying, I think its fine. Are you driving the 2L or the 1.7L?

If its 1.7L then I think its going to be abit heavy. When you swing maximum to the left or right, do you hear the type grinding against something?

Once heard that this may happen if you get a wider tyre that what your car can handle.

I'm driving a 00 Civic with 16" 205/45. So for you, 215 is justifiable because of the size of Stream.

Why dun you think abt getting better brake pads and ventilated rotors to improve braking performance? I wouldn't change my rims, unless you are sick of them already?

Just my thoughts.....

Hi

Mine is the 1.7L stream.

The rim size/offset is fine...does scrape the body....my only grouse is that my

braking ability is a bit compromised....find it difficult to stop the car when in emergency situation from a fast pace....

Could not find better rotors for the stream yet...maybe too new for the aftermarket guys. The funny thing is that most tire shops I visited...all tell me the same thing, since your car is MPV....cannot get too light rims...cause it cannot take the weight.

Now, I am toying between downgrading to 16" or changing to a 17" x 7J rim.

Fren, driving Stream still want to corner on-rails ah?!!! [laugh][laugh][laugh] Looks like you got the wrong car leh!!! JK! [:p] Anyway, I've heard the Stream handles more like a saloon than a MPV.

If the tyres scrape the wings a bit, you can go to a panel beater and roll up the inner side of the wings a bit. That should solve your problem. The braking problem could be due to the heavier rims. Wider tyres should benefit more due to a larger contact patch.

Do you know what's the weight of your rims? What's the kerb weight of your Stream? The 17" SL should be able to take 1500kg.

hey mike....

maybe i got the wrong car...hehe. but i got tired of driving saloon cars, and wanted something diff where I can sit higher and look down on ther cars....got advantages u know...can see more legs in the other cars esp at traffic lights...

....haha....that why ended up with the stream.

my current 17 x 8J rims are fine...dun scrape the body...only thing i feel that the width is too wide...therefore make the rims heavy, and my 215/45 series tires on the 8J rims now look like 40 series tires....

The cars curb weight is something like 1345kg, but with ICE and if 4 passengers...

can easily go over 1500kg limit. So i think the superlegs are out....

Went down to leong seng...on sat...got a few recommendations....first, he showed me a set of enkei rims (BBS lookalike) thats quite light 7.5 kg for 17"...dark gun smoke colour but a bit ex at $350. Then he showed me 2 taiwan rims....a new 5zigen

model (got 6 U shape spokes) but at $280, i thought quite ex too for taiwan rims and quite heavy too....i think closer to 9-10kg. Then there is a set of RM rims, 5 spoke with polished edges but got studs to look like 3 piece rim...but quite light...maybe also around 7.5kg and cheap too...$220.

So now I am confused...should i go for cheap and light taiwan RM rims, or more ex and heavier taiwan rims. Does 2 kg per rim makes alot of difference in handling, consumption and acceleration??

There were other brands, fondmetal and OZ....but they were heavier than the taiwan RM rims.....

I oso decided to go with the Kumhos....cheap and good...dont care about noise...afterall, after removing the cat-conv and ICE....who cares about tire noise already right??

Well, all I know is the higher you sit, the more you roll! [laugh][laugh][laugh]

Pardon me for being ignorant, but is your Stream a full MPV with 7 seats or something more like the Scenic with 5 seats? Your kerb weight is very light at 1345kg, just 95 kg more than my babe. If it's a 5 seater, there should be no problem with rims like SL. Maybe not for 7 seater as the gross weight might be an extra 150 - 250 kgs, fully loaded.

Since your kerb weight is 1345kg and your engine is 1.7L, I really feel that a set heavier rims will really bog the car down especially from a standing acceleration. Any extra 1kg on each rim over the stock rims means an additional 4 kg of unsprung weight. Anything more than 10 kg can be felt. Not to mention more rolling resistance with fatter tyres.

Why don't you check the SLs load rating first?

Just my $0.02.

Saw a Stream up close today and yes, it's a seven seater. Another thing you can do is to check your car's max leaden weight from your manual and see whether the rims weight index can match it.

Rock

What's your review on the 1.7L Stream?

Do you have the gear shift mounted on your dash or on the floor?

And how much did you pay for it? From KM or Dealer? [idea]

[gossip][nod]

Hi Mike

You certainly are quick.

Yes...it's a 7-seater. And if I do load it up with 7 adults, then it will

probably exceed the rims weight index. I think will go for the cheaper

taiwanese alternative...otherwise got to indent, wait....and wait.

thanks Mike....

Hi Autodiy

Mine is a JDM 1.7L steam...so the main difference is that the hand-brake is

actually a foot-operate brake....in the position where the clutch pedal normally is.

Yes, the auto gear shift is mounted on the dash, much like the current civics.

My review of the car?....power is ok for 1.7L model with about 4 adults. Load it up

with 7 and it will begin to feel very underpowered. Since this is only a 4 speed auto,

the gear ratios are quite close....to keep the rpm up, nearer to the vtec range....end result is that power delivery is good at the expense of fuel consumption. Handling is quite good too...for a mini-MPV. I can exit out of the expressways at close to 100 km/h with some body roll (on standard springs/shocks)...but without losing grip.

But like the current civics...if you go over bumps, you will find the car does not absorb bumps over well....rear tends to float. I paid $105K for PI...at that time....now a new only costs only $94K...

Hey...is yours the ES civic...just wondering if your front brake pads are similar to mine...cause I want to change to Mintex.

Had an ES (2001 Civic if I am not wrong) once and the braking wasn't as responsive as what I am having now, a EK (2000 Civic if I am not wrong).

Checked with the KM mechanics and they said that it is like that. You need to press the brakes real hard to get the result.

Changing of brake pads will definitely improve braking and produce less brake dust. Next best thing is to change the rotors.

Looking at Stream in my next vehicle as my family is going to increase by one soon. A good excuse to change to a bigger one.

The 2.0L Stream has about 156 horses and a 5-speed auto transmission. I think your 1.7L has 130 horses, that's why I am asking for your review.

Hi Autodiy

Aha...another one for the wagon gang.

If I had more $$, would have gone for the 2L...

But compared to the others...1.8L zafira, 1.8L primacy...etc, the 1.7L stream feels

more powerful. Also find the cutover to vtec very seamless....quite smooth....no sudden outburst of power.

If u wanna test it out first before getting one...lemme know. I can let u have a spin in it....