Official Tyre Reviews Thread

Zrun

I am shopping for performance tires, so, I think it is a good idea to post your experiences with certain brand of tires. Maybe put this as sticky.

As a guideline, please keep this as a REFERENCE only thread, and post your reviews only, so that people can find things quickly. Avoid chit chating posts.

Tire: Goodyear Eagle RS-A (All season(sucks) tire)

Size: 205/55/16

Rating: (forgot)

Driving style: Average to aggressive

Dry: Fair, tire breaks away easily on less than perfect road.

Wet: Fair to bad. Tire spins easily on full throttle. Hydroplane resistant thread.

Snow: No traction.

Tread life: Seems to be very long lasting due to hard compound.

Price: (Comes with the car)

Where to get: N/A

km used: 25000km

Recommendation: Lousy tire overall, estimate to last around 4 years. Not recommend.

[inline "Goodyear eagle rs-ajpg.jpg"]

post-60-1071858570_thumb.jpg

Edited by Assassin

Tire: Falken ZE-326

Size: 195/50/15

Dry: Okie, acceptable level.

Wet: Fair to bad (quite jialart)

Tread life: Seems to be very long lasting, only 10~15% wear.

km used: 15000km

Recommendation: Lousy tire overall.

[inline "Falken ZIEX ZE326.jpg"]

post-60-1072072180_thumb.jpg

Edited by Assassin

Tire: Michelin Pilot sport

Tyre Type: Max Performance / Ultra High Performance / High Performance / Comfort

Size: 205/55/16

Price: S$250/each

Driving style: Aggressive / Average / Mild

Dry: Excellent / Very Good / Good / Average / Below Average

Wet: Excellent / Very Good [slight aquaplaning from >100km/h] / Good / Average / Below Average

Noise Level: Squeals when turning around in MSCPs because of the sticky tyre compound. Relatively [to me] noisy. Also depends on sound proofing of the car.

Tread life: Treadwear rating of 220. Can last up to about 35,000km - 40,000km.

km used: 25,000km

UTOG Rating: AA/AA/220

Tyre Pressure: 220psi

Where to get: All authorised Michelin tyre shops

Recommendation: Excellent tyre, very grippy.

[inline "Michelin Pilot Sport.gif"]

post-60-1072454139_thumb.gif

Edited by Assassin

Tire: Potenza RE040 (OEM on some cars)

Tyre Type: / High Performance

Size: 205/55/16 ZR

Price: S$180/each

Driving style: Aggressive / Average

Dry: Excellent / Very Good

Wet: Excellent / Very Good [slight aquaplaning from >100km/h] / Good, Progressive breakaway in the wet, not shocking as you know its giving up on grip

Noise Level: Squeals when turning around in MSCPs because of the sticky tyre compound. Quite noisy on certain surfaces. Also depends on sound proofing of the car.

Tread life: Treadwear rating of 140. Can last up to about 20,000km.

Km used: 13,000km

UTOG Rating: AA/AA/140

Where to get: All authorised Bridgestone tyre shops

Recommendation: Excellent tyre, very grippy, value for money.

[inline "Bridgestone Potenza RE040.jpg"]

Edited by Assassin

Tire: BF Goodrich G-Force Sport

Tyre Type: Performance

Size: 195/50/R15

Price: S$85 each

Driving style: Average

Dry: Excellent ...

Wet: Excellent ... no aquaplanning on NSH at 130 kph in wet with exception to standing water but it cuts better than the previous Michelins I used.

Noise Level: A wee bit noisy due to thread design. Car soundproofing sucks.

Tread life: No idea.

Km used : 15 000 km

Where to get: All authorised BF tyre shops

Recommendation: Excellent tyre, at a good price too. Made in Thailand though

[inline "BF Goodrich GForce Sport.jpg"]

post-60-1072767062_thumb.jpg

Edited by Assassin

my 225/55-17 are going botak soon, so i am looking for good tyres at slightly above average price range:- safety is important, so good grip is what i am looking for (in both wet/dry conditions, but especially wet conditions), at the same time, hopefully they are not too noisy (i know these two properties usually dun go hand in hand, so i will accept some kind of compromise between them with the first being more important).....

thanking you for advice in advance.... smile.gifsmile.gif

Edited by Super7

my 225/55-17 are going botak soon, so i am looking for good tyres at slightly above average price range:- safety is important, so good grip is what i am looking for (in both wet/dry conditions, but especially wet conditions), at the same time, hopefully they are not too noisy (i know these two properties usually dun go hand in hand, so i will accept some kind of compromise between them with the first being more important).....

712 lah ! thumbsup.gif

Erh??? Many 712 supporter here but why not review leh ??

