Bweare of Czech Auto Service

Latzu

My sis drives an Elegance Octavia. A few weeks ago, they sent in their Octavia to Czech Auto for the regular servicing and here's what went wrong:

Got a call from Sammo (sp?) and was told that their car met with an accident whilst in the hands of Czech Auto. Upon further probing, my sis was told that the car's windscreen was smashed up. Sammo said that the windscreen was probably hit by a pebble whilst it was being tested. My sis asked the guy who test drove the car after servicing and he said that the car was still in perfect condition when he returned it. Ok. So the windscreen was damaged, Sammo had the cheek to ask my Sis to help him by claiming the damaged under her motor insurance. My sister relented thinking that it would be faster to get the car back as they said that it would take two days to get the windscreen replaced, plus there's no future impact on her insurance premiums. So she agreed and asked for a courtesy car, but they kept on telling her that they were not able to provide her a courtesy car. After much arguing and table banging, they agreed to loan her a van. Gosh! My sister had no choice so she took the van. Two days passed and she got the car back. It drove normal for about one and a half days and then a grinding sound could be heard from the front portion of the car. They again sent it in to Czech Auto and they diagnosed the problem as the wheel bearing being faulty/worn out (1 side). Flabbergasted and fuming, my sister asked that they bear the cost of replacing the faulty bearing. Of course they claimed that it was her fault that the bearing was faulty. They were not even able to tell her upfront how much it would cost for the wheel bearing to be replaced. She had to wait till after several hours before she could find out the cost. I guess it was a tactic to let her cool down first. Anyway, several hours later, they came back to her and quoted her $1,600 for replacing the wheel bearing. And as a gesture of goodwill, they'd bear half the cost and my sister would have to pay the other half. Fuming, my sister took her car to Servotronics, and was told that Czech Auto made a wrong diagnostic; the faulty bearing was on the other side of the car as the one said by Czech Auto. It took about 200 bucks to fix it plus they were able to fix a faulty door lockset which has been faulty for many months, waiting for spare parts arrival at Czech Auto.

So be forewarned... Czech Auto the slackers. Please contact me if you want to know more details as to what happened plus perhaps see the tears that were shed. We'll write-off Czech Auto in our list of things existent in this world.

Sad to heard about the story. Glad that your sis Octy is OK now. Ever since my previously servicing, I've told myself never to go back there anymore. Their service sucks. thumbsdown.gif

Latxu, condolences.

One thing abt CA is that all teh staffs there are very unmotivated, esp the backend staffs in the storeroom and their mechs. Worst still, the front end staff they have - Sammo is more like a replica of a sharp tongue Sim Lim salesman. He is a nightmare to any customers who looks for quality service. The way he talk is sometime like a hooligan trying to pick a fight.

Sigh.. seriously i don't know what crap is going on with Czech Auto. I know Skoda is a damn good car. But the freaking problem with this place is they have a fugged up agent. I thought CA would live up to its reputation and put the horrid days of the previous one behind. Upon hearing this kinda stories. Its kinda upsetting. If they are capable of doing this kinda things at the back. Imagine at the front desk, what kinda con tactics will they use to get people to buy their cars, making them top up more and more. Seriously i don't dare to think.

Fuuny thing is that someone ever told me before Sammo is pretty good. But I have yet to and will never send my car into CA for anything.

In the old days we bitch and whine about the lousy JTA support and workshop. How is CA compared to JTA? Better or worse?

Think the ownership of the car will be too high if CA does not buck up SOON.

Sammo service is good? He has an attitude problem. He knows his work quite well, that I must compliment but his attitude towards customer svcs is quite bo-chap. You must try to talk to him and discover this for yourself to know what I mean.

Its a good question on CA versus JTA, becoz both are equally f-up. The only good thing abt JTA is that their parts prices are not too exorbitant compared with CA, and also the people in JTA are friendlier like Thomas and Satria etc etc. The only good thing abt CA is that we know they are big time, that is all. So if I were to do a detailed comparision of both distributors, both are technically f-up but JTA gets the better score in terms of personal relationships with customers.

One problem with CA is that they are trying to price Skoda too high until it gets priced out of the market competition. That is very bad because the lesser number of cars on the road, the lesser the chance they will stock more parts. A strong agent is one that puts more cars on the road. CA, by pricing the Skoda too high, is probably digging their own grave.

