Assassin Clutched November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 Nexen ? How is it compared to Kumho then ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
King 1st Gear November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 no idea...........until i try how your new babe? serving u well? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audiorook Neutral Newbie November 17, 2003 Share November 17, 2003 "90-1000km/h in the wet on ST115 should be fine..should have clarified when I mentioned not above 80km/h...I meant if you were to go thru puddles of water at that kind of speed. Otherwise, they should be fine. As for the GR80, hard to say if they are really good or not since I have not tried them. Best to ask around from those who have tried them." I believe you mean 100km/h . Did the ST115 last well? I heard some people saying that it doesnt last at all. Is that true? On the Gr80.. tats rite.. anyone with actual feedback on them, rather than just reviews from the magazines? One shop kept recommending the MXV8 to me, even when I mentioned that I was interested in the GR80. Why is tat so? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched November 18, 2003 Share November 18, 2003 Serving me very well so far. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched November 18, 2003 Share November 18, 2003 Alamak..another typo....type too fast already.. The ST115 lasted quite long though...about 30K+ km worth.... Michelin MXV8 ? That's a new tyre by Michelin I believe.. more for comfort. http://www.michelin.com.sg/car/car_cat_sed_mxv8.jsp The Pilot Preceda is also a new tyre... here's the info in it.. http://www.michelin.com.sg/car/car_cat_perf_pre.jsp Maybe the shop is an authorised Michelin shop and they're trying to sell more of them ? Info on the GR80 can be found here... http://www.nptco.com.eg/products/bridgesto...turanzagr80.htm Best to look at both the GR80 and MXV8 to see which one you prefer..thread design, side wall etc. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched November 18, 2003 Share November 18, 2003 (edited) Looking at the thread design for the GR80 and the MXV8. Here are some pix for comparison: GR80 MXV8 Edited November 18, 2003 by Assassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeost220 Neutral Newbie November 18, 2003 Share November 18, 2003 if im nt wrong..they are able to earn a higher profit for this tyre..or they had ordered too much thus having too much stocks in hand...this MXV8 isnt anithing special..so u tink y they wanna kip recommending u?all becoz of $$$$$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear November 20, 2003 Share November 20, 2003 So, you dun think the ST115 will perform well above 80km/h? I've the ST115 tyres on my ex-Alfa 33 16v (scrap in Sept 01) & have no problem with the handling at speed upto 190km/h+ on the NS H/W, average crusing will be between 150km/h to 160km/h with occational blast to 190kmh+ those that know me will know the way I drive The ST115 is rated as a UHP tires, it's 1 class up on the Ziex 512 in terms of performance However like most feedback, the tires will get nosier after about 40% of wear but it was ok for my Alfa 33 cause the exhaust was much more louder If you willing to pay abit more, the Falken GRB FK-451 is better than ST115 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie November 21, 2003 Share November 21, 2003 how do you rate preceda vs aspecdb/avs db in terms of comfort and price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched November 21, 2003 Share November 21, 2003 I have only tried the Aspec db on a friends' car briefly, so may not be able to give an objective comparison. In terms of handling, I would go for the Pilot Preceda instead of the Aspec db. But if you're looking for comfort and price, I think it would be the Aspec db then. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie November 22, 2003 Share November 22, 2003 aiya, u know my car lah, can see cannot move one so comfort & quietness is the top priority. if signficant good grip compromise comfort+quietness by a few percent points, I think it's still acceptable looks like aspecdb is still the only choice I have ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched November 22, 2003 Share November 22, 2003 Er...how about the Briidgestone Turanza GR80 or the Michelin MVX8 then ? Maybe someone who has tried them can give their feedback. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mydotcom 1st Gear November 24, 2003 Share November 24, 2003 Well...I'm a supporter is yokohama A539...it's cheap but very good both dry and wet...but then you must not mind the noise because it's extremely noisy tires... How cheap is it ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie November 24, 2003 Share November 24, 2003 I think these two tires were pitted against each other during a wheelasia review. Turanza GR80 was reviewed to be much better in terms of comfort,noise & handling. I was kind of keen until the advertisement mentioned that GR80 only comes in 60 series or more. Mine is 18/225/40 leh, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched November 24, 2003 Share November 24, 2003 Alamak...that kind of size ah ? 225/40/R18 err...how about the ES100 then ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...