Edited by Raptor

ya, seriously considering 712 smile.gifsmile.gifsmile.gif ........ have not sat in a car with 712 so i am not sure if the noise is really bad (dun want wife to nag, coz that will be even more noisy than the tyressweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif)

has anyone compared ES100 with 712 in terms of grip/noise??? .... do they cost about the same?? smile.gifsmile.gif

Many thanks

Tire: Toyo Proxes T1-S

Tyre Type: Max Performance / Ultra High Performance / High Performance / Comfort

Size: 205/50ZR17

Price: Got it with rims during exhibition (but heard its about S$180)

Car Set up: 2000cc FWD, Curb Weight:1500kg, strut bar, original suspension

Driving style: Aggressive (on corner, wet condition) / Average / Mild

Dry: Excellent / Very Good (CTE to TPE tunnel, outer lane; gripped at 100km/h)/Good / Average / Below Average

Wet: Excellent / Very Good / Good (slight aquaplaning about 80km/h)/ Average / Below Average

Noise Level: Squeals on gloss surface carpark. Slightly noisy (depends on insulation quality of the car)

Tread life: Treadwear rating of 220

km used: 20,000 km

UTOG Rating: Dont know

Where to get: Ubi (Main Distributor), Bendeemer

Other Comments: If you are into performance and with some moola to let go, this is a very good Jap made tyre to get

Recommendation: Buy

[inline "Toyo Proxes T1S.jpg"]

post-60-1072779233_thumb.jpg

Edited by Assassin

Tire: Kumho 712 Supra (Made in Korea)

Tyre Type: High Performance - Cat A

Size: 215/45 VR17 & 205/40 VR17

Price: 15" @ $70-80, 16" @ $90, 17" @ $115-120, 18" @ $180

Car Set up: 2000cc 4WD, Curb Weight:1300kg - WRX V5 & 1600cc, FWD, Curb weight:1050kg - Peugeot 206XS

Driving style: Average - Aggressive

Dry: Very Good - good enough for both street and track use

Wet: Good (slight aquaplaning about 100km/h), tends to activate ABS easily on wet road in hard braking

Noise Level: Squeals on gloss surface carpark. Slightly noisy (due to tyre design and depends on insulation quality of the car)

Tread life: Treadwear rating of 280

km used: 10,000-15,000 km(with street & track use), 7000km(still using)

Where to get: Ubi (Main Distributor), Yap brothers and other authorised Kumho distributors

Other Comments: If you are into performance and dont want to pay more than a CAT B tyre, this is a very good alternative to get, with this price who can complain...

Recommendation: Buy & use again & again

[inline "Kumho 712.jpg"]

post-60-1072780017_thumb.jpg

Edited by Assassin

I dont know about Proxes, I believe the Toyos are very good tyres...but if you have a direct comparison of size to size then i believe Kumho will provide a better ride coz the tyre wall is relatively soft.... [nod]

But ultimately I believe in getting a good set of tyres for your car, it is the only contact your car has with the road and it is the last line of defence in stopping the car. Tyres are like running shoes, no point have a powerful heart, legs and lungs if you dont wear the proper and right shoes to do a sprint or run. [nod][sly]

Edited by Wrxblue

Tire: Korea Nexen N-2000

Size: 195/55/15

(Thread look then nice ,like F1 eagle)

Thread Wear: 340

Traction:AA

Dry: average to quite good,make a lof of noise when taking corner

Wet: F*&Kup,longer braking distance

Tread life: Due to thread wear at 340,compound may hardend

km used: 3000k

Recommendation: for 70 dollar per tire,cannot complain la

One more thing same as kumho,Soft side wall

for money and noraml useage,can consider this tire

[inline "Nexen N2000.jpg"]

post-60-1072780867_thumb.jpg

Edited by Assassin

thanking you for advice in advance.... smile.gifsmile.gif

You've got PM. tongue.gif

You might want to start a new thread on this and continue from there as I would be cleaning up this thread soon to keep it clean as a reference thread. nod.gif

Edited by Assassin

Tire: Kumho 712 Supra (Made in Korea)

Tyre Type: High Performance - Cat A

Size: 215/45 VR17 & 205/40 VR17

Price: 15" @ $70-80, 16" @ $90, 17" @ $115-120, 18" @ $180

Car Set up: 2000cc 4WD, Curb Weight:1300kg - WRX V5 & 1600cc, FWD, Curb weight:1050kg - Peugeot 206XS

Driving style: Average - Aggressive

Dry: Very Good - good enough for both street and track use

Wet: Good (slight aquaplaning about 100km/h), tends to activate ABS easily on wet road in hard braking

Noise Level: Squeals on gloss surface carpark. Slightly noisy (due to tyre design and depends on insulation quality of the car)

Tread life: Treadwear rating of 280

km used: 10,000-15,000 km(with street & track use), 7000km(still using)

Where to get: Ubi (Main Distributor), Yap brothers and other authorised Kumho distributors

Other Comments: If you are into performance and dont want to pay more than a CAT B tyre, this is a very good alternative to get, with this price who can complain...

Recommendation: Buy & use again & again

soft sidewall: ok for suv like airtrek??? thanks smile.gifsmile.gif