Superseven Neutral Newbie November 11, 2003 Share November 11, 2003 Hi guys, recently have noticed some niggling problem ( minor clutch slipping, slower pickup, biting point of clutch has gradually shifted higher up )with the clutch and thought that it is high time to do something abt it... Just have some questions to ponder Will most likely need to replace something to do with the clutch but wat parts of the clutch to get? Intend to get the parts from Ric-tat (Toyota stockist ) but not too sure wat to tell them in case they were to ask me Quite embarassing to end up tongue tied Any pointers from the Lao Jiaos? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 11, 2003 Share November 11, 2003 Just tell them you need to replace clutch, they should give you a new clutch pressure plate or cover, clutch disc and bearings.....if not check with your workshop on what to get.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superseven Neutral Newbie November 11, 2003 Author Share November 11, 2003 icic... Thks... From your experience,, roughly should cost how much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 12, 2003 Share November 12, 2003 around $150 to $220. Just a rough estimation.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 12, 2003 Share November 12, 2003 installation with parts should only cost abt S$200+...below S$300 lah... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cloverleaf Neutral Newbie November 12, 2003 Share November 12, 2003 i suggest you bring to a workshop to check it before you buy your parts. there are a lot of parts related to the clutch system, master pump, slave pump, clutch plate, cover etc etc .... actually i thought when clutch start to wear off, the biting point gets lower and lower. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superseven Neutral Newbie November 12, 2003 Author Share November 12, 2003 ok thks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superseven Neutral Newbie November 12, 2003 Author Share November 12, 2003 ok... hopefully b'cos my car small so parts also cheaper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superseven Neutral Newbie November 12, 2003 Author Share November 12, 2003 yap... think that sounds more logical... actually due for servicing soon so might get mech to confirm first. Thks Not too sure also... for my case, my car's biting point nearer the top liao ( ie. have to release the clutch pedal higher up then can feel the gear engaged ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 13, 2003 Share November 13, 2003 No problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goodspeed Clutched September 26, 2004 Share September 26, 2004 hey i got the same problem as U!! can u tell me what ur mechanic say>>> thanks... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yansen Neutral Newbie September 26, 2004 Share September 26, 2004 hey bro looks like we're in the same boat. haha i also went thru all the past postings like u man. maybe we can go to a same workshop n change together, can try bargaining for lower price eh.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superseven Neutral Newbie October 7, 2004 Author Share October 7, 2004 Hi! Luckily for me, my mechanic recommended me to replace my clutch oil first and then monitor the situation. It turned out fine since then. Maybe u can try it too ( hopefully not too late liao ) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1fan Neutral Newbie January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 Normally, if you experience clutch slippage, how long more can the clutch last, if with normal driving? Car left less than a year, so dunno whether should change clutch or not....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maded Neutral Newbie January 31, 2005 Share January 31, 2005 haha just dun become like me stuck in the middle of Bugis with a non-working car - clutch pump rosak Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Megalord Neutral Newbie February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 Maybe you would like to adjust the free play instead and try? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear February 5, 2005 Share February 5, 2005 there are clutch pump repair kit available, just a few rubber seal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maded Neutral Newbie February 7, 2005 Share February 7, 2005 Yeah... had it towed and repaired... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...