Sound proofing spray

Den88

Hi all,

Can i know if anyone have tried before a type of spray that we use to spray under the car so that it acts like an anti-rust coating and also have a sound proofing effect.

I think is something like bitumen spray.

Can I know where to buy and how much?

Thanks [:)][:)][:)]

Used to use that on my 25yr old Mini. Its really more of rust proofing than sound proofing.

Sound penetrates a cabin in 2 ways... reverberation and absorbtion.

Reverberation is the vibration of components or bodywork resulting in a humiing noise usually low frequency. Absorbtion is the penetration of sound usualy transmitted through thin panels or cervices.

To eliminate reverberation, you need dampening sheets usually bitumen based that is rather heavy/dense. Absorbtion can be reduced usually by using a semi rigid open cell tyre of PE based foam, much like then insulation foam.

The spray does not really help in either departments.

You seems quite "determine" to try.

Some folks did tell me they it works. Maybe it's my old ears, can't tell the difference.

I still got one more can in my trunk. Bought from Carre4 for $8.50. You can come collect for $8. PM me [thumbsup]

Point to note, tuff-cote actually comes with sound clad(sound proof), at least for hyundai cars. But the sound clad like nothing, I just renewed the coating, LPPL.

Tuff-cute got another package$$$$ called the sound clad plus - suppose to be 3 inch or so thicker.

Tuff kote is more for rush-proofing. It does not really have any soundproofing properties (if i am not wrong). It could be just that after spraying the metal surface, the additional layer makes it thicker and hence less metal vibration and a lower tone, which is also negligible.

Edited by Michel

Hi DEN88,

Yes, I tried it, 4 cans for my Honda JAZZ's wheel arches and parts or the undercarriage. SE did not agree to free Tuff-Kote and wanted to charge S$280 for KAHSHIELD(dealer's version of rustproofing). The lao chiao's at MCF says waste of good money since our local roads not salted...etc. But since I drive up north often, I DIYed with GDIzen's feedback. IMO, these rubberised sprays are more for keeping corrosion at bay than to soundproof your ride. Soundproofing need additional Bitumen sheets(heavy) to Accumat(light) in addition to good comfort tyres, thicker car shell insulations and window panes I think. Even Tuff-Kote's soundclad also recommends added sheetings leh! No moola, so all neber do or DIY. CHEERS!

Sorry overstated.

I got the brochure now.

Tuff-cote does comes with sound clad......I renewed my coat and it's stated in the tuff-cote servicing book that I was given.

Sound-Clad plus is using 1.5mm damping sheets.

Life is getting better. [thumbsup]

Tuff Kote comes with sound-clad. Speaking from experience. I just renewed my coating and the lady says Tuff-Kote comes with Sound-Clad! CONFIRM [thumbsup]

How to use easily?

I dun want to take out car seat to lay floor board and dunno how to take apart the door to DIY.

Beside pasting over my ears, any suggestions [idea]

No lah .. earplugs is the easiest [:p]

As for the bitumen and aramflex foam, can do at the carpark here [;)]

In fact, my collegue got his car and we stripped his at the carpark here [;)]

These are the remaining .. he bought too much and willing to let go cheap.

You can see his car if you want.

To take apart the door is chicken feet .. I've taken out mine more than 10 times ... sound proof, change speakers, amendment etc ...

Hi Andrew,

How much bitumen n aramflex has your friend left, and how much he is selling?

You say very cheap ah?? [laugh][jawdrop][jawdrop][jawdrop]