Insulating the e68

Jaymz21

anyone here tried insulating it wif thermal wrap or similar? perhaps it would give slightly better performance?

Edited by Jaymz21

I had mine installed at the front of the car - just behind the grille and before the radiator - so it's kinda already at the coolest spot possible - maybe you can try that too ?

Important thing is to get cooler air in - dun think the air stays there long enough to get really heated by the E68 materials.

Edited by Modeldriver

thats a good place... rite now its juz beside my cone filter in the middle so its drawing hot air.. temp position until tmr when i going down to the workshop to find a better spot for it. but for the car, dismantling the grille very leychey...must source for alternative spot.

btw, i'll go look for those thermal foam but any idea where sell? those DIY shops got or not?

Send Andrewkb a PM - he might be able to help source for the thermal foam.

If you thought dismantling grille on your car is hard, wait till you try a Stream - they had to take out the whole bumper to place the E68s.

same boat man... my pajero mini also must remove bumper PLUS the bull bar leh.. then can even get to the grille lor...

I had mine installed at the front of the car - just behind the grille and before the radiator - so it's kinda already at the coolest spot possible - maybe you can try that too ?

Important thing is to get cooler air in - dun think the air stays there long enough to get really heated by the E68 materials.

If you wash your car at the petrol station(hand wash) will it suck in water? If it doesn't than it will be the best place. [thumbsup]

thanks for the location... will go check it out when i have the time...

btw, i tot it should be at a 45degree angle facing the ground? saw it on a website...

if thts the case, wont it be difficult to service and clean the filter or foam that comes with it or is the E68 operating without any filter?

Nah... I think the sucking in is really when you rev the engine... besides, if there's a problem when you drive in the rain it's already going to be a problem !

You can try the shops listed in the RESOURCES folder under the THERMAL/SOUND INSULATION thread here --> http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=180195;sb=post_latest_reply;so=ASC;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;;page=un

read#unread://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...=un

read#unread

The shops that the bros have mentioned are NorthEast and Res-Air. nod.gif

Cheers tongue.gif