En0203 2nd Gear October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 "...... but i definitely like 7 series for its look ...." Like I say...'One man's meat, another man's........" It does take a while to grow on you...and to me.... yep, each to its own the 7 did look ugly to me in the magazines until i saw it in flesh ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 But the E-class competes with the 5-series, not the 7... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 But the E-class competes with the 5-series, not the 7... yes that's why i said go for 7 if $$ is not a concern because it's one class higher Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 yup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F1ngolf Neutral Newbie October 10, 2003 Author Share October 10, 2003 Just came back after test driven the 730iA. With all the new electronic features, it will take a while to get use to it. It is definitely different class from E240. However, the interior reading lights looks "plasticy". At $265k, it is really very, very tempting.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vit4wd 1st Gear October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 Good value? You must be joking! For this money, you could get a 750iL plus a 360 Modena elsewhere, and still have some spare cash to throw. Anyway, do be wary of the high maintenance costs of BMWs in general. And this latest 7 series has lots of electronic gadgets like when closing the boot, you simply press a button on the underside of the boot lid and it closes by itself. And there's electric blinds for rear seats passengers & GPRS (do we really need that?). Just remember that when these electronic devics go kaput, you are at the mercy of Performance Mtrs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 Hi En0203, As my current car is approaching 5 years, I am seriously considering to upgrade to E240. This 730iA promotion gets me re-think as it seems to give better value than E240; though one has to consider the resale and the maintenance cost between a Merc and BMW. So, what do you think ? Hi! F1ngolf, IMHO long term wise E240 is still better choice for it's relatively cheaper maintenance (cheaper in rd tax, insurance, spare parts) as compared to the 7 series but if $$ is not a concern to u, 7 series is definitely a better choice for its technology, space & comfort it's very 'hightech' and when it breaks down, which it does, it's costly to fix........ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 hey, what is PDC anyways? keep hearing u mention it leh. PDC ? Hmm..... PDC = People Dont Care PDC = Please Dont Cry Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 (edited) Yup..a great car.. Its for people who dont ask "Whats PDC har?" Yep ! Agreed, these people don't bother on this "small" things... PCD, magnet, etc. Yah lor...unlike some of us in here...go down to even the type of pedals that we must use etc. Edited October 10, 2003 by Assassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool_jazz Neutral Newbie October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 Hi En0203, As my current car is approaching 5 years, I am seriously considering to upgrade to E240. This 730iA promotion gets me re-think as it seems to give better value than E240; though one has to consider the resale and the maintenance cost between a Merc and BMW. So, what do you think ? Erhh..... The Merc is just as bad, reliability wise. I have 2 friends who used to swear by Merc E class. One is a Senior Consultant at a hosital and the other is one of the top Insurance Agent in S'pore. These guys change their E class every 2 years and are now driving the latest models (albeit E200 Kompressor). They are also facing electronics gremlins and are "crying father crying mother". One of them has decided to switched to a Swedish marque while the other will still continue to "cry father cry mother" and get a new E in a year's time...... To think that my Alfa is more reliable.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 hey, what is PDC anyways? keep hearing u mention it leh. Papaya = D Cup Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie October 10, 2003 Share October 10, 2003 If not wrong should only in Black, since all the ministers offical cars also black it Won't be surprise over-stock or sales slow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear October 11, 2003 Share October 11, 2003 The 730iA has an average OMV of close to 92K, a few punches on calculator will tell you that selling the car at $265K, their margin is really really thin. I agree with you that for S$265K, you can buy many cars in other places, you can even buy a decent house with that kinda money, but, unfortunately we are still living in Singapore, so ... It is a great buy IMHO, if only I can afford it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched October 11, 2003 Share October 11, 2003 so what does PDC have to do with Mercs? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched October 11, 2003 Share October 11, 2003 Got meh ? I didnt say it has anything to do with Mercs what.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched October 11, 2003 Share October 11, 2003 u din??? now i blur liao! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched October 11, 2003 Share October 11, 2003 PDCs has to do with BMWs lah...not Mercs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jazziegirl Clutched October 11, 2003 Share October 11, 2003 alamak!! u confused me!!! i think i had too much sun today liao. better go lie down and recover from a hot hot afternoon! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...