Tool list

Ilmw

Mondeo! Thanks for the detailed list and explanation! [nod][thumbsup]

Just a few more items onto the shopping list later before I head north tomorrow! [rolleyes]

there's one more thing u need.....a baseball bat! [smash]

actually, any one of the big spanners u buying also can lah. [laugh]

One more: Torque Wrench. Very important tool [;)]

Very expensive leh!!! [:/]

Actually there is a brand from Taiwan named King Tony (yeah stupid name I know) and the torque wrench is about $70. Good enough for shade tree mechs like us.

actually u do not need a torque wrench for most of your DIY jobs. what u need is a ratcheting wrench. torque wrench is used only to torque the required force onto the bolts etc. for example when you are changing the valve cover, it require you to applied say 40lbs of force onto the bolts to prevent overtightening of the bolts.

and the mossuse that all of u discuss at the start of the topic is actually very practical to use. lets say your tire get punture ina ulu area. u just connect up the bottle via the vavle stem of your tire , pump the mossuse into the tire until it raises up. and u are good to go. of course u can only drive slowly and reach an area where u can change a tire. who wans to keep a tire that is punture anyway. by the ways a tire can accepts around 3 nails before it is considered unservicable.

One more: Torque Wrench. Very important tool [;)]

Very expensive leh!!! [:/]

Actually there is a brand from Taiwan named King Tony (yeah stupid name I know) and the torque wrench is about $70. Good enough for shade tree mechs like us.

Still can get, meh? Went to the DIY shop to look for it but ran out of stock. The other one I know is this 'tok kong' brand called Britool which cocts abt $180!!! [jawdrop] Seems to be a fav among workshops who uses torque wrench! [nod]

actually u do not need a torque wrench for most of your DIY jobs. what u need is a ratcheting wrench. torque wrench is used only to torque the required force onto the bolts etc. for example when you are changing the valve cover, it require you to applied say 40lbs of force onto the bolts to prevent overtightening of the bolts.

and the mossuse that all of u discuss at the start of the topic is actually very practical to use. lets say your tire get punture ina ulu area. u just connect up the bottle via the vavle stem of your tire , pump the mossuse into the tire until it raises up. and u are good to go. of course u can only drive slowly and reach an area where u can change a tire. who wans to keep a tire that is punture anyway. by the ways a tire can accepts around 3 nails before it is considered unservicable.

I think most of us here would use the torque wrench to tighten wheel bolts/nuts. Other uses would be too cheem. [;)]

Britool is like Jaguar of Torque Wrenches man!

Try hunting around for the King Tony wrench.....there should be still some left. Last time my friend got it at a hardware store in Changi Village.

I find the torque wrench an essential tool especially for wheel bolts and spark plugs since proper torque ensures prevention of brake warpage (overtighten/uneven torque on wheel bolts) or spark plug breakage (I've broken them before.....sxxt happens).

Other stuff that can be torque includes the oil pan drain plug (alum....very soft) and stuff around the engine bay as well. Point to note is having the torque specs is the important that's why the Haynes manual comes in very handy.

[/reply]

Still can get, meh? Went to the DIY shop to look for it but ran out of stock. The other one I know is this 'tok kong' brand called Britool which cocts abt $180!!! [jawdrop] Seems to be a fav among workshops who uses torque wrench! [nod][/reply]

Not forgetting the 'Snap-On' brand [jawdrop]

Let's not talk abt Snap-On. It's even more ex! [sweatdrop]

I've got a set of 5 small Snap-on spanners in a PVC pouch with the Harley-Davidson logo on it [cool] . It was a limited gift set that I got tru' E-Bay, together with a Thermal Mug (also with Harley-Davidson log [pirate] ) . I paid about US$95 [:/] . Till now still haven't use it yet [sly] .

Well........my pressure gauge from Snap-On costs me $40! And that's discounted somemore! [knife] Anyway, I'm better than you, I'm using the gauge now! [laugh] Good stuff, though, and no regrets! [thumbsup]

hello everyone!!!

well just a point to note, torque wrench is the final step of tightening the bolt by applying the required torque onto the bolt.. it should not be use to tighten a loose bolt tighten the bolt by using the normal wrench , then use the torque wrench to apply the final torque. if u used the torque wrench all the way, the calibration inside the torque wrench will be inaccurate as times goes by and the 40lbs of force that u think u are applying is actually lesser. thats why torque wrench is exp.

snap on is a very good company. Our sinagpore airforce use snap on tools. think it has a life time warranty and has a 1 to 1 exchange policy if u find your tools become rusty. correct me if i am wrong.

by the way, how do i put all that cute little expressions on my message??