Adrianli Hypersonic October 24, 2003 Share October 24, 2003 (edited) Early In the morning while travelling on PIE exiting to Clementi Ave 6 (abt 60km/h), I felt 2 huge bump rocking the car violently. I slowed the car down and parked it at the side of the road. I walked out and checked my car and found that my 2 left wheels are dented!!! Oh my god I thought. (Coz I only bought this set of rims 4 months ago from Stamford!!!) I walked back abt 200m and did not see anything. I really dont know what I hit. It was dark and I was in the rush to get to work. (The day b4 my boss was tell us abt punctunality) I continued my journey to work and my car was vibrating like hell. I felt as if I was sitting on a big vibrator!!! I reached my work place and took a few pics. And decided to bring my car down to Stamford and ask for advice after work. At Stamford, they recommend me a tyre shop where they will hit back my dented rims. At that shop, I let the mechanic see my car and he agreed to heat it up and hit it back to position. He found a hairline crack on my front left wheel inside. I asked him to hit it back to position. After 3hrs, he finished the job and I thought that was the end of my troubles. But after I left the shop on my way home, I felt the vibration again and now I know that the other 2 right wheels also definately also dented. After a sleepless night, I decided to change all 4 rims for my safety. Repair rims = S$180 2nd hand rims = S$280 Total Cost = S$460 What an expensive adventure!!!! Edited October 24, 2003 by Adrianli ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mmythos Neutral Newbie October 24, 2003 Share October 24, 2003 did u hit anything? if not how come will like that? hantu is it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie October 24, 2003 Share October 24, 2003 wa lao eh!wat u did to ur car?alamak..the dent seems serious...good dat u changeda new set Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 24, 2003 Share October 24, 2003 Hi Adrianli, Sad to hear about your rims.. ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie October 25, 2003 Share October 25, 2003 Whoa.......you must have hit some thing very hard to get that type of dents on the rims...unless the rim is very soft..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astralee 2nd Gear October 26, 2003 Share October 26, 2003 hi. mr lee. nice to c u here. forget abt the rims lah. change the whole car. scrap yur GL. haha. C when u free aft work, drive over to let mesee yur new rims. hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 26, 2003 Author Share October 26, 2003 (edited) I went back to the place where I the incident happened and saw pieces of tree branches as thick as my leg. I guess I must have ran over a tree branch. Considering its colour is black, there is no way I could have seen it in the early morning. Just my bad luck. Cost of repair = S$180 Cost of 2nd hand rims = S$280 Cost of wheel alignment = S$60 Total misadventure cost = S$520 Edited October 26, 2003 by Adrianli Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
W0rksh0p Neutral Newbie October 26, 2003 Share October 26, 2003 (edited) I am looking @ yahoo auction. http://page.auctions.shopping.yahoo.com/sg/auction/82248766 Is it more worth it to change to 2nd hand instead of repair ? Edited October 26, 2003 by W0rksh0p Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astralee 2nd Gear October 26, 2003 Share October 26, 2003 wats yur neew rim like?? u noe who am i or not?? enjoy yur stay here, lotz of info and help fron the ppl here.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fireman 1st Gear October 26, 2003 Share October 26, 2003 Hey ... sorry to hear about your rims. It looks to me like u might have hit a pot hole. Me kanna once, the rims also end up looking like that. Be careful cos nowadays everywhere also got road works and the road conditions not that good. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 27, 2003 Author Share October 27, 2003 Yeah I know u are that S.U.C.K K.O.C.K Lee lah. Give me time to take pic lah. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic October 28, 2003 Author Share October 28, 2003 Hi This is my new 2nd hand rims. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 28, 2003 Share October 28, 2003 that is one serious damage you got there for both of the rims it's just a case of bad luck Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiatmobile 1st Gear October 29, 2003 Share October 29, 2003 Wah....the dent really bad. How did you got this? Where did you travel? Must have hit something real hard that makes it to be so badly dented. Know how you feel as its only 4 months old. Had this before too but not as bad as yours. In my opinion, its better to change then to repair it. More worth the money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear October 29, 2003 Share October 29, 2003 i oso hit the road kerb this morning, & now the edge of my left rear rims have 2 spots of about 1cm long scartches, & oso the rims look a bit like the edge of a saw. But do not find any thing wrong with the car when the speed was 85-90km/h. am wondering whether should i repair the rim or just leave it? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...