VW Microbus headed for production

Seansene

Volkswagen AG officially announced that the Microbus will be put into production with a targeted release in 2005. Dr. Bernd Pischetsrieder, Chairman of the Board of Management Volkswagen AG, said: "Having reviewed the economic requirements for building the Microbus in the Group, we have come to the conclusion that, based on the 5000 x 5000 project and a thorough restructuring of the Hanover site, the conditions are good." The 5000 x 5000 project refers to a unique plan whereby Volkswagen will employ 5,000 people for a gross wage of DM 5,000.

Volkswagen claims it has its sites set on a new segment - "a MPV combining striking design and high functionality with the comfort of a limousine. Dr. Pischetsrieder emphasized that "with the Microbus, a legend begun some 50 years ago when the first VW bus left the production line here is now returning to Hanover. The VW bus was never just a means of transport, it has always been an emotive cult object. The public's reaction at motor shows combined with the findings of market studies already show us that the Microbus design has a spontaneous appeal, and that the vehicle will follow in the footsteps of its successful predecessor."

This announcement ends months of speculation surrounding the actual decision to build the Microbus. Dr. Pischetsrieder was reportedly a Microbus supporter but platform considerations made it difficult to move forward. In the U.S. market the Minivan segment is largely dominated by car-based platform minivans, whereas building the Microbus in Hanover dictates using a truck platform. Indeed it will be interesting to see how Volkswagen manages to remove the truck-like character of the T5 commercial platform the Microbus will be built on along with the higher costs of building the vehicle in Hanover versus other locations.

Volkswagen is shooting for a 2005 model year introduction of the Microbus and expects to sell approximately 100,000 units per year, largely in the U.S. market.

post-22-1028008256_thumb.jpg

post-22-1028008257_thumb.jpg

You really like it that much, huh ? Well, I know of this person who's got the original - care to make him an offer....?

wah lau, dun know how to restore it lah. VW bug still can lah, but the van dun know.

seriously would love to have it, the distintive sound of the engine, yummy!!!

Ai-yah....VW bug, VW van, all sama-sama, one lah....same engine, similar layout, different shell, equally distinct air-cooled noise....can one lah..... [laugh]

Btw, fyi, it's currently in a faded pale-blue shade..... [;)]

Really ? Did you make the owner an offer ? [gossip]

Btw, since we're on classis Bugs, saw this Karmann-Ghia Beetle a couple of days ago....what really amazed me was that it was actually working.. [shocked] ...and sounded quite good, too, air-cooled rear-mounted lump and all.... [thumbsup]

Owner not there, only saw the workers working on the body work before re-painting. I will let my bro know about this as he mentioned few years back that he would be interested to have one and convert the back seat area into a lounge [thumbsup] and may be put a subaru boxer engine in there [;)] (lots of aussies do this conversion in their beetles) , he used to have a nice bettle for years, fully restored [:)]

Karmann-Ghia Beetle? the coupe or the beetle? i just saw one beetle two days ago: very big muffler, rear light changed to some slim horizontal light clusters (very unusual i must say), fully flared wheel arches............... wonder how the owner got it pass vicom test?

Edited by Ysfoo

Oops...sorry, I meant the Coupe - pre-lunch brain slowdown. As for souped-up Beetle's, I've seen a purple one on the road with pretty interesting oversized mufflers and wondered the same thing about getting past the Vicom inspection, too. Then again, heard some of the inspection ppl don't know what they're really looking at.... [:p]

And, oh, btw, I don't supposed you tagged the VW bus with an MCF tag....?

The Ghia coupe is a real classic [thumbsup] . btw, saw a Volvo 1800s (a two door coupe) this afternoon, but i think the Karman coupe looks better IMHO [;)]

talking about MCF decal, can i still buy some? I missed the 'first launch'.

Foo

Was it a white P1800 ? Honestly, I'd be hard-pressed in deciding which one looks better.

And, oh, btw, on my way home yesterday, I saw a classic silver 300SL convertible - the one from which the legendary 300SL gullwing came....it was like WOW !Extremely impressed by it's immaculate condition...... [shocked]

Edited by Renegade

yes, it's a white 1800s.

I also saw in the same workshop where the Kombi was an open top 300SL being restored, it's actually quite 'big size'! The workers had stripped it to bare metal and was doing the re-plastering on that day.

hehehe, the Karman coupe has nicer curves [;)][:p] , the 1800s has cute little tail lights and a bit of fins at the rear too... at least we won't be fighting for the same car [thumbsup] since our tastes are not 100% the same [laugh][laugh]

cheers

MCF t-shirt will make me a better driver. [laugh][laugh] ... are you selling the 'turbo' badge on your brick's engine cover seperately? it will make my engine stronger [thumbsup] ................. sorry, this is pre-lunch empty stomach syndrome [bounce2]

Our tastes will never be 100% the same - I'm too indecisive.... [dizzy]

Even if I were not, shallow pockets will ensure I never end up fighting with you for a car..... [:/]

Edited by Renegade