VTEC produces lesser torque?

Mondeost220

u referring to single cam car is it??? not really sure abt mine car leh....unsure.gif...but my baby pick up quite alrite lah, and wanna overtake others car is like walking down the park.....smile.gif

not that they produce lesser torque...its just that the torque is produce at a higher rpm range..... [nod]

hence....for vtec cars....in any races..it has to be in the lead to fully optimised its power and maintain the power band at higher rpm, if they are blocked and they lose momentum..then other cars can take them on!!!!!!! [nod]

but i saw the specs sheet of accord euro r...it onli had 209NM of torque..which is veri low for a 2000cc performance car... [shakehead]

i tink mayb datz y vtec engines have to b rev so high to achieve the optimum performance..which is seriously saying for everyday's life itz just nt practical

I would 209Nm of torque is slightly above average for an NA 2L engine. Perhaps you could highlight some of the other 2000cc engines that you are comparing it with? From what I have observed, its quite difficult to significantly increase torque without increasing displacement or using some form of forced induction. That's why most 2L engines produce torque figures in the 200Nm range. As for vtec engines they are able to produce relatively high specific outputs (hp per litre) so maybe when compared with another engine of higher capacity that produces the same horsepower, vtec engines may look like they produce "lesser" torque? What do you think?

i have been reading up on specs of vtec engines..and they generally produce lesser torque than other cars..hw cum this happens?y?

Maybe it looks that way on paper but it sure dun feel that way!! [:)]

oh u gt a pt there!hmm...but euroR shld b considered a racing engine so hafta be compared wif performance engines...mayb datz y i tink dat the torque is much lower compared to the rest..

u gt a pt there...hmm..shld just change my mindset dat vtec engine is NA and shld compare wif fellow NA engines and nt turbocharged or supercharged engines... [nod][nod]

Well its an R and a performance engine but I wouldn't call it a racing engine. There's much more that can be done to racing engines like increasing the flow capacity of the cylinder head etc.. and that's (and the crazily high rpms) what enables a 3L Formula 1 racing engine to produce >800bhp while a 3.6L performance engine like that in a Porsche GT2 "only" produces about half of that.

You'll find this interesting: http://www.pumaracing.co.uk/power2.htm

Heng ah.. it confirmed my gut feeling [:p]

oh u gt a pt there!hmm...but euroR shld b considered a racing engine so hafta be compared wif performance engines...mayb datz y i tink dat the torque is much lower compared to the rest..

u gt a pt there...hmm..shld just change my mindset dat vtec engine is NA and shld compare wif fellow NA engines and nt turbocharged or supercharged engines...

huh? so u are comparing vtec engine with TC cars is it? [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

that's (and the crazily high rpms) what enables a 3L Formula 1 racing engine to produce >800bhp

yalor.. can't imagine my engine to be idle at 4k rpm.. and rev all the way to 20k rpm [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]