Kumho 711 or 712

Lufu

going to change my 195/50R15, should I use 711 or 712 ?

Whats the difference ?

Would it be cheaper in J.B. ?

Hi! there, Lufu,

I don't think the rubbers in JB is cheaper than over here. I've looked around for my rubbers, but wasn't satisfied with those over here.

I bought mine in JB, an upgrade to +1, 195/55R15, @RM240 /each, Bridgestone RE711.

Rgds

Paul Yong

I agree with Paul on this one.

Strangely, the rubbers in Malaysia are almost on par price compared to Singapore. So it makes no difference whether you get them here or in JB. [nod]

I suggest you go to www.tirerack.com for reviews of the two. The site might be a little difficult to navigate but you will get to it. My brother uses 712s and according to him, they perform better when warmed.

Edited by Genie47

going to change my 195/50R15, should I use 711 or 712 ?

Whats the difference ?

Would it be cheaper in J.B. ?

The import duty is higher in Malaysia so imported stuffs are more expensive compared to SG. Unless you are thinking of MY-made rubbers.

my assumptions:

higher wear rating---higher resistance to wear lor meaning not easy to put on (wear) hahaha....

warm up to harness its full potential--- pour hot water over it to cook it first then can eat mah hahaha....

Hahahah... joking lah...

higher wear rating---higher resistance to wear

warm up to harness its full potential---this not sure leh... u watch F1? before the start of the race u will put heating blanket on the tyres to keep them hot so they can grip better, and at the first warm up round, the drivers will zig-zag their vehicles, this is also to warm up the tyres...

Very right here. High wear means difficult to get bald down. Sumitomos come to mind. Hard wearing usually means hard rubbers but that will mean wet grip might not be good but Kumho 711 and 712 seems to got it down to pat in the wet. Tires with good wet grip are usually made of softer compounds.

Warmed means you have to run the tires for some distance to build up their heat. Rubber rubbing on the asphalt has friction. This makes heat for the tire to warm up. The F1 drivers zig-zagging are to cover more distance to warm the tires. Hot rubber is more tacky hence more sticky on the road.

ummm....abit confuse here...

i think good wet grip got to do with the tyres pattern, coz the better the channels in removing the water under the tyres hence preventing aquaplanning then it would be able to grip the road better and hence better wet grip.

as for softer compounds, this aspect of the tyres is better judge on a dry surface as the compound of the tyre will determine the level of grip on the tyres.

Yes, there is an optimum operating temperature that a tyre would performance best when the that temp is reached. This temp varies from tyre to tyre highly dependent on the design of the tyres ie: compounds, aspect ratio, internal carcass etc. Hence you can notice that performance tyres normally requires higher temp to work better and some normal street tyres is lower. [nod]

well, seems like it is alreadi answered...

wet grip is due to the pattern of its thread. bigger gap in thread oso means noiser tires.

higher wear rating means its thread will not wear off so fast, one reason is its operating temp is higher, thus wear will onli start when it is warmed up.

low wear rating will allow the tire to warm up faster, but its wear will oso start earlier.

Well, I do understand about the thread wear indicator and warming of tyre to reach their optimised temperature to maximise their performance

What I don't understand is that what do you mean by :

"...higher wear rating means its thread will not wear off so fast, one reason is its operating temp is higher, thus wear will onli start when it is warmed up... "

What is your relation between the thread wear index and tyre temperature ?

As explained by other folks, thread wear indicator has something to do with the design and mainly the compound used. I don't see how does warming up your tyres got anything to do with high thread wear indicator? Does that mean that the longer it needs to warm up (or the higher the optimised operating temperatue of the tyre), the higher is the wear indicator ?

Please enlighten.

Thank you.

sunny.gif

When tires are warmed, they become softer. When they are softer, the road will grind chunks out of it. Yes if it takes longer to warm up, it stays harder longer so it doesn't wear as fast in normal street conditions.

yup. 712 needs to be warmed up quite a lot to harness its full potential.

tats the reason y it have a high wear rating of 280.

perfect excuse for doing burnouts in the carpark every morning before driving to work [laugh]