I went to Mazda to take a look at the Premacy and the sales lady there quoted me $46K for my 2yr 9mths Ambiente Octavia. Was at several other dealerships and some didn't even want to take in my Octavia. They said that the Skodas are too rare. Thanks CA. I don't think CA is very serious about the Skoda brand. They're just holding on to the brand so that it will not kill their stable VW brand. I drove past CA a couple of times in the past months and it was all so quiet in there.

Sammo said that they broke the windscreen when they sent the car out for a car wash. When my sister's husband spoke to the guy (Jaffa) who actually drove the car out, he said that when he returned the car after testing it, it was still in perfect condition. THEY DID NOT WASH THE CAR. So Sammo must have been lying. The reason why my sis brought her car in for servicing? The car had a faulty lockset on the driver's door and Sammo had promised her that the parts would be available when they brought the car in. But when my sis asked about the lockset, he told her had they had ordered the wrong spare part. They have already waited for several months for this spare part. It was later fixed at Servotronics.

Sigh...

dear latzu,

I sorry to hear what happen on your sis with CA, b4 I start, I must 1st mentioned I got nothing to do with CA but I do own a 1.8t ELE handed down by my dad and all the service and repair done is carry out at CA, I must further mention that I am not defending any 1 at CA (even though my vehicle was service by sammo) but just voice-ing what I think about this story..... I think the issue here is that the wind screen, wheel bearing is damage while the vehicle is in their workshop. for the w/screen I got nothing to say as I do not know what happen, ( the only thing I can think of is like what you or sammo mentioned is " something hit it" and that is that. I mean who would, in the sound mind will damage the w/screen as at the end of the day, the owner will know when they pick up the vehicle? (that goes the same for the wheel bearing) 2nd thing, is anything in this story left out? you mentioned : It drove normal for about one and a half days and then a grinding sound could be heard from the front portion of the car. They again sent it in to Czech Auto and they diagnosed the problem as the wheel bearing being faulty/worn out (1 side). Flabbergasted and fuming, my sister asked that they bear the cost of replacing the faulty bearing. Of course they claimed that it was her fault that the bearing was faulty. (I don't think you can blame "that" some one when you drink a cup of tea and eat something, then after one and a half days later you found out you got diarhoea. many things can happen... like did the car hit a pot hole while being drove back)

IMHO : did they remove the wheel to do any service? if yes then they may have to answer for that but if not.... then..... ??? next you mentioned that the car is ok until one and a half day later, IMHO again, I don't think it is right to go after them cos the car is out on the road for one and the half days and.... you know...? but if the car is drove back and parked for one and a half day, and the damage happen, then question mark again! but then again if once your sis hear the sound on that very day she pick up the car, she should sent the car back and not had waited for one and a half day. btw did servo mentioned how the bearing give way? please enlight.... lasty you mentioned : but they kept on telling her that they were not able to provide her a courtesy car. After much arguing and table banging, they agreed to loan her a van. Gosh! My sister had no choice so she took the van. as for this I think he (sammo's) unfriendly attitude to some of the customer, I got nothing to say but I did saw an owner trying to push him to do something out of the book... I mean a snake will not attack anyone if not assaulted. and for all I know sammo is the kind that play a bit of tai chi and most of the time he will not get himself in fire ( btw did your sis talk to the service manager?)

there is a saying "the road to the truth, has many turn" what's is the truth here

? question mark, what happen there and then nobody know but is this a fair field report? I always believe that " what goes around, comes around." maybe his is taking a rap for someone, but can he tell you? at time we must live and let lived. that guy is trying to make a living too... I never write such long winded e-mail but this is the 1st time i do so. not b'cos I helping anyone, but just voice-ing what I think ( I am very sorry if I offence any1 here) but did we as a customer stop to ask ourself did we did anything that started the fire? once again I am sorry if I offened any1) please take care and god bless

thank you and regards

karen

Edited by Karen

Karen, thanks for the comments. I don't think my sister and her hubby provoked Sammo at all. In fact, I think they saved his axx by letting him claim their motor insurance for the damage of the windscreen. As for the loan veh, I think it's only fair that they be provided a loan car as the damage was caused by CA. My colleague sent in his Ford Focus to Regent for warranty claim on the auto trans and they loaned him a Ford laser during the two days that the car was in the workshop. My bro in law in law runs a business and needs a car to run around as well as ferry their 20 mth old daughter. So I think it was fair that they requested for the car.

