Noname Neutral Newbie November 2, 2003 Share November 2, 2003 (edited) Hi guys, I know this topic been up once or twice but it always degenerate into something else. Basically I'm looking for a new car. I initially thought of getting a 2nd hand car, a Presea to be exact, but my mechanic advised me against it. So with my kind of budget I'm looking at a 1.5M Rio Hatchback or a 1.5M Accent. In terms of reliabality which one is more reliable. Cos in terms of look, I feel that the Rio hatchbook look much nicer than the Accent. Or do you guys think I should give the COE car a go? I was thinking of getting the 10yr loan but I know there's something about rule78 or something can someone please explain it to me in greater detail. Cos I hear about ppl needing to top up to sell the car. BTW I'm currently driving a 94 B13. (Nissan Sunny expiring in May 04) Thanks. Edited November 2, 2003 by Noname ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie November 2, 2003 Share November 2, 2003 i wld prefer a presea den a korean car anitime.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Noname Neutral Newbie November 2, 2003 Author Share November 2, 2003 Yea that's what I thought too. Furthermore Presea does look nice even though it has been on the road for more than 10 years. But my mech was saying that a new car would most likely be better than a >10year car. It's kinda hit and run thingy. If I get a good car lucky me, if not I'll probably be [bigcry]But I seriously like the Presea but not the worry of getting a thrashed up car that someone is trying to get rid off. Anyway I'd like to keep my options open first. So would like to know more abt the other 2 models. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie November 2, 2003 Share November 2, 2003 presea is a good car...but the prob is itz low roof...as slow as nissan silvia!haha..aniwae ti give u the sporty feel..so yeah i wld get dat if im u Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ravinged 5th Gear November 2, 2003 Share November 2, 2003 I was considering Presea for a while too ... because I am still looking around for a second hand car. After so many years, Presea engine is still running strong ... in a way like Toyota Corolla, very lasting. But as I went around searching for one, realised it didn't really fit my size well, so I gave it a miss. Ed Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hktan Neutral Newbie November 3, 2003 Share November 3, 2003 Whether Rio or Accent Hatch, it is up to you loh. Go for the test drive and you will have a clear picture. For me, driving a Accent 4dr but still prefer Sonata. BTW, Noname has a good question : What is the different between 10yrs and 7yrs car loan? 10yrs - low interest, ......others? 7 yrs - high interest, .....others? Anyone care to share? VTIM might be one of them who can share. He bought new car and experience it! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pillow68 Neutral Newbie November 3, 2003 Share November 3, 2003 Personally, i feel that buying a new car is much better than a COE car. 1) Interest is lower 2) Loan repayment can be stretched longer to a 10 yrs period 3) Can rest assured that a new car will not have many problems unlike a COE car 4) At the end of 10 yrs, you still can get the PARF value 5) Road tax and insurance will definite be lower for new car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hktan Neutral Newbie November 3, 2003 Share November 3, 2003 That's for sure! Getting a new car can be cheaper than a COE car. But will you choose 7 yrs or 10yrs loan? And why? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie November 4, 2003 Share November 4, 2003 Definately a 7 year, 70% loan if you can afford it. It all comes down to the break even point. What it means is that if you sell or scrap your car after a certain period of time how much do you still owe the bank. If your scrap or selling price is higher than your outstanding loan then you get money back to either keep or plough back inot buying another car. If lower than you will have to fork out extra to pay off the bank. In short a 7 year 70% loan you will break even faster. Good hunting. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 4, 2003 Share November 4, 2003 Take your time to hunt for a car. Personally, I wun go for the korean, but the choice is yours. Some will ask you to go for COE cars while others wun. Just make sure the spare parts is easily available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carlover76 Neutral Newbie November 5, 2003 Share November 5, 2003 Korean car nowadays are not bad compared to the past, if I can afford, I will definitely go for European cars but not Japanese cars! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 It compared to last time, agreed that they have improve, but there is still more room to improve. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 Gad you bias ah? what about Malaysia cars Might be Japanese in roots but still make in Malaysia. Latest JD POwers put Thai makers ahead of proton. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 Good 'afternoon' M'sia cars?! Frankly, in terms of QC, it lose out to Japs.. As for Thai, the engine still come from Jap, right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 Gad morning lah! Ain't you supposed to be studying for your exams? why surfing MCF? Must be very confident hor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 kekeke... am taking a break now before I continue.... .... oh boy, another 600+ pages to read... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 Logging off now... enjoy the rest of the day.. Cheers... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Buzz Neutral Newbie November 6, 2003 Share November 6, 2003 Good luck man Whats your exam on? last time when still in school also do the same thing, instead of studying for exam, was busy IRCing. Nearly flunk, so wake up ideal liao I also bias, will buy a Thai over a Malaysian car. Maybe just to spike them for being so nasty to us. Both Thai and Malaysian cars engines has Japanese in their roots but still sceptical in their quality. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...