What do you think of Daihatsu?

Kelpie

Hi there,

1. Daihatsu is in the business of making compact cars and Industrial engines. It seems to be a subsi of Toyota (correct me if I'm wrong).

2. It may not be a popular brand here but do you guys have any experience driving or test drive a daihatsu before?

3. I'm torn between buying a nice looking 2 years old Focus versus a new Extol MPV. I thought the Van-like Daihatsu Extol has its beauty and it is cost effective to ferry 7 fellows. On the other hand;based on the comments here;Kia Carens is a thirsty car. Hence, is not an option.

4. I read from a web articule that, if you don't earn $7000 a month, you are in no business to own a car in Singapore. Monthly car expenses (loan, insurance and etc) should not be more than 10% of your monthly income too. This leaves me with very little option but to go for a cheaper alternative.

5. Perhaps you guy know of other new Jap/Conti MPV that cost less than 70K?

Please advise.

Thank you.

Regards.

How about the Suzuki Ignis Sports? Not too ex with plenty of fun! [thumbsup] Compact car though.

As for the amount of money going to the car, I'd put the limit as 20% of the pay, beyond that would be tough. Of course, the lower the percentage, the better. At 10%, you'd be very comfortable. I limit myself to 10%-13%.

$7000 a month can own a decent car already lah. Just do your sums and buy according to your comfort level. Work out how much/how long you are willing to pay for the monthly installation and you can project what's the amount you can borrow. Current interest rate for 2nd hand cars is 2.6-2.7%. From there, you will have a pretty good idea what you can afford.

70K for a conti/Jap MPV? Pretty difficult but maybe can get a 2 year plus Nissan Prairie for slightly over that.

there is a new toyota 7 seater called sienta which is only 1.5litre. I think it is the same engine as the Vios and Corolla. 110bhp but only Richburg brings it in. Can take a look quite cute one.

In the mid 90s, I drove a friend's GTTi when he was away in Vietnam on business .... can never forget the exhilirating experience. Totally awesome car ... too powerful but I am not complaining. thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Scrap to the metal yard oredi bigcry.gifbigcry.gif

focus goodz.........so you saying we all here high earner lah.........i think only S7 and Mikey earns that kind of money or more......right guys lipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.giflipsrsealed.gif

if you think singaporeans will wait till they earn 7k before heading out to a car showroom, just look at the number of new cars on the roads nowadays...

don't forget, in singapore, 80-odd % earn less than 4k... so wouldn't our roads be darn lightly-loaded... [dead][dead]

if 7k income onli can buy car, gahmen wun need to relax downpayment, & extend loan to 10yrs liao. SG road would be almost empty and ERP no business given that 80% of S'preans earn below 4k.

back to your question, 2yr old Focus vs new Extol. if u need to seat 7, dun think the extol is gonna do a half decent job. might as well buy a used MPV.

Hi, How about comparing Volvo S60 & Audi A4 2.0?

Which is better interms of fuel consumption? Maintainance? Which one is perceived as higher class?

Any comments about these two models?