As for the windscreen, only God knows what happen. But what did happen was my bro in law did question the guy who test drove the car after servicing (Jaffa) and he said that the car was in perfect condition when he returned it. Anyhow, we suspect that someone else took the car out (suspect: it's not uncommon for workshops to use their customers' car to run errands) supposedly to wash it took it out and whacked something injuring the wheel bearing at the same time. Just a theory. The car was not washed when returned to my sis. The thing is at the end of the day, there was a conflicting report from both Sammo and Jaffa who drove the car. So we're suspicious.

Edited by Skoda_Man

dear Latzu, you mentioned.. Sammo said that they broke the windscreen when they sent the car out for a car wash. When my sister's husband spoke to the guy (Jaffa) who actually drove the car out, he said that when he returned the car after testing it, it was still in perfect condition. THEY DID NOT WASH THE CAR. So Sammo must have lying. .

did it ever occur to you that the person lying is not sammo, but some one else? he said that when he returned the car after testing it, it was still in perfect condition did your sis ask what happen after the testing? was the car sent to wash after the tested the car? who hander the car after the test drive? did some thing happen? like while test drive and thats the reason the car is not wash? as for the parts I think giving the benefit of doubt that wrong part was given, I think this is something that no one can help it. anyway...

I wish all happy and safe motoring always

cheers and god bless

karen

dear Latzu,

I don't think my sister and her hubby provoked Sammo at all. gee... one think for sure I will not own up if I done something wrong.... (I mean that's is in most people blood, no offences [sweatdrop] please...) If you want to find out more, you can go over to this restaurant at . At the same time, you can ask for free makan... (don't say I said that). since your sis run a maken store I would like to post this question again "is it right that if I go eat there and if I had diarhea two days later, that I report againest them to the MOE? I don't think the MOE will even take up my case.... 4 the free makan no lah.... I don't take free ride, but if you taking the tab for the food at your sis place, I will sure go [:p] heh ehehehe

please take care and god bless

karen

Edited by Skoda_Man

Okay. You two got your point and all. This is getting too far for my liking.

Karen, if this happen to you how will you feel? Car is perfect when you send it in and end up with damage windscreen and all.

Latzu, I know you meant well to share this story with us. And I can feel you still feeling very sore about the whole incident.

Let's all cool down for a while and reply with some objective post. Food and runny stomach is not a good and objective post IMO.

Never have I have to use the Delete function in MCF before. Hope I don't need to use it.

ops.... guess I went too far.... sorry to all in MCF, is just that everytime I sent my vehicle to CA and seening him kena left right center from some people, and runnig up and down bao shan bao hai makes me pity him...

I agree that I will feel sore, it what happen, happen to me, but I will like to see if they "try" to do something for me. if they just say sorry you are on your own then I will be the 1st one to jump on them, but in this case I think they did something, but the something is not good enough.... nevertheless they did something.

I think I rest this case here and then, and I will not say any thing about this anymore.... once again I am sorry if I offended anyone here.

thank you and regards

karen

Just collected my car from the 1st 15k servicing. And just saw this thread....luckily nothing happens to my car.

But Karen, if you can rem, I told you my story abt CA b4 also...but now at least Sam is more polite when he talk to me (just my complaint)

dear volk74,

good for you.... [:p] glad that things workout for you.... [:p] yes I can recall what you told me, well at first he is unfriendly to me too b'cos I try to meow and pull him a fast one but after a while he is ok.

