Fixing Dings and Dents.

Milgram

Yo dudes,

My ride just got another ding...this time on the driver side of the car (attention to potential suaners like Gad and PhD - this time it's really a visible ding ok?!!?).

With two dings, I'm seriously considering going to have them fixed. Previously, a lot of dudes here recommended Ah Lye (AMK autopoint) to fix the ding. I have a question before going there. There's this PDR thingy by this company situated at Capitol building. Are the methods used by Ah Lye and the Capitol PDR the same? If not, anyone in the know, can share what are the different methods used by the two folks please?

Thanks!

Edited by Milgram

"...potential suaners like Gad and PhD - this time it's really a visible ding ok?!!?). ..."

Phew....sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifI not mentioned liao

and hor....warned u abt parking dat palce....laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Anyway, think the method is the massage method la....and the other could be putty and paint?

U where got suaner? wah say, u gave me that tip pn Ah Lye man [thumbsup] . And I dun think I got it at that lot lah [rolleyes] . Probs, got it at the J8 carpark [furious][furious] .

My dad macam went to the Capitol PDR co, and told me that the fella there use one long instrument, jack it into the gap between the window and the door, down to where the dent is and pop the ding back up [sweatdrop] . If really massage method then should be ok. Anyway, u been to Ah Lye before right? After handiwork, is the ding 100% gone?

"...Anyway, u been to Ah Lye before right? After handiwork, is the ding 100% gone? .."

Have not been there personally...but have seen his work!!!thumbsup.gifthumbsup.gif

Milgram! hi hi, check with Owen_fan, he's just been to PDR and he's happy with the results cos he only had to pay $30 vs a 3-figure sum. He's probably the best person to tell u about PDR's workmanship!

Cheers!

Hi, think the PDR is using a instruments to get that dings back, but oso gotta depends on the size of the dents. As for massage, not too sure. Get yr car down to both shops(if u still cant decide which one to go to), and get quotations... [sly]

Btw, whats the price for removal of a dent? My babe oso been hurt... Now accumulated 2 dings liao [:/]

My dad macam went to the Capitol PDR co, and told me that the fella there use one long instrument, jack it into the gap between the window and the door, down to where the dent is and pop the ding back up sweatdrop.gif .

Your Dad is right about the way PDR 'repair' the dents.nod.gif

Piang, me where got suaner.... tongue.gif.... BTW, me need to evaluate the 'damage'.... maybe can help...sly.gif...

The area where the dents is, it is flat or curved?

The PDR at Capitol quite cheap I seem to recall - at about $30 a pop. Dun know about Lye Design though...anyone who has been to Lye Design can answer this?

I have a preference for the massage method if the effect is just as good as the PDR one - dun really fancy the idea that an instrument is inserted into my babe [shakehead] .

What happened to your Jazz bro'? [:(]

Same lor... have observed, normally the dents are caused by lorries/vans as their doors are higher, and the edge of the door is the culprit... [furious]

Yr ride le?? Have found yr spoiler?

Thanks for the heads-up bro' [nod][thumbsup] .

For all brudders who is considering going to Lye Design, here's the address and contact no.

10 Ang Mo Kio Ind Pk 2A #04-04 Singapore 568047

Telephone : 6483 3353

Any idea how much per dent/ding?

When you come over to makan, I show you the dent. This time you no need magnifying glass - can see it from a distance [sweatdrop] .

The dent/ding is on the flat panel of the driver side door [:|]