Diesel 1st Gear July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Hi all, it's me again, I'm thinking of changing my stock muffler to straight-thru type (least noisy ones) & wondering if i should change the extractor to a 4-2-1 as well for max gain from the exhaust mod. Anyone changed either one only (muffler or extractor) & felt a diff in the performance? I'm driving a cat-less car & hv heard ppl saying cat-less cars won't gain much from extractor change, how true is this? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 16, 2002 Share July 16, 2002 Hi all, it's me again, I'm thinking of changing my stock muffler to straight-thru type (least noisy ones) & wondering if i should change the extractor to a 4-2-1 as well for max gain from the exhaust mod. Anyone changed either one only (muffler or extractor) & felt a diff in the performance? I'm driving a cat-less car & hv heard ppl saying cat-less cars won't gain much from extractor change, how true is this? Hi Diesel, I wonder yr extractor was 4-to-1? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Diesel... I am not going to flame you.. but a Cat-less car will create environment problems that affect mother earth. In another words, you are not a caring and concern over the ozone problems we are suffering from. my 2 cents of worries. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Author Share July 17, 2002 Hi all, it's me again, I'm thinking of changing my stock muffler to straight-thru type (least noisy ones) & wondering if i should change the extractor to a 4-2-1 as well for max gain from the exhaust mod. Anyone changed either one only (muffler or extractor) & felt a diff in the performance? I'm driving a cat-less car & hv heard ppl saying cat-less cars won't gain much from extractor change, how true is this? Hi Diesel, I wonder yr extractor was 4-to-1? My stock exhaust? Gee... i'm not very sure, i suppose it's 4-1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Author Share July 17, 2002 Diesel... I am not going to flame you.. but a Cat-less car will create environment problems that affect mother earth. In another words, you are not a caring and concern over the ozone problems we are suffering from. my 2 cents of worries. Brudder, i think my car came "cat-less". It's a '92 corolla (carb)... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Sorry brudder.. then freaking Toyota is damm un-ozone friendly.. !! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Wat car & year u're driving? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Author Share July 17, 2002 Sorry brudder.. then freaking Toyota is damm un-ozone friendly.. !! I think u meant ozone-unfriendly or ozone-not-friendly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Author Share July 17, 2002 Wat car & year u're driving? '92 corolla 1.3 carby Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Wat car & year u're driving? '92 corolla 1.3 carby The stock extractor should be 4-2-1 alredi. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Author Share July 17, 2002 Wat car & year u're driving? '92 corolla 1.3 carby The stock extractor should be 4-2-1 alredi. Really? Anyway have decided to drop the extractor mod... but will go for the muffler change... u reckon it'll be any diff in performance? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer5010 Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Fren, sorri ikei poh and chup one leg here. . Changing the muffler maybe slight improvement oni. If u realli wanna to mod, since u r changing the muffler liao. Might as well change the extractor all the way to the muffler. Fine oso the same price. $500. So , might as well ka ka lei. Oops! The decision is yours. I'm not encouraging u to do tat. Just my 2 cts thought. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cardinal Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Sorry brudder.. then freaking Toyota is damm un-ozone friendly.. !! I think cars that are that old simply didn't come with cats, nothing to do with Toyota being ozone unfriendly. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Diesel 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Author Share July 17, 2002 Fren, sorri ikei poh and chup one leg here. . Changing the muffler maybe slight improvement oni. If u realli wanna to mod, since u r changing the muffler liao. Might as well change the extractor all the way to the muffler. Fine oso the same price. $500. So , might as well ka ka lei. Oops! The decision is yours. I'm not encouraging u to do tat. Just my 2 cts thought. That was what i tot too when i wanted to change the muffler... because extractor not obvious, i wonder: 1) if just changed the extractor only & retain the stock muffler will there still be improvements over my stock setup? 2)if change muffler only will the diff in performance be better than 1)? 3) if i change both will the difference in perf be better than 1) and 2)? Sigh... confused... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer5010 Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 1. Slight. But not much. Tat's wat i did on my first mod. But the bottle neck is still there 2. Same as 1. 3. Of course. Anyway, any mod on the above is consider illegal unless u get item 2 which is LTA approved. Like i say, if u realli want to mod. Do a complete one. But do bear in mind, mod is a neber ending road . U will end up mod , demod and then remod.... FYI, i spend more than 3K on mod on my new 1 yr old car in less than 3 mth. Ask Guyver, he will know how much time and $$$$ u need on mod. I suggest u keep it stock. How fast can u go in Singapore. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 bro, most carby cars dun have catalytic convertor, most pre-1992 cars dun have either. Except Nissan Sunny B13/B14 1.5 and some later batch of Mazda 121 has carby with cat con Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 "then freaking Toyota is damm un-ozone friendly.. !! " Hi! there, Cool, I think Alfa Romeo too, my '92 Alfa75ts doesn't come with a cat too. In Europe, they have cat installed. Such factory are terrible, just because of a few more horses, don't install the cat. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Killer5010 Neutral Newbie July 17, 2002 Share July 17, 2002 Is ure CAT under the carriage ? Civic is under carriage. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...