I believe he is the type that if what you claim is reasonable, you get it but if not he will never agree even you bring it up to his boss. I guess most of the time is b'cos he is having a bad time with his customer....(many time I saw he kena left, right,center and I asked him : did he go though that everyday ... and how he deal with it... he smiles and told me: that he believe in kama, "lets pray, wait and see..." is what he told me as for the anwers... I think you guessed it) I think you will know what I mean if you really have the time to see what he go though everyday,

There are many time I sent my vehicle there for serving, and most of the time he is put though many "test" by owner, s/part, workshop, phone calls, cashering and going over VW to pick up parts..... runing up and down like a clown, and still have to keep a smiles for 8hrs... that why I am voice-ing my view about him, BUT I am not sideing he, yes he maybe a pain in the aXX but if you were in his shoes,.... than maybe you can understand better why he is a bit "unfriendly" .... enough said,I urge some one maybe stay there and see for them-self and will understand, what he is going though....

please take care and god bless,

karen

Edited by Karen

Skodaman is right, we msut remain objective in our opinions, that is why i complimented Sam abt his knowledge of the car but I have to strongly disagree on his attitude towards customer service. Sometimes when I talk to him, its as though I owe him a living. He is the bane of any organisation that wants to excel in customer relationships.

Hi Fabiaman,

point taken. [:p] and I understand what you mean, yes I agree with on the part of the knowledge of the car, allow me to tell you why I prefer CA to that workshop in sin ming thats the one that is "good with" skoda cars, not long after JTA went down, something goes wrong and I can't start the car, vehicle was tow to that sin ming road workshop and the battery was replaced. after driveing out and parking the car for a few day the car can't start again, tow to sin ming was told this time round the altenater is faulty..... call up my dad and was told by dad to hold all job and wait 4 him.... after my dad talk to the people there.... the vehicle is then tow out again.... this time to VW, it is where I know sammo, as you understand CA only under 1 yrs warranty for the car from JTA and dad's car is about 1 yrs plus so.... no warranty.... but after sammo check the vehicle it was found a low value cash card is draining the battery... I have many other bad story above servo, but I don't want to go to that.... but from there I never look back... all service and repair is only carry out only at CA.... (and as advised by sky)

I did mentioned that he is unfriendly, and the reason is I press him for something "out of the book" at first he was ok but after I keep on meowing he stand his ground and frimmly tell me "No"..... this is the only case I have with him.... after that something major happen to the car and the vehicle is sent to CA again, this time the repair is @ 2K++ but after telling him is there anything that he can help me on, he told me he will do his best and end of the day I walk alway paying nothing. the repair was carry out under goodwill.... on checking with him I was told " the basic rules of any claims and goodwill is there are no mis-handling and mod".

so everytime I sent in the car b4 I open my mouth I ask myself did I did anything to the car that cause the fault.... then I post the qustion. and I agree that you do not own him a living but... nether did him.... I always believe life is a 2 way traffic, if you are nice to someone, that someone will be nice to you.... ( I strongly believe that he is that kind that will not draw unwanted fire and there is no reason for him going around pissing every one off) thats the meaning what goes around,

comes around this a human we are talking about here not A.I, he has his share of getting on the wrong side of the bed, and so do you. to me it does not mean that if I pay for something or a service you must treat me like queen or I can make FULL use of you and bully you, of cos I don't want you to bully me b'cos I am "chin cai" (everytime b4 I start meowing I asked myself " Have I done anything? starting this fire?" and I tell you most of the time I find out I at fault on what happen)

Many time I went there for serivce and need to replace and was told the there are no parts, I'm pissed but what can I do? this is something nobody want's to happen bearing in mind that CA is only 1 yrs old now. this is a parts handicapped, but no body fault, but.... I always blame the person who tell my that..... by at the end of the day, I stopped and recall is he the one to be blame? I believe not. the key word here is to live and let live, life is short.... car life is even shorter.... why go around upsetting you self and others? you should see what happen at H.S when my dad sent his 911 for service, what happen there is then what I call "attitude" but I do not wish to go on and on.

bottom line is " are we being fair and just and treating everyone the same?" I may sound like some1 from the SDP, but all the time I read reports on the downside of CA and no one is reporting what is going on there. and after many people will start to add fuel to the fire, we must understand what is going on, and what is the root of the problem, and not jummping the train just like that. there are some people ordering skoda parts and marking money is it fair to CA ? some1 went to CA and said "workshop so big, no s/parts, but after that he start taking order to order part from don't know who" and start selling and pedding the skoda parts at servo.... if made me wonder does that guy got anything to do with servo...

when we ask others to be fair to us, but are we doing the same. b4 I end I must say sorry IF I offended some1

this is all I got to say, thank you and regards

please take care and god bless

karen