Saaber Neutral Newbie November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 http://www.supercars.net/PicFetch?pic=2003_ford_mustang_fastback-1.jpg http://www.supercars.net/PicFetch?pic=2003_ford_mustang_fastback-2.jpg http://www.supercars.net/PicFetch?pic=2003_ford_mustang_fastback-3.jpg Swapping a high horsepower V-8 engine into a classic 1965 Mustang Fastback is a fairly common occurrence - unless, of course, you're talking about a modern Ford Racing Performance Parts (FRPP) 5.0-liter Cammer crate engine. So that's precisely what FRPP engineered to wow show goers at this years Specialty Equipment Market Association (SEMA) show: a fully restored 1965 Mustang 2+2 powered by a special version of FRPPs hot new 5.0-liter, four-valve Cammer crate engine producing 420 horsepower. It's the perfect marriage of Ford's Mustang performance heritage and the very latest in advanced modular V-8 engine technology. After the introduction of the 5.0L Cammer at last year's SEMA show in the FR100 pickup truck, many hot rod enthusiasts were not looking forward to dealing with the modern-day electronic fuel injection system, so Ford Racing engineers took note, and this year's Mustang Cammer crate engine features a classic downdraft carburetor setup, with four, two-barrel Webers sitting atop a custom Ford Racing intake. Using the carburetors also necessitated a switch from a fully electronic to an MSD distributor ignition system. Ford Racing didn't just pay attention to the engine compartment, so the donor 1965 Mustang was totally disassembled and rebuilt from the ground up. National Parts Depot Convertible Chassis Components were installed in place of the stock running gear, and a Heidt's Double A-Arm front suspension was employed to provide some modern handling ability. Helping to put the Cammer's power to the pavement is a Ford Racing / Centerforce Clutch Kit and a Heavy Duty Tremec five-speed manual transmission. Handling the tire-churning duties out back is a Strange-equipped Ford Racing nine-inch Ford rear axle with a 3.75:1 ring and pinion gearset. Ford Racing supplied a prototype anti-roll bar and a set of traction bars to complete the upgrades. It all rides on a set of 15-inch BBS wheels wearing BFGoodrich Radial T/A P205/55-R15's up front and P235/60-R15s in the rear. While much of the project's appeal rides in the fact it's all cloaked in classic Mustang sheet metal, Ford Racing custom-crafted a prototype cold-air induction hood to help funnel fresh air to the Webers, as well as to signal that there's some seriously modern technology lurking underneath. The masterfully massaged bodywork is finished in PPG Gloss Black and buffed to a mirror finish. Special 5.0-liter Cammer badges complete the look. Inside, all the stock trim was replaced with a complete National Parts Depot Reproduction 1965 Mustang interior. Naturally, no Mustang restoration upgrade would be complete without a set of Rally Pack gauges, as well as a thoroughly modern A/C system supplied by Vintage Air. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 OMG the classic mustang also gets a remake!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 5, 2003 Author Share November 5, 2003 I know......me also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 classic design still da best hor! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 Yup the current Mustang looks like crap Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 wah, this afternoon i couldnt see the pics, now i can!!! .... you are making me drool.... twin webers, double barrel... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 5, 2003 Author Share November 5, 2003 I know you sure drool one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 you also mah...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 5, 2003 Author Share November 5, 2003 ...yep, .still look so good.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie November 8, 2003 Share November 8, 2003 Wish u had them in your Celica eh .... the car looks so much like the Celica from the side Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie November 9, 2003 Share November 9, 2003 (edited) Wah! Saaber, when you do things like this, ah, your lao ah kongs cannot take it, leh! Please try to remember that twin-barrel Webbers always does this to us (hor, S7?). Now, could you kindly try to source something with 'Hemi-blocks' that Mopar used to use??? Thanks for being so kind as to revive the juices for the 'oldies'... (speaking for myself only as S7 still very young at heart!) Edited November 9, 2003 by Jgoh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged November 9, 2003 Share November 9, 2003 agree Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie November 9, 2003 Author Share November 9, 2003 whoa!! really long time no see....I got to use twin-barrel Webers to lure you out.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie November 12, 2003 Share November 12, 2003 ...it worked!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 19, 2003 Share November 19, 2003 How's things? Long time no see you liao? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie November 23, 2003 Share November 23, 2003 Hi Gadie... Yeah, most of the time when I'm back on the weekends, arrival is on early Sat morning, so cannot attend the Fri meetups. Hope to make it one of these days, sooooon.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 26, 2003 Share November 26, 2003 okie... if you want, we can arrange a special one on Saturday for you. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jgoh Neutral Newbie November 26, 2003 Share November 26, 2003 Was telling RadX that I missed the 24th meetup. Didn't realise that was happening until I read about it the day after. Had a dinner appt that Mon evening, but could have joined you guys later... sigh... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...