Mustang 1st Gear July 14, 2013 Share July 14, 2013 Ouch,Second hand right?Well my ex Civic Esi also same.Buy from shop with 3 years plus left COE.Previous owner Ah beng.After 2 months all hell break loose,Ever overheat at Melaka,Ac compressor failed during jams at custom.Engine leak etc then send it to scrapyard.My previous Toyota Starlet GT is better than that.Although I'm using saga BLM and co share Exora still I find it quite reliable although engine is not perfect as Jap makes.Parts are cheaper and only knowledge and luck you do servicing at Jb.Wear n tear is normal but not to the extend breakdown at highways/customs.Ive spend more than sgd2.6k repair that civic in sg not to mention minor parts Ive replace. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustang 1st Gear July 14, 2013 Share July 14, 2013 oh and i had a CS3 in 2006... COE car... when i first got the car i spend sgd4k in 3-4 months on repairs... Did full servicing: coolant, engine oil, spark plugs, clutch plate, gearbox oil, brake oil, brake pads, power steering oil.. total cost almost sgd500... Then changed timing belt, water pump, alternator belt and one more belt that cost me sgd1.2k Then after that aircon compressor died, did the whole same time as Alternator and some belt pulley, not sure if one or two of the belt pulley spoil, change whole set spoil... total damage at that workshop was sgd3k+.. the pulley is cheap but labour very ex.... pay and pay... not funny sia hhahaha later on drive shaft, wheel bearing, disc rotors all had to change one by one...... etc... siong ah.... it didnt feel like a CS3 was cheap to upkeep though its a wira brother hahahaa Bro where u stay?Im at Tampines maybe one day teh Tarik?Got a forumers name shameer using gen2 stay at Pasir Ris maybe can teh Tarik together?Anything what's app 91460056 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 14, 2013 Share July 14, 2013 I jus saw your eo I blur Liao, I only use a eo 30$sgd Lexus oil . Tks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 14, 2013 Share July 14, 2013 Sb ex after I read on your post Original Japan MIT pad only 60$ in Sg Timing belt package change only 100 sgd labour 400+ rm is crazy Jb got cheaper Ws but maybe u wrong one N ur ride is saga man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 (edited) Sb ex after I read on your post Original Japan MIT pad only 60$ in Sg Timing belt package change only 100 sgd labour 400+ rm is crazy Jb got cheaper Ws but maybe u wrong one N ur ride is saga man Motul Engine oil at RM180 is not ex if you know how much motul is selliNg in SG... in JB, most of the workshop i go carry motul, shell, mobil... those kind of oil comes with a premium.. even the shops i send my other cars to in sg workshop are those who carry your usual mobil, shell, idemstu, motul engine oil.. AD is quite annoying cos u gotta use what they carry. i believe your E.O is bought in 5 litres bottle then you price it per servicing? or its those you purchase from supermarkets or autobacs? Mobil semi synth in JB cost rm72, Shell Helix rm57.. i still think its reasonable and i can well afford so why not... Im glad i bought a Proton and not an Altis when i was doing a selection 4 yrs back... nobody wants to steal a msian made cars when there are so many other cars on the road... msian made cars reported stolen are usually those who cant pay instalment claim insurance or those who offended someone so they decide to steal the car... for export or selling nobody will take a proton or perodua... Glad i didnt buy Altis if not i will be very worried when everyone is away haha..... So even if its just a Proton, i dun see why cos its just a proton then you stinge on the car if you want it to serve you well, just my thought... Timing belt with alternator belt and water pump, i am very sure you cant get it for sgd100 with labour, share with us the workshop in sg and we buy you kopi... timing belt, alternator belt and water pump with labour all in is about sgd170-175 after conversion, i am pretty sure you cant get this pricing in sg... timing belt only yes... labour in sg is abt sgd40-120 for changing of parts, engine oil labour range from $10-20... i dun think you can get 3 items plus labour for all 3 at sgd100 or even sgd170.. waterpump is a bitch to change.... Saga cant use MIT brake pads... Original pads is rm40-100 (90 being changed at Proton itself) and the cheaper is buyiNg of parts and change and the middle range is changing at workshop... Exchange is 1 to RM2.48 (i usually base on 2.4 for easy calculation purpose) JB got one workshop cheaper... my friend's