Sync Neutral Newbie December 4, 2003 Share December 4, 2003 So after contemplating on the Matrix and having a joyride with loads of other cars during my test drive days in a search of a new first car, I finally settled on a 1.6 Auto Waja, and have paid my first month deposit on it. Waja feels like a Continental wannabe, and it's a Malaysian, there's no forum for it, so I guess I post here I'll be getting it in two weeks time, and have signed/sold my soul, arms and legs to the bank. I've added leather seats to it, thrown in TuffKote and System6 (paint sealant thingy), still contemplating on the TuffKool option (is that a good/useful item to add?). So my question is this: What does one need to do to ensure that the car will be in tip top condition in the years to come? Anything that I need to add to my (soon to come) car? Things to take note of? Advise? So many questions, just don't know what to ask. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 4, 2003 Share December 4, 2003 The best lesson to learn is by word of mouth and from the experience of the old birds here who have owned more than 3 cars. My advice is :- Its a never-ending learning process. There is much to tell you. Vital requirements :- For Looks 1) Get a good car shampoo and wax. 2) Leather seats : Get a good leather conditioner. For engine 1) Use the best engine oil as recommended by your manual. 2) Make sure you go for the recommended oil change intervals. 3) Avoid stop-go traffic wherever possible 4) Avoid waiting in car with engine on if waiting for more than 2 minutes. Wah !! Many things ... why dun u come down to one of our meetups at Bishan and we can communicate there. Talking is always easier. Hope to see you very very soon .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remygenn Neutral Newbie December 4, 2003 Share December 4, 2003 Congrats bro .. dun forget to post ur new ride here okie . What color is it ? Mine is green Btw .. what makes u choose over an auto over a manual ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie December 4, 2003 Author Share December 4, 2003 Quote For engine1) Use the best engine oil as recommended by your manual. 2) Make sure you go for the recommended oil change intervals. I believe I'd do this religiously just to keep the engine smooth (had no probs with synthetic oils on my bike, with regular change of course, no doubt car is different). Quote 3) Avoid stop-go traffic wherever possible Like almost impossible leh, especially when going home from work. Quote 4) Avoid waiting in car with engine on if waiting for more than 2 minutes. I thought most traffic lights are over two minutes? What's the reasoning behind this? I've seen pple do this everytime, and when I was in NS, our squad car will be left on for a long time while we are sleeping inside Quote Wah !! Many things ... why dun u come down to one of our meetups at Bishan and we can communicate there. Talking is always easier. I would really love to, but I thought the meetups are at a family unfriendly time (Friday nights @ 9:30 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie December 4, 2003 Author Share December 4, 2003 Mine would be the blandly common silver If I want green, I'd have to wait until February. I chose auto because I like the convenience. I did drive the manual and really love its raw power and the control I get, ultimately, I've seen my cousins struggle over the handbrake-clutch-biting-point-accel combination when driving up the causeway.. It's not gonna be me. I know there are downsides to auto, but ultimately, I would be much happier with an auto. This is of course, just my own opinion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 I thought most traffic lights are over two minutes? No most lights are under 2 minutes ... its because of this , cause fuel consumption goes up when car is at idle , not to mention you are doing the engine no good at all. No point going religiously for oil change when u like to idle for more than 2 minutes. In the long run ... u suffer Bring the family along lah ... most of our members do ... with wives, gfs and also their kids. MCF members mostly family man .... can hardly get a BOYRACER in the group. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 "I believe I'd do this religiously just to keep the engine smooth (had no probs with synthetic oils on my bike, with regular change of course, no doubt car is different). " Hi, I am not wrong, read somewhere from the magazines, and from other forums, first 5-10K km, you can just use the mineral, since you would change the oil soon as you would wan the debris from the "running in" to be drained out of the system. Would have thought the syn oil would be used later, as the syn oil's primary purposes are to extend the oil change interval, and to clean the engine better (thats why more expensive). Let the thicker mineral oil adjust the pistons first as they would be tight (or tighter initially...) Also.. dun rev the engine too hard.., just my $0.02..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
E36UDM Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 Congrats on your soon to be ride Like what Hitman said, try and join us for meetups lor There will be somebody there at 7.30 though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 (edited) wow, congrats on getting ur waja soon! i like this car too for it's handling, don't pray pray with lotus tuned handling anyway, how much is a waja now? too bad sg car is expensive, else a 1.8 waja would be perfect with the added gadgets like air bags, fuzzy logic auto tranny, cruise control, engine immobilizer and VVT engine is these options available for 1.6?? Edited December 5, 2003 by En0203 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 can hardly get a BOYRACER in the group but but many uncle racers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Author Share December 5, 2003 Quote Bring the family along lah ... most of our members do ... with wives, gfs and also their kids. MCF members mostly family man .... can hardly get a BOYRACER in the group.I'll try to see if it's possible. Right now I got a hyper 9 months old daughter which everyone forbids us to go out after maghrib (evening) unless absolutely necessary Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Author Share December 5, 2003 Quote too bad sg car is expensive, else a 1.8 waja would be perfect with the added gadgets like air bags, fuzzy logic auto tranny, cruise control, engine immobilizer and VVT engineAll that you mentioned are either options or not available on the 1.6 . 1.6 is @ $68,800, and the 1.8 is > $78K I think. After much calculations, I figured that I absolutely cannot have me living on Maggee for the next few years, and feed my baby condensed milk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 mmm.. then i'll rather get a jap car at 78k anyway, 68k for a 1.6L car with spacious interior sounds good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Author Share December 5, 2003 Quote I am not wrong, read somewhere from the magazines, and from other forums, first 5-10K km, you can just use the mineral, since you would change the oil soon as you would wan the debris from the "running in" to be drained out of the system. just my $0.02..... I'll keep that in mind, can save money a bit :) BTW, anyone with advice on 'running in', and is there a need to warm up car for ten minutes? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sync Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Author Share December 5, 2003 Quote anyway, 68k for a 1.6L car with spacious interior sounds good That was what I was thinking too :) It's the reason why I wanted a matrix in the first place, but wasn't quite sure of its durability, you see lots of pple selling their matrix after one or two years, donno why. That, and also the fact that Waja made me feel like a king, without the premium :) I do not really like the external looks of the car, but inside is where I'll be most of the time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 Hi SYNC, Congrats on your new ride. Not sure about the newer model. But 1.6 is still on Mit Engine, right? There is no doubt that the feeling of the car is just great! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remygenn Neutral Newbie December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 I do not really like the external looks of the car, but inside is where I'll be most of the time Well .. u can make some mods to the exterior of the car if u wish . U will sure come across one on the road here in SG Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear December 5, 2003 Share December 5, 2003 That was what I was thinking too :) It's the reason why I wanted a matrix in the first place, but wasn't quite sure of its durability, you see lots of pple selling their matrix after one or two years, donno why. That, and also the fact that Waja made me feel like a king, without the premium :) I do not really like the external looks of the car, but inside is where I'll be most of the time good move since a waja would save u more on petrol + cheaper maintenance in long run in fact i find the external look of waja quite good ler and some car magazine actually commented that the lotus tune handling are better than cxxxcs one ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...