Demerit points

Sei_fei_loh

Hi all,

need some help on the dermerit point system.

I got my license on 6th sept last yr, met with an accident in oct, got 6 demerit points.

Its like slightly 1 yr after i get my license, i just want to know for my situation, i am able to get a max of 12 demerit points or 24 demerit points?? pls advice!

thanks!

ok, looks like you have finished you probation period.

So the norm apply, this 6 pts will last you 12mths (12 pts within 12mths) but if you chalk up more than 12pts within 12mths, than it'll be 24 pts for 24mths wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

hope that answer your question wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

hi Vtim,

thakn you for your reply, but sorry ah, i still dun quite get it..

hehe..

i dun really noe hw the demerit works. is there a easier way to explain??

pai seh ah.. i still young ah.. hehe... very ignorant.. [lipsrsealed]

ok, let me put it another way.

If you do not accumulate more than 12 pts within 12 mths, then the points will be clear after the 12th mths. That means you'll fall under the max. 12points for 12 mths

but

If you accumlate more than 12pts within 12 mths, then it will change to 24pts for 24mths. So it'll take you 24mths (2yrs) to clear all the points sweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif That means you'll fall under the max 24 points for 24 mths.

I hope this is clearer for you nod.gif

I think the demerit pts will carry for 1 yrs then reset. So for your case, first 6 mths of 2 yrs should be 24-6 = 18 pts.

Anyone like to confirm??? confused.gif

oohh...

but as a probational driver, the max point i haf get is only 12..

soo.. its kinda like different from the experienced driver.. i can nv fall into the 'accumulate of more than 12 pts' category..

kk.. lets say i haf 6 demerit pts nw.. i haf passed my driving for 1 yr liao, so does tat mean that i 24-6 = 18 more pts to spare??

as i met with an accident on OCT last yr, does that mean that, after OCT, i will have 24pts to spare??

s0rry ah.. hehe. still a little blur

oohh...

but as a probational driver, the max point i haf get is only 12..

you have finished your probation period before your accident, right confused.gif

kk.. lets say i haf 6 demerit pts nw.. i haf passed my driving for 1 yr liao, so does tat mean that i 24-6 = 18 more pts to spare??

yes, that's correct. Actually it's 6 pts to spare for 12mths or 18 pts to spare for 24mths sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

as i met with an accident on OCT last yr, does that mean that, after OCT, i will have 24pts to spare??

similar to the above answer sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

Me too confused with u Vtim...

Sei ur probation period is over liao so now u have 24 points for 2 years

U had an accident in Oct, 2002, so that means currently u have 24-6=18 points till oct 2004 as ur 6 demerit point will expire 2 years from date of demerit which is oct 2004. Then from oct 2004 onwards u will have 24 points again. Got it?

As long u don accumulate more than 24 points within 2 years then it's ok.

Sei ur probation period is over liao so now u have 24 points for 2 years

U had an accident in Oct, 2002, so that means currently u have 24-6=18 points till oct 2004 as ur 6 demerit point will expire 2 years from date of demerit which is oct 2004. Then from oct 2004 onwards u will have 24 points again. Got it?

not really, if you do not accumulate more than 12 pts in 1 year (12 mths) than those pts will expired after 1 year (12mths).

But if you accumulate more than 12 pts in 1 year (12 mths) than those pts will expired only after 2 years (24 mths) with a max of 24 pts.

So, I hope this is clear enough wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

Demerit points collected shall remain on record until a licence holder achieves a 12-months offence-free period. Licence holders who maintain a 24-month offence-free record will have all points and previous suspensions expunged from their records.

http://www.spinet.gov.sg/aboutus/org/tp/tpfaqs/dips02.htm

Know what it actually means?

Edited by Mmythos

since your accident is after the 1yr probation period. that means you are not under the 1yr 12 points scheme. your 6 points fm the accident wl be taken fm 2yrs 24points.

this should be more clearer to you. Taken from TP website :

http://www.gov.sg/mha/spf/ecitizen/service.../faq_index.html

under "Driver's Improvement Point System [/url]"

[/url]FAQs

What is the feature of Driver Improvement Point System (DIPs)?

Where the suspension period lasts a year or longer, the motorist will have his licence revoked and will have to re-sit and pass the tests in order to be allowed to drive again.

A new driver's licence will be revoked upon accumulation of 13 or more demerit points within a period of 12 months from the date of the grant of the licence.

A person shall not be allowed to take a test of competence to drive any class of vehicle

(a) during the period of suspension of a licence, whether for the same or for a different class of vehicle held by him;

(b) during the period for which he has been disqualified from holding or obtaining a licence, whether for the same or for a different class of vehicle; or

© within the period of one year from the date of the revocation of a licence, whether for the same or for a different class of vehicle held by him.

A motorist who maintains a 12-month free of offences with demerit points from the date of last offence, will have all his previous points cancelled from his record. Those who maintain a 24-month period free of offences from the date of expiry of the last suspension, which carry demerit points, will also have all previous suspensions cancelled from their records.

have lar! the only thing I not too sure is for new drivers as I had my license in 82' sly.gifsly.gifsly.gif

So, there are 2 category,

either the 12 pts for 12 mths (1 yr)

or

the 24 pts for 24 mths (2 yrs)

so, within a 12 mth period, if you do not clock more than 12 pts, all the pts will be erase after 12mths have past.

but if you clock more than 12 pts within 12 mths (1 yr) then you'll fall into the 24 pts for 24 mths (2yrs). You'll need 24 mths (2 yrs) to clear all the points.

Edited by Vtim