Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 6, 2004 Author Share January 6, 2004 Maintenance is a certain amount per month. But the petrol is using petrol card so there's not really limit here. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 ok lah, mazda resale not that high....so if you get second hand mazda still not too hefty. haha......you wait a while lor, my friend got a 6mth old protege thinking of changing when mazda 3 arrives......so when mazda 3 arrives i let you know if he wants to sell his. maybe by then you will have gotten 1 already. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 6, 2004 Author Share January 6, 2004 Is his a Sports model? Wat colour? How's the car like? Ard how much? Mazda 3 coming out ard late tis mth or early next. Confirm from the sales. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 In your case, can I assume it is a new job? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 6, 2004 Author Share January 6, 2004 Yup it's a new job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 Then, it is really more wiser to get a 2nd second... hopefully something whereby the selling price is near to its paper value... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 errrh, there's no sports model leh. what i understand is there are 2 versions of 323. 1 with the protege and the other without. The protege version (more sporty one) is meant for US market while the earlier version (without the protege) is Jap market I think. his is the protege version. black. How much I don't know. Cos he just said something like he can see whether to trade in for the Mazda 3 when it is available in singapore. so i did not really ask him Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 6, 2004 Author Share January 6, 2004 Thnk tat's the one I eyeing. The colour also the one I wanted. Is the brake light casing clear and the fog lights are round? Hope when he sells the price also the one I wanted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 (edited) if i not wrong the brake light casing is not clear and the fog lamps are not round. hmm, maybe there indeed is a sports model or maybe the model you saw is a modded one? I don't know if you can wait or not. But what price you looking at? His car COE quite high $29K (if i don't remember wrongly) and 6-7months old only. Edited January 6, 2004 by Acemundo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bibill 1st Gear January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 1. Looks like you can get 100% loan even better right? You need quite a good salary to get a 100% loan. But 100% means you need to drive the car at least for 4-5 years to be safe to break even. 2. Get 3 years old car. Most car just 3 years old already fall off its steep depreciation curve. So at least you don't lose too much. 3. For 3 years old car, watch the mileage. If mileage not too high, and the car is not from PI, then it is most likely maintained by original car manufacturer. Unless the fellow void waranty, then very difficult to say. 4. Most important of all, get reliable car agents to help you. I know some of us will say there are NO reliable and trustworthy car agents as they would want to gobble you up anytime, but I believe there are still those who wants an honest trade. So look for them slowly. 5. If you have no preferences of car, then get a car that can break even very easily. Buy a car very near paper value, it is possible now when market is not that upbeat. 6. NEVER RUSH INTO BUYING A CAR, ESP A 2ND HAND. Don't be tricked, for most saloon can be found almost anywhere else. Wait and wait, and buy your time to pick the right choice. At least you will not be thinking of selling after 6 months (sure lugi!). Just my neng jiam. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 6, 2004 Author Share January 6, 2004 There's a sports model. It's not modded. How much would he be selling? I will need to own a car in 3 mths time. So it's actually quite some time. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged January 6, 2004 Share January 6, 2004 ok let me chk with him when the new mazda 3 is available in singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 7, 2004 Author Share January 7, 2004 Juz checking. Even if buying 2nd hand cars also need to pay ard $5k for the transfer fee, insurance, etc? In that case might as well get a new car. Correct me if I'm wrong. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bibill 1st Gear January 7, 2004 Share January 7, 2004 Transfer fee varies for car. Some is around 800++, some around 1100++, some even higher. Insurance depends on your PCD, age, work (indoor,outdoor), car model(Honda Civic more expensive than say, Corolla, because of perception). Zao chia all very ex....hehehe...turbo chia ho say liao...pay pay pay... For a new license (<1 year), yes, 100% loan still mean forking out 5-6k. Don't be surprised some insurance companies don't even want to issue any insurance for triangle-plate drivers! Yes, this might mean after you have a license, still you cannot drive certain cars, because u cannot get insurance. I hope the situation has gone better now. For new car, you pay downpayment PLUS insurance PLUS road tax and stuff like that...so you still pay more...but really...if you can afford to down some money do so, as it would allow you flexibility to change or forego car in near future. Even buy 2nd hand, unless you are really really tight like me, down a bit should always be better. At the end of the day, the more loan you take, the more interest you are paying. Even at 2.6% interest, you will be surprised how much money you are paying just for interest! So do your calculation and make the best move. Just my neng jiam. Hope it helps! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie January 7, 2004 Share January 7, 2004 Welcome to MCF Enjoy ur stay here and join our weekly meetup on fridays Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Deathsythe Neutral Newbie January 8, 2004 Author Share January 8, 2004 So rarely how much he selling and how much need to fork out? Is the car manual? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 9, 2004 Share January 9, 2004 My advice is ; Listen to your wallet when buying a car, not friends. agree with you bro, with current economy situations, better listern to wallet Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear January 9, 2004 Share January 9, 2004 Wah like siong manz , every month pay credit card till siao tell me about it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...