Pquek Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 (edited) Hi, I'm a newbie to rims and am thinking of changing my stock Lancer '03 15" sports rim to something more sporty (mesh?). Was quoted $110 for the KR 15" hyper-black (gunmetal colour) rims (taiwanese) at Sin Hin Co (Bukit Merah), plus another $150 for trading in my current rims. I'll be keeping my Yokohama aspec DB tires. Is that a good price? What should i look out for when choosing rims? - 1 piece or 2 piece?: what's the implication here? - material?: does it matter if its alloy or spray painted etc - weight?: lighter = better fuel consumption, but more likely to dent if i hit a hole? - number of spokes?: does this matter or purely aesthetic? - country of origin?: taiwan, malaysia, thailand - which are 'better'? i am looking for affordable rims and good value for money. Thanks! Edited October 9, 2003 by Pquek ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 the current rims is 14'? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pquek Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Author Share October 9, 2003 Current is 15" :-) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 yah, stupid me, why i ask such a stupid question. you keeping your tyres what. 110 per piece and trade in at 150.......440 - 150 = 290.......actually quite ok lah......not very ex. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 What should i look out for when choosing rims? - 1 piece or 2 piece?: what's the implication here? This i wait for experts to answer - material?: does it matter if its alloy or spray painted etc chances of chipping for spray painted is certainly higher - weight?: lighter = better fuel consumption, but more likely to dent if i hit a hole? true. - number of spokes?: does this matter or purely aesthetic? purely preference - country of origin?: taiwan, malaysia, thailand - which are 'better'? i am looking for affordable rims and good value for money. I am using JRD. And i think its pretty good. kinda heavy but gone through a few holes and survived......... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 heard you changed your rims in JB... hows the feel? where exactly did you go? got recommend by my malaysia frd, by going up futher, almost hit KL will be even cheaper.. very convinced cos went up to tennganu (don know how to spell), every tom/dick & harry also got sports rims... imagine an ah-pei proton saga on 17" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 i changed in JB.....after trade in, per piece around $40 sing.........$160 for 4 pieces...... feel is good, i got a heavier one. but better handling of coz. seen in KL, quite ex leh.......................who you heard from abt me? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 just before KL, segamat or something... still waiting for confirmation... very tempting... $40!! cant even buy a decent tyre... if my contact din work out, will need to ask you for JB contact.. think saw on one of the thread about you going up north wif E36 or somthing like tat.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 no problemo.......but dun expect to get so cheap without trade in Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Vidz, For the same rims in JB, it cost slightly more in KL. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 (edited) thks for the head-up.. according to my frd, there is a plant somewhere before KL, so its cheaper.. anyway still waiting for confirmation.. *praying* Edited October 9, 2003 by Vidz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 yups will be trading in too... but i think trade in price also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 I believe your friend is staying 'near' there? If so, he might be able to get a better discount than us.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 what rims you have and how many inch Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 am driving a b13, but rim changed by dealer.. your model factory alloy rims 14" Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 hhhmmmmm then may not get too good a price for trade in. actually get rims in malaysia (malaysian made) is reasonable, but their tyres are expensive leh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pquek Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Author Share October 9, 2003 Which shop in JB did u go to change? Do you have the address and contact #? Thanks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
S2P2 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 can i give tomolo? in the car lah ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...