Gunzy 4th Gear December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 Hi all, finally decided to get 2nd car instead... Hence would like to seek bros/sis's help for lobangs on used cars(direct from owner)? (preferably ard 3 to 5 yrs old parf cars) Is there any other forums that I can search on? Or any good dealers to recommend? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 what type of car you looking for? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear December 16, 2003 Author Share December 16, 2003 oops forgot abt that..kekeke umm, budget cars(1.5 or 1.6 auto) with reasonable depreciation such as sunny Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 hehe....what's considered reasonable depn? actually for resale with good depn, continental or korean car (as i was discussing with one fellow forumer in private) is a good choice. but of course, some people are dead against conti car so you need to be more specific about your priorities. anyway, resale jap car (especially with good resale value ones like toyota and maybe sunny {guess only cos i never made enquiry on sunny}usually got higher depn) i can pm one resale car dealer though.....not sure if i can give you over this thread. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear December 16, 2003 Author Share December 16, 2003 thx bro! got ur pm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 say earlier mah.....pass u my car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear December 16, 2003 Author Share December 16, 2003 oh...busy reading up to decide leh...i also juz saw that u are changing ur ride Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 yah lor.....you say early i pass the car to you as it is......set up liao. but a bit too late lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear December 16, 2003 Author Share December 16, 2003 nvm lah, see if others got lobangs or not lor..else will go to the dealer then Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junjie 1st Gear December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 (edited) Hi Gunzy, Me looking at 2nd hand car too. Previously, suppose to be taking over my friend's 5yrs old lancer, however I was told that, if its'not through dealers, may have a hard time getting a loan from finance company or insurance. Is it true? Morever, was told that if taking loan for 2nd hand car w/o dealers lobang, the finance company require at least 30% downpayment.Any advise? By the way, any dealer to recommend. (PS, what do PM mean? Can pm me the dealer too, ha , me still new , bit sotong!! ) Cheerios Edited December 16, 2003 by Junjie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 to a certain extent, it is true. but the 30% thing may no longer be true since MAS has opened that up. but the problem can still be solved, some people are willing to help with some money of coz...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gunzy 4th Gear December 16, 2003 Author Share December 16, 2003 Hi junjie, actually i'm also a newbie too...been reading up nearly 2 weeks for info on buying cars too but still quite blur.. dun see me so up anyway, i think u can juz source ard for resale cars 1st, the loan and transfer part can worry later until u found 1 that u really like lor.. shouldn't be too difficult since there are so many lao jiao bros who can give us advices If not, can also go straight to dealers lor..juz that we need to find a reliable and wun tok us so much $$$ one btw pm is private message rite?else u wont ask me to pm u rite? yah i think u can also pm acemundo PS:guess i'm more sotong than ya!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junjie 1st Gear December 16, 2003 Share December 16, 2003 frankly speaking, wouldn't mind paying some form of service charge to get thing done , if someone can do it. Anyone to recommend, can pm me? To all the bros out there, if anyone have any lobangs/advise on 2nd hand car, loan fr fiance company, insurance, or anyone ever purchase direct from owner, possible to let me know how to go about it, etc., please kindly keep me posted. Millions thansk in advance... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slim Neutral Newbie December 17, 2003 Share December 17, 2003 (edited) i just got my car from a owner direct recently and found it is actually pretty straight forward. My steps were basically... 1) Search and view cars ...quite siong but fun.... 2) discuss with friends, MCF if ok, good or terrible deal (non essential but recommended) 3) check vehicle PARF, COE, Transfer fees at LTA webbie. also check for insurance and calculate vehicle depreciation and "agar-agar" total montly cost of maintaining car...again this step is not essential if you have DEEP pockets 4) source for finance coy, best loan interest rate....(most calling here, also quite siong) SO... Once you have decided to deal direct with the owner, you go source for finance coys or banks for the best interest rates. The finance broker coy i found JV's leasing did the transfer for me, and he was helpful to put at ease our minds during the transaction period, pretty professional. (though i can't vouch if it is the best rates now... ) insurance i got a friend who works in a general insurance broker coy so i got thru her , but JV's was saying they can do that too... my experience....PM me for their contact. Edited December 17, 2003 by Slim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kelpie 2nd Gear December 17, 2003 Share December 17, 2003 Hi there, 1. But if the downpayment is significant, correspondingly, you pay less per month based on the load period. You should not commit more than 20% of your monthly income on car expenses (loan, insurance and etc.). 10% would be ideal but fewer this achieve according to some recent feedback here. 2. I think many here has advised against longer loan period such as a 10 year loan if you're getting a new car. Regards. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Junjie 1st Gear December 17, 2003 Share December 17, 2003 (edited) Hi Bro, U got lobang in car insurance, can pm me the contact? Me also like Gunzy, looking at 2nd hand car but not sure how to go abt it if buying directly from owner. if engage sevice of a broker, what is rough amt we need to pay for his service? Hi Slim, posted pm to u, hope you got it, thanks in advance... Cheerios Edited December 17, 2003 by Junjie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2003 Share December 18, 2003 err......i don't have insurance lobang......look for guyver instead. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged December 18, 2003 Share December 18, 2003 there's good and bad about buying direct from owners. good - price attractive and they usually not so expert about hiding the defects. bad - do paperwork yourselves and might kena fraudster. to mitigate the fraudster risk, do not let him step into car on his own and always insist on a money/cashier's order than cheque....... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...