used to go there.... change one thing, another thing will spoil... cos the parts they use are rubbish and the things that do, workmanship not so good.... Engine Oil change rm10 for labour only... troubleshoot also dunno how.. my friend's wheel bearing was going faulty, the fellow say its gearbox, cost rm2k to replace, new with labour... when i brought him to my workshop, they drive one round at the carpark say wheelbearing, one side rm90... it might not be cheapest in jb, but ok lah, not very ex and we can afford plus workmanship is good... my jb regular workshop tyre alignment is only rm15 for four wheel alignment... most is two wheel... most workshop dun have tyre alignment need to go tyre shops... my workshop does track cars so they need the equipment for those track customers.... there are some servicing i do in proton and some i do outside wkshop... my saga is in my hometown in ipoh, the price is not a big gap in ipoh and jb, though ipoh is a little cheaper... major service i will bring it to JB to do... I have 3 Opels in the home, all 3 goes to AD to do and even their mechs and our friends who are mechs.. (i have friends who are mechanics in SG my classmates, my dad's friends), they have advised us to do msian made cars in JB cos the JBians are very familiar with these cars and parts can easily get there... in SG, even the spark plugs workshops here give are slightly oversized... if u do a full service overall savings from our strong currency exchange, the savings is still quite a fair bit.. but for me, it simple, if the price justify the workmanship i dun mind.. like i dun mind paying rm180 for motul with labour at my workshop and its motul, just like my friends they dun mind paying even more for OWS or redline... Fun facts: perodua engine mounting cost as much as a Vios or Latio mounting... its annoying and till now i dunno why a msia car mounting is so ex... well, you gain some and you lose some... the perks to owning a msia car is some parts are ex but most parts are cheaper and all parts are easily available... if you have workshop with cheaper rates and good workmanship, share with us... dun come here write comments then dun share leh... buy u kopi in jb or in sg if you williNg to bring us to the workshop Edited July 15, 2013 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Bro where u stay?Im at Tampines maybe one day teh Tarik?Got a forumers name shameer using gen2 stay at Pasir Ris maybe can teh Tarik together?Anything what's app 91460056 im over at siglap :) can kopi anytime... will msg u my number Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meganut 2nd Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 (edited) Ouch,Second hand right?Well my ex Civic Esi also same.Buy from shop with 3 years plus left COE.Previous owner Ah beng.After 2 months all hell break loose,Ever overheat at Melaka,Ac compressor failed during jams at custom.Engine leak etc then send it to scrapyard.My previous Toyota Starlet GT is better than that.Although I'm using saga BLM and co share Exora still I find it quite reliable although engine is not perfect as Jap makes.Parts are cheaper and only knowledge and luck you do servicing at Jb.Wear n tear is normal but not to the extend breakdown at highways/customs.Ive spend more than sgd2.6k repair that civic in sg not to mention minor parts Ive replace. Yup... we had a Opel, Ford Laser and CS3... the CS3 is very jialiat... then changed the Ford to a Getz and CS3 to an Optra... so much better... The ford we shld have bought the Focus, the laser very drinker and the Getz is worse but servicing not as bad as the laser... the worst of the lot was the CS3 maybe cos it was old and the spare parts was ex then... Till today, the most jialiat car we own was the CS3... bought the car initially wanted to see if can modify to play with our friends in msia end up so much problem... its a very nice and fun car to drive, quite a good car, but jialiat is the repairs.. cos take turn to spoil very time consuming besides being ex... if only it wasnt old and well kept by previous ah beng owners Edited July 15, 2013 by Meganut Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustang 1st Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 One word of advice,Those driving VW or other makes that Malaysian seldom use pls just do your normal Svc or repair in sg only cause most of the Malaysian mechanics don't have the skills to troubleshoot them. Models that they're familiar is only those Thai made Toyotas/Hondas beside Protons/Peroduas.If you insist on it pls go to their authorized dealers only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holy_sniper Neutral Newbie July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 hi fellow protonians.. i was an old member here until my original nick holysniper got banned. anyway the price meganut quoted is abt there except for the disc rotor, which i think cost 240/pair for mine.. the major servicing package at 400rm includes alot of things like waterpump etc.. you can find slight cheaper( tens of rm cheaper only) at smaller shops.. anyway for servicing, i can recommend 1 workshop at permas jaya. You can find more close-knitted gen2 members in FB.. Gen2 Club SG. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Bro where u stay?Im at Tampines maybe one day teh Tarik?Got a forumers name shameer using gen2 stay at Pasir Ris maybe can teh Tarik together?Anything what's app 91460056 Me lah.. My name Syaheer.... And I drive Persona... Hehehe... Can Whatsapp me @ 92477222 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Tks. Hv paid deposit n getting car tmr... Care to go JB sometime to service up the car together? Cos long time nvr go n quite lost.. Haha Can go with me Bro... I got a very good ws in Permas Jaya.... PM me or whatsapp me @ 92477222 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Sorry I never read properly, too many words I tot u say 400 rm labour My bad, my 100 sgd is labour for changing all the timing belt package Seems like u got a good price Maybe brake pad too ex as u say sun is it N ya ur motul oil maybe very good I use only normal STD toyota Oem oil for my normal car So I not comparing apple to apple then My bad Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Holy_sniper Neutral Newbie July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Sorry I never read properly, too many words I tot u say 400 rm labour My bad, my 100 sgd is labour for changing all the timing belt package Seems like u got a good price Maybe brake pad too ex as u say sun is it N ya ur motul oil maybe very good I use only normal STD toyota Oem oil for my normal car So I not comparing apple to apple then My bad Cheers time to downgrade my engine oil.. been using $90+ engine oil and changing at 7~8k km.. lol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 time to downgrade my engine oil.. been using $90+ engine oil and changing at 7~8k km.. lol If a camry uses this oil I dun see y my bnb car can't use Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Last x I oso duno y so stupid used 100+ kic for my cs3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustang 1st Gear July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Me lah.. My name Syaheer.... And I drive Persona... Hehehe... Can Whatsapp me @ 92477222 Haha I think I saw u b4 at Psr.Ive lost ur no,Yours is SGZ right? Btw I saw 1 white opc SJH Saga BLM @ Blk 412 Tampines and 1 normal plate Silver saga at blk 23x. Why don't we formed a sg proton club rather than 1 make?Basically our 1.3/1.6 all Campro mah and the only difference is either normal,Iafm or CPS.Ive also co shared a white Exora with my bro in law.If I need it to haul my family I just use and he will use my saga instead.Normal days I just ride my bike to werk and that's the reason why I converted my saga to opc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whereisretro Neutral Newbie July 15, 2013 Share July 15, 2013 Tks bro.. Will sms u in time to come.. Now busy with house moving.. Maybe in Aug... Tks man.. My hp is 90024775 Can go with me Bro... I got a very good ws in Permas Jaya.... PM me or whatsapp me @ 92477222 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Syaheerbmw 3rd Gear July 16, 2013 Share July 16, 2013 Haha I think I saw u b4 at Psr.Ive lost ur no,Yours is SGZ right? Btw I saw 1 white opc SJH Saga BLM @ Blk 412 Tampines and 1 normal plate Silver saga at blk 23x. Why don't we formed a sg proton club rather than 1 make?Basically our 1.3/1.6 all Campro mah and the only difference is either normal,Iafm or CPS.Ive also co shared a white Exora with my bro in law.If I need it to haul my family I just use and he will use my saga instead.Normal days I just ride my bike to werk and that's the reason why I converted my saga to opc. Yup.. SGZ.. The only Electric Blue Persona around... Actually the Gen2 Club is meant for also Persona & Satria Neo... I'll see if the committee would be able to accept Saga & Exora also.. There were plans last time to actually accept all Proton/CamPro, will see how is it.. The club has been established quite long, so a lot of connections and heritage.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...