Cool_jazz

To overtake a road-hog on lane 1  

50 members have voted

1. 1.

• Overtake on the left when traffic permits
    • Signal right
    • Flash your head lights
    • Short tap on your horn

All the above.... If happens that I am not in a hurry, i will try overtake him/her, then slow down in front of them [mad]

Really pissed off by these ppl. Some even worse, was road hogging the lane, and when u came closer, they tends to slow down further. Then u truying to be nice and overtake them by left, they speed up in order not to let u overtake them!! [thumbsdown]

Yes, I encounter such jerks before... but I usually just leave them be. Life is stressful as it is... [sweatdrop]

signal or warn him in advance...

filter left to overtake right fast car drivers is dangerous... left lane drivers are supposed to be slower...

But some hogs just play stupid or act blur.... hiaz.... [thumbsdown]

a typical frequent encounter...

I would run over it if i can ever do that... hahaha...

[laugh][laugh] too bad we do not have any monster truck here in Singapore....

If its the kind of life and death situation like wife water bag burst all these, I'll try to overtake by the left (faster than waiting for that hogger to give way), if not possible, then I'll high-beam first, followed by sounding the horn repeatly till he no choice but to move away... but in that case me also no choice since its life/death situation...

Yeah man... I will do all of the above if it is life and death situation. But some hogs will really hog the lane if you even dare give them a sound rebuke (pun intended) or beam them with your xenon/halogen/projector lamps [shakehead] They are THICK....

yes, will do all.

if all don't work and i can't overtake from left, i'll horn all the way [thumbsdown]

some ppl just don't know the correct way to use lane 1 [thumbsdown][thumbsdown]

This is one of my pet peeve... the other being idiots who do not know that their car has side indicators.... [rifle]

Hey - Option 1 - Signal Right?!!!?

I'd end up in a very similar emergency situation with stitches all over me, after bulldozing the expressway barriers man!!!

No joke.. I find that some savvy road users will filter left when they see me signal right.... [thumbsup]

this is how i deal with the road hoggers:

1st multiple hi-beam flashes, this usually dont work

2nd hi beam on all the way

3rd turn up stereo and blast horn till he gives way or i have to exit.

i'll never pass on the left as that is considered as another offence on top of speeding and it is also very dangerous.

since we are on the road hogging topic, any one noticed that when driving in malaysia NS Highway, the drivers tend to move over the left as soon as they see you approaching, unlike singapore where you must flash and horn.

hey heh.... I also wonder why high beam does not work [laugh][laugh]

If not an emergency... I'll ignore him and follow his pace at a comfortable distance. If emergency, I will probably do everything necessary to get to my destination soonest possible.

So did you fetch her to the hospital?

My colleague's wife had contractions, so he rushed to her office in his pickup truck. Got stopped by TP and got a ticket... TP did not believe him. If his wife was inside, I think the TP will have to escort them... [laugh]

this is how i deal with the road hoggers:

1st multiple hi-beam flashes, this usually dont work

2nd hi beam on all the way

3rd turn up stereo and blast horn till he gives way or i have to exit.

i'll never pass on the left as that is considered as another offence on top of speeding and it is also very dangerous.

since we are on the road hogging topic, any one noticed that when driving in malaysia NS Highway, the drivers tend to move over the left as soon as they see you approaching, unlike singapore where you must flash and horn.

If that hogger doesnt give way even after repeated horning, I'll just overtake on the left when it is safe. No matter what, its still faster than waiting indefinately for that hogger to give way, and its also quieter for other road users and residents living near the expressway.

In the case of such emergencies, there's not much choice but to overtake on the left. but of course its not done recklessly.

Oh yeah, its surprising how considerate our neighbouring country's drivers are, compared to our locals... its shameful....

All the above.... If happens that I am not in a hurry, i will try overtake him/her, then slow down in front of them [mad]

Really pissed off by these ppl. Some even worse, was road hogging the lane, and when u came closer, they tends to slow down further. Then u truying to be nice and overtake them by left, they speed up in order not to let u overtake them!! [thumbsdown]

Yes, I encounter such jerks before... but I usually just leave them be. Life is stressful as it is... [sweatdrop]

encountered this is malaysia before, i shine high beam and that singapore corolla refuse to give way, so i just on my high beam till it give way, it's late at night and u can imagine how glaring high beam can be. after it gave way, i speed up and overtake then that hiporolla shine high beam at me far from behind... pissed me off and i brake down to 3-40kph and let the car roll... when it tries to overtake me i speed up and cut into his path till he buay tahan off his lights and distance off...

let him have a feel of how it's like to be behind a road hog

Edited by Mmythos

Hi! Exige,

welcome to MCF! [thumbsup]

in fact many of the Sg drivers are very considerate too, not only those in our neighbouring countries [thumbsup]

encountered this is malaysia before, i shine high beam and that singapore corolla refuse to give way, so i just on my high beam till it give way, it's late at night and u can imagine how glaring high beam can be. after it gave way, i speed up and overtake then that hiporolla shine high beam at me far from behind... pissed me off and i brake down to 3-40kph and let the car roll... when it tries to overtake me i speed up and cut into his path till he buay tahan off his lights and distance off...

let him have a feel of how it's like to be behind a road hog

wah..u fierce ler.. [sweatdrop][sweatdrop]