Andrew Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Hi guys, I am intending to rust proof my New Nissan Sunny. Not sure whether to go with Tuff Kote or 3M. Anyone can Advise?? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 None of the above DIY!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Saaber Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Hi, Welcome to MCF, Do join us for our weekly meetup... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Oh yah , forgot to welcome you to MCF!!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lawreo2002 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 huh? how to DIY rustproof ??? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrew Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Author Share October 9, 2003 Many thanks to ALL of you for your kind Welcomes!! I feel right at home already. This is my FIRST TIME in an internet forum. I have never done this before. So please forgive me if I miss out on internet eqtiquette. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 DOne mine. Buy rustproofing from Tuff Kote, jack up and spray! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lawreo2002 Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 so it not totally DIY lah unless u got yr own garage for jacking up yr car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Well I consider the spraying part DIY as that's the most crucial part. Otherwise that's what they do at Tuff Kote anyway! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Susacarimakan 4th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 (edited) Hi ANDREW, A warm welcome to MCF. Hope you will enjoy your stay here. Much info in the RESOURCE FOLDER, and do join the Friday meetups and the Saturday Wash & Wax; cheap thrill, good fun & great work-out! Me too picked up from GDIZEN and tried DIY . Some say steel plates in car factory already galvanised and then painted over, plus local roads no salting for snow/ice, hence not so much need do so . Also depend on how long you intend to hold your ride. Some car dealers provide FOC, some charges for rustproofing . But I have literally laid on floor to check those provided for when collecting my then new car and totally unimpressed with their application. Happy Chatting! Edited October 9, 2003 by Susacarimakan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Hi Andrew, Welcome to MCF & I hope you enjoy your stay here. Do join us for our weekly meetup on Friday nights at Bishan Actually, there's no need to do all this as the car has already a layer of coating the will last quite a long time. Unless you always travel on unpave roads, then those coatings may go off do to the sand & small rocks hitting it when the wheels are turning Also unless we have snow here, then the roads will normally be spray with salt & then you'll need to check the under coatings every year This advise are also coming from my friends that have being in the Auto industry for more than 20yrs liao It's extra cash earnings for the SE if you get the deal thru' them as all this are, IMHO, unnecessary. There's a term that's commonly used in the Sales circle, i.e..'Over Sell' & make more $$$ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 How much is the raw material ? How about the spray gun and air compressor ?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Susacarimakan 4th Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Yeah, no need to "buah orh yew" . But boh pian, always kena arrowed for site visits up north, so follow GDIZEN and DIY to save $$$. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Hi Andrew, welcome to MCF Your factory rust proofing layer is good enough for 10+ yrs on Singapore road conditions (i.e. no salt! ) Unlike places like where I'm at (Ohio, USA) where salted roads are the norm 3 months a year, rust (car cancer) shows up in all my 3 cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 But boh pian, always kena arrowed for site visits up north, so follow GDIZEN and DIY to save $$$. than that's different lar but DIY can liao & cheaper also Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched October 9, 2003 Share October 9, 2003 Hi Andrew, Welcome to MCF ! Do enjoy your stay here and come along for our weekly meetups. More info in the MEETUPS folder. Also do check out the RESOURCES folder and the TIPS & TECHNICAL RESOURCES folder. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GDIzen Neutral Newbie October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 Buy 3M Industrial aerosol version, don't need spray gun! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Andrewkb Neutral Newbie October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 Wow .. but that one not cheap leh .. if I recall, each spray paint bottle cost $12-$14 ? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...