Michelin Pilot Preceda

Steven

Was scouting for a set of tyre & the dealer strongly recommended the Preceda (Made In Thailand). Price was $10 > than the Bridgestone GR80 ($95). Any comments on the Preceda?

SL

"Hi,

Was scouting for a set of tyre & the dealer strongly recommended the Preceda (Made In Thailand). Price was $10 > than the Bridgestone GR80 ($95). Any comments on the Preceda?

SL "

Some were saying that the MXV8 are made in Thailand also. But the ones that I got from Khai Wah are made in Japan. Was told by Khai Wah the 'made in thailand' ones are 'floating' in the market, but they only carry the Japanese ones.... so maybe you can go check them out. They sound more reliable than dodgy.....

Edited by Audiorook

Hey Man, welcome to MCF,

I had me Preceda installed about 2 months ago, mine was made in Japan though. For my size the price is $160 and got it at Leong Seng. I was contemplating between the S03 and the Preceda but settled for the Preceda because is it cheaper. S03 cost about $190.

As compared to my previous tires which is are Good Year NCT5 it is a vast improvement. The noise level is very and also the comfort level is quite high. Handling wise I have yet to push it but feel very stable at high speed and also in the wet feel very comfortable.

Happy Hunting. [thumbsup]

Thanks for the feedback.

My tyre belongs to the 60 series & according to the dealer, is only made in Thailand. Don't know whether is there difference in quality between Japs maKe & Thai make?

"Thanks for the feedback.

My tyre belongs to the 60 series & according to the dealer, is only made in Thailand. Don't know whether is there difference in quality between Japs maKe & Thai make? "

On the country of make... suppose it is similar (not totally similar) to why the Vios and Citys are priced differently from the Corollas and Civics.... or maybe just the 'psychological' factor....

Or even better... compare the difference in pricing and quality of the Jap-made Sony Wegas and the Msia-made Sony Wegas ... really up to individual.....

Just my $0.20....

[lipsrsealed]

Give Khai Wah a call - Fred Goh - 62926700.

They have claimed that their Michelins are "made in Japan".....

TEST them...

Edited by Audiorook

The guy at a tire shop told me that Thai made tires are more suited (than Jap ones) for tropical countries, like Singapore. I was a bit skeptical as the Thai Michelins are cheaper some more. Cheaper and better, sure or not? But he seems quite earnest about it...

In that case, we should just buy Vios and City and not buy the Jap made Civics, and the German made Mercs.... [laugh]

Edited by Audiorook

Had a bad experience with thai made michelins about 10 years back. Car skidded and hit the front car during dry weather and on dry road. Since then have always stick to japanese made tyres and did not have the same problem as before.

One expensive lesson which I have learn is not to go for cheap tyres. Therefore no thai or malaysian make tyres ever again. Not sure about korean, though.

In that case, we should just buy Vios and City and not buy the Jap made Civics, and the German made Mercs.... [laugh]

Yeah, and cannot buy the Malaysian made INTEL CPU! [laugh]

"

In that case, we should just buy Vios and City and not buy the Jap made Civics, and the German made Mercs....

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Yeah, and cannot buy the Malaysian made INTEL CPU! "

What I had try to say was going by your tyre shop's theory that we should buy the Thai tyres as they are made for tropical climates (ie Singapore), and not buy the Japan made ones as they are not made for tropical climates. So, if that is true, then we cannot buy the jap-made civics, but have to buy the thai-made citys lor... [laugh]

Dun think that theory stands......... like that ah... all the European Saabs, mercs, BMWs, Alphas all cannot tahan in Singapore then.... [laugh]

And if the tyre shop's theory stands, then we shoudl buy Msian Intel CPU, as it is made for this climate.... anyway.. thought Intel Chips are made in Asia... not too sure where though... [rolleyes] the AMDs are made in South East Asia rite?

Edited by Audiorook