Clement 2nd Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 Hi, I am considering to change my car shock absorbers to Monroe Sensatrac. Can anyone who has done this before share their experiences here. In particular, does it improve the ride comfort of the car noticeably. My curent car (Nissan Sunny N16) with original shock absorbers is too firm over most roads, with a constant fidget over uneven roads and bumps. Thanks. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 hi, was using sensortrac on my B13 (dinosaur model). ride was soft and comfy when new.. towards 1.5 yrs after installation, they began to fail and had uneven damping effect...which also caused uneven wear on my tyres. I finally did away with it after 2 yrs and used Tokico instead. just as good on the handling (mix of soft and hard) and quiet too. so far my passengers and SWD dun seem to complain when I go over the road and carpark humps. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 18, 2003 Share November 18, 2003 How about KYB? Anybody used before? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jacksung Neutral Newbie December 6, 2003 Share December 6, 2003 KYB 'Made in Japan' is a good quality shock absorber. But beware, many KYB shocks are 'Made in M'sia'...they have a big factory there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie December 6, 2003 Share December 6, 2003 Just wondering :- Is the ones made in Malaysia in any way inferior to the ones made in Japan ?? How so ?? Is it because of price where Japan made more ex or Malysian ones cheaper ?? Or the Malaysian ones fail faster than JP ones ?? Thanks Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched December 7, 2003 Share December 7, 2003 I hv been a fan of Monroe shocks. These old shocks will outlast most of my old Fiat 124 Special car parts. On the day my car scrapped (that car was like a part of my family, my kids literally grew up together with it), these shocks are still in good and working condition. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear December 8, 2003 Share December 8, 2003 I guess it's QC standard that's the cause Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched December 9, 2003 Share December 9, 2003 Japs are good at QC Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear December 9, 2003 Share December 9, 2003 & more strick at it, I guess Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 13, 2004 Share May 13, 2004 Hi, Any idea where I can find Monroe shocks here? Which shop should I go to? Thinking of getting Monroe..... Unfortunately, KYB msia doesn't manufactures my shocks. Only KYB Japan....and so, it's only available in singapore....otherwise, I'll be going to JB to change it. hehee. KYB msia. Msia boleh. Pls don't mind me, I'm a cheapo! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 you can try calling these few companies & compare the prices: Company Name : AIK HUAT CHOP Address : Blk 261, Waterloo Street, #01-39/41,#02-43/44, Singapore 180261 Telephone Number: (65) 63383394, 63377890, 63381552, 63362522 Company Name : KIM POH AUTO PTE LTD Address : Blk 126, Bukit Merah Lane 1, #01-210, Singapore 150126 Telephone Number: (65) 62782283, 62782284, 62782285, 62782474 Company Name : LAWRENCE ONG TRADING Address : Blk 261, Waterloo Street, #01-09, Waterloo Centre, Singapore 180261 Telephone Number: (65) 63381007 Company Name : SPECTRUM AUTO PTE LTD Address : Blk 3004, Ubi Ave 3, #01-100 /#01-102, Singapore 408860 Telephone Number: (65) 67410606 Company Name : TAI AIK CO PTE LTD Address : Blk 465, North Bridge Road, #01-5059/5061, Crawford Centre, Singapore 191465 Telephone Number: (65) 62934973, 62954927, 62913022, 62943107 Company Name : UNICO MOTOR (PTE) LTD Address : Blk 9, Selegie House, #01-23, Selegie Road, Singapore 180009 Telephone Number: (65) 63361828, 64535221 Company Name : YUNG SOON AUTO SUPPLY CO Address : 24, Upper Weld Road, Singapore 207381 Telephone Number: (65) 62986988, 63920245 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 Excellent! Thanks! I've called up some of them liao. Unfortunately Monroe have yet to produce for this model yet. But....the good news is their KYB Japan versions is quite cheap. Gas shocks for rear is like $70 each. I'm going to see how big they are.....if not so big, I'll see if I can hide in the car and bring into msia for installation, probably RM20 or RM30. heehee....otherwise, I'll be paying S$30 to get it done here. but most likely I think it'll be quite big 8( Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 Excellent! Thanks! I've called up some of them liao. Unfortunately Monroe have yet to produce for this model yet. But....the good news is their KYB Japan versions is quite cheap. Gas shocks for rear is like $70 each. I'm going to see how big they are.....if not so big, I'll see if I can hide in the car and bring into msia for installation, probably RM20 or RM30. heehee....otherwise, I'll be paying S$30 to get it done here. but most likely I think it'll be quite big 8( for the rears, they are not much longer than 50cm in length Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kianbeng Clutched May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 but it's still a bit wide right? coz this model is mounted together with the spring coil one.....not like some which is just a tube. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 Excellent! Thanks! I've called up some of them liao. Unfortunately Monroe have yet to produce for this model yet. But....the good news is their KYB Japan versions is quite cheap. Gas shocks for rear is like $70 each. I'm going to see how big they are.....if not so big, I'll see if I can hide in the car and bring into msia for installation, probably RM20 or RM30. heehee....otherwise, I'll be paying S$30 to get it done here. but most likely I think it'll be quite big 8( Do in MY eh ..... Ya lah ... do down there can save money Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 Excellent! Thanks! I've called up some of them liao. Unfortunately Monroe have yet to produce for this model yet. But....the good news is their KYB Japan versions is quite cheap. Gas shocks for rear is like $70 each. I'm going to see how big they are.....if not so big, I'll see if I can hide in the car and bring into msia for installation, probably RM20 or RM30. heehee....otherwise, I'll be paying S$30 to get it done here. but most likely I think it'll be quite big 8( for the rears, they are not much longer than 50cm in length Wat do you mean by they are not much longer than 50cm ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 You are changing the shock absorber only, right???? you'll be using back the springs mah! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear May 14, 2004 Share May 14, 2004 [/reply] for the rears, they are not much longer than 50cm in length [/reply] Wat do you mean by they are not much longer than 50cm ?? [/reply] I meant the rear shock absorber lar! maybe a max of 70cm in length ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...