Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 Have to agree driving in Singapore punishes the car more than "normal" conditions in other countries. Someone did asked, should we follow the car's mileage as a gauge for servicing or engine hours? Now that's a thinker ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 Sorry to hear about your bad experience with the 33. Anyway, were you happy driving it? [tongue] Well, I'm actually very happy with both the 33, 1.7 QV (92-94) & 1.7 16v (94-02). Oh! how I miss the boxer's roar. My mech says that it could be due to manufacturers fault on the tensioner bearing. Just bad luck for me I guess.[unsure] Was thinking of changing to 156 but can only affort cars at Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 Well, I'm actually very happy with both the 33, 1.7 QV (92-94) & 1.7 16v (94-02). Oh! how I miss the boxer's roar. My mech says that it could be due to manufacturers fault on the tensioner bearing. Just bad luck for me I guess.[unsure] Was thinking of changing to 156 but can only affort cars at Good news is that recently, a 2 year old 156 changed hand at $88K. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 Good news is that recently, a 2 year old 156 changed hand at $88K. [tongue] Yah! what a bad timing. Another reason for getting a new car was that I wanted to retain the number plate. In good times it was worth at least >$7k . When my 33 was due to scrap, only dealers were interested in buying the plate but at . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 Yah! what a bad timing. Another reason for getting a new car was that I wanted to retain the number plate. In good times it was worth at least >$7k . When my 33 was due to scrap, only dealers were interested in buying the plate but at . Ah...........must have been a 'tok kong' number! Pretty much stuck to new cars then, huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cosx Neutral Newbie July 12, 2002 Author Share July 12, 2002 Have to agree driving in Singapore punishes the car more than "normal" conditions in other countries. Someone did asked, should we follow the car's mileage as a gauge for servicing or engine hours? Now that's a thinker I normally go for 80% rule... i.e. if recommend at 100 000 km, I will be in at 80, 000 km. For normal maintenance, I will be in at 4-5 mth or 8000km for syn oil change which ever is earlier...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 I normally go for 80% rule... i.e. if recommend at 100 000 km, I will be in at 80, 000 km. For normal maintenance, I will be in at 4-5 mth or 8000km for syn oil change which ever is earlier...... [/reply] Wah!! not bad leh.... 80% man..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 12, 2002 Share July 12, 2002 Ah...........must have been a 'tok kong' number! Pretty much stuck to new cars then, huh? Yes..only one set of number to buy for 4-D. No matter how I rearrange the sequence, it's still the same . Another reason for me to cap the new car at Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 [reply] Yes..only one set of number to buy for 4-D. No matter how I rearrange the sequence, it's still the same . Another reason for me to cap the new car at You da man! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 (edited) Harley Davidson?!! You da man! Sad to have to part with it [unsure]. Spend almost US$ 4k on minor performance & minor custom parts & still lost S$ 10k after owning it for 2 and half years Ever since my boy was born (19 mths ago), my wife & I can hardly find time to go for long ride. We seldom ride around Singapore, mostly up north to K.L. & Penang during holidays or long weekends. I've clock almost 10k on it & less than 2k is done locally Edited July 13, 2002 by Vtim Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 Sad to have to part with it [unsure]. Spend almost US$ 4k on minor performance & minor custom parts & still lost S$ 10k after owning it for 2 and half years Ever since my boy was born (19 mths ago), my wife & I can hardly find time to go for long ride. We seldom ride around Singapore, mostly up north to K.L. & Penang during holidays or long weekends. I've clock almost 10k on it & less than 2k is done locally You really know how to enjoy life! Owning a Harley has always been my dream. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 Hmmm....so ultimately it's still dependent on the marque of the car. I guess things like engine oil + filter changes are standard but i'm just wondering if things like fuel filter, spark plugs, gear oil are must-change items at 20k. was told by a mechanic that stock spark plugs are the most lasting and can tahan for 30-40k, so abit confused if it's really necessary to change. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 Lousy manual. Only mentioned some of the things to be changed during service inspections but did not specify exactly what needs to be changed at the various service intervals. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 Stock plugs can last around 20-40k, depending on the plug condition upon inspection. Plat and iridium plugs generally have 40k and 100k lifespan respectively. That's the advertized figures btw. Changing stock plugs every 20k is just a preventive maintenance step, more of changing early before it fails rather than waiting till it gives up Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 Lousy manual. Only mentioned some of the things to be changed during service inspections but did not specify exactly what needs to be changed at the various service intervals. Try searching online for more info, a properly laid out service routine is essential for long term car maintenance rather than let the mech decide since they may omit some stuff from time to time just to short-change you at their laze. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 Hmmm....so ultimately it's still dependent on the marque of the car. I guess things like engine oil + filter changes are standard but i'm just wondering if things like fuel filter, spark plugs, gear oil are must-change items at 20k. was told by a mechanic that stock spark plugs are the most lasting and can tahan for 30-40k, so abit confused if it's really necessary to change. Yup, what is changed depends on the marque of the car and the local distributor. However, I believe there is a general guideline on all these things. Just not sure where to get this 'general guideline' from! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 how to check the condition of the plugs? i remembered reading somewhere something about inspecting the color but forgot liao. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carbine Neutral Newbie July 13, 2002 Share July 13, 2002 have been searching every now and then, but somehow most of the fan sites are in german or dutch. language translators also not very helpful. i totally agree with you we should be more pro-active in knowing more about our own wheels than letting unscrupulous mechs "ka-tok" us. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...