Subwoofer positioning

Alan22

Let us hear your setup, man...thumbsup.gif

as usual.. im still sourcing for component speakers.. noting done... second hand cheapo parts with lousy woofers.. ermmm after hearing those stock setup in my frens new car... its much more better den mi spending money on mine... so beri beri beri far away from expectation....

doing up a van really cost a bomb ah...sweatdrop.gif

if i remember correctly, you are driving a toyota van. it is very very difficult to find a good location as the sound will echo through the rear of the van thus creating less than ideal bass.

rather than try to play with the positioning of the subs, perhaps you should try to place some sound proofing material around the rear panels, i'm sure that will help quite a bit.

long time no see, what have you done to your sound system, come to meet up let us listen, may be able to offer better advice.

aahahah got a free woofer.. a lousy boss amp to power itup.. now searching high and low for a pair of good compo speakers... no sound proof done... no grounding done.. still far from expectation... sound come out like sxxt but better den wat i haf stock of cos.. ahha compared to stock car audio...onli one sentence " cannot make it for mine "

if i remember correctly, you are driving a toyota van. it is very very difficult to find a good location as the sound will echo through the rear of the van thus creating less than ideal bass.

rather than try to play with the positioning of the subs, perhaps you should try to place some sound proofing material around the rear panels, i'm sure that will help quite a bit.

long time no see, what have you done to your sound system, come to meet up let us listen, may be able to offer better advice.

I agree, sound proofing will make an obvious difference if done properly

Normally, is it possible to place a 8" woofer right below the passenger seat? Mine's a M323 and I think the passenger seat's clearance isn't too much and don't know why the carpet's sticking out as if there's some box there already....maybe standard ECU?

Or what about modifying the bottom of the rear passenger seat and install it there?

Or what about putting the woofer in the rear panel? I don't mind taking out the current 6x9 speakers and put 2 x 8" woofers. But this may mean I need to modify and cut the speaker hole bigger?

Basically I don't really wish to put a woofer box in the boot as I always need to carry stuff.

Any advice? Thanks

[sunny]

There are some woofers that are designed to be used underneath the seats but their SQ & output not so good. Its probably OK if you're not too picky.

You can also install sub on the rear panel but it would nornally involve enlarging the hole & replacing the board. The original board may flex too much.

You will also need to use a sub that is design to be use in infinite baffle, most subs now are designed for sealed or ported box application.

If your system is well installed & tuned, the bass should sound like its coming from the front, not the rear [;)]

Edited by Slonez

Oh ... I thought just any woofers can be used in enclosed or ported or infinite baffle? So there are differences.....so how can I tell which ones are for infinite baffle? It's likely that I will put 2 x 8" woofers in place of the 6x9s if I can't install 1 8" woofer under the rear passenger seats.....

[sunny]

Thee only way to determine is to look at the specs.

Some woofers are recommended for sealed/ported box but not free air. It does not mean that it cannot be used but you will not get opimum output from the drivers.

aiyah....then cannot liao. I was planning to get those chapalang brand. Those brands surely don't have specs one......

Btw, can you give me some advise as to how I should plan my audio setup? Ie, I would like to leave my rear speakers alone (to be powered by HU), and I'll like to get an amp to power the woofer and the front. I have a rough idea and pls advise if you think it's ok.

I'll buy a 2 Channel Amp and I'll use this amp's output to a crossover and the high pass will go to the front (I have 1 pair tweeters and 1 pair coaxials) while the low pass will go towards the woofer. But the 2 channels amp, say it's 2 x 200w RMS, will it still be ok?

thanks for kind offer man. But now heading off with family to MS Giant. Bluff them say go shopping. But actually my agenda is to buy Mobil1 oil [sly][laugh]

Me actually planning to visit my audio supplier at 5:30 on the way to MS. Might part with big $$$ .....

[sunny]

Normally, is it possible to place a 8" woofer right below the passenger seat? Mine's a M323 and I think the passenger seat's clearance isn't too much and don't know why the carpet's sticking out as if there's some box there already....maybe standard ECU?

Or what about modifying the bottom of the rear passenger seat and install it there?

Or what about putting the woofer in the rear panel? I don't mind taking out the current 6x9 speakers and put 2 x 8" woofers. But this may mean I need to modify and cut the speaker hole bigger?

Basically I don't really wish to put a woofer box in the boot as I always need to carry stuff.

Any advice? Thanks

sunny.gif

Not adviseable to place a subs under the seat..

firstly clearance between the sub and the seat is an issue. (u need the sub to breathe)

secondly the seats might damage the cone should the seat sink down when someone sits on it.

Placing at the rear panel sounds a better bet. You'd probably need to do some modifications to cut an extra hole for the subs. Probably can retain your 6x9.

Alternatively you can put a bass tube..

Oh, initially I was planning for the speakers to be facing front, under the rear seats. With a speaker cover. However, I took out the rear seats last week and it seems like theres no space at all. Below the seat, thats the petrol tank. [sweatdrop] Can't drill any holes.

I've already installed the 2 x 8" woofers in the rear panel. But introduced a new problem. It shakes my CDChanger so much that it's anti skipping mechanism doesn't work. Now I need to relocate the CDC to my driver seat. Thinking where else can I place a 2nd amp since the left front seat has 1 2ch amp already.

[sunny]

I already have a 2 ch amp leh. Looking for a 4ch amp to power the 4 door speakers. But...hmm....I just realised that....my HU only has 2 set of RCA output. Therefore, if 1 already go to the subwoofer, only 1 is left for speakers.....unless I use a RCA splitter....hmm....

In the end....I might consider a 2ch amp due to my HU's limitation.....I don't think I'll want to use a HI-LO convertor and convert speaker output to become a pre-out for the woofer though....coz I think it'll not be so ideal in terms of SQ.....

Anyway, me budget low low leh. what's the price you're looking for? [sly]

[sunny]

I done upright on my old ride sound no good,the best is to put in box facing the back of the boot,then will feel